We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat on busy island”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat on busy island”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

They're right...every room does have a view. Very nice location on the quiet side of the island. Out second floor unit had a balcony with a great view of the Chincoteague Channel that afforded us a wonderful sunset view. Refrigerator and microwave and two sinks. Newly refurbished with carpet and a good reading chair, small love seat and table for two by the window. Acceptable continental breakfast which Kim put out ten minutes early (without us even requesting it) for us so we could get to the Refuge Center by 7:30am for a hayride . Their website does not indicate that they give a Senior discount, so call directly to receive this.
They also have a jacuzzi which is fully operational all year round.
Lovely rose bushes all over the location still blooming in November.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the water have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mseibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    216
    45
    13
    17
See reviews for
256
332
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just returned home from a 3-night, 4-day stay in Chincoteague. Was very happy with the service, value, and overall experience had at Waterside Inn. Room 114, just one room away from the end, had a lovely view of the bay and of the sunset each night as I relaxed on the private balcony. Room was very clean when we arrived, and included a microwave and mini fridge. I really liked that the room had 2 sinks, one in the toilet and shower area, and one outside so there was no waiting while getting ready in the morning. Was happy with the breakfast provided - big waffle made fresh for me, eggs, sausage patties, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, toast, and cereal options provided. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, made wonderful suggestions as to a route for my morning walk. Owner is incredibly nice. As it is nearly winter, I did not get to use the pool, but did use the hot tub on the second floor - amazing!

I would recommend this establishment to friends and family, and hope to return again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far end have a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnitWit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

A group of five came for a stitching retreat. Donna accomodated us very well, giving us full access to the conference room for the weekend. It was nice to be able to spread out and leave our gear there! Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jegmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynchburg, va
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a great hotel and close to everything, If you can get on of the 4 rooms close to the pier on the first floor their is no reason to pay more for a 2nd or 3rd floor room. We were in 115 and had a great view! Rooms are dated but very clean, the hot tub room is great. You can walk to shops and restaurants but it is a little far so we drove, it would be a nice walk in the summer.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor in the last 5 rooms with a view, it has the lowest rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talbbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Great place to stay!! Love the walks, the breakfast, and the people from all over you get to meet!! Hotel is wonderful and keeps to the neighborhood vibe!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loganfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Rooms are large with sliding glass doors to a small balcony with chairs and table. Rooms are clean, have a small fridge, table & chairs, sofa, along with 2 Q beds. Included free continental breakfast even had hot items and looked good but had our heart set Oma seafood omelet at Bill' Restaurant a few blocks down the street. Rooms are priced by floor level (meaning view) we chose a first floor room near the pool/bay end. The view was fine but partially obscured by trees, but was a lot more convenient to get to than an upper level room (though there is an elevator on the street end of the building). The pool is open late and is heated. The staff wasVery friendly! I could not ask for a better motor inn. I call it motor inn because you access the rooms from the outside.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Va
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I continue to visit The Waterside at least twice a year. As usual, on our recent trip, we had a great room on the third floor . The desk staff was helpful with our questions and we accidently picked the weekend of the all you can eat Seafood Festival. It was held at a local campground. You could drive to it or take a shuttle. We shuttled. Great fun!!!
This motel has a "Death By Chocolate" weekend that we have planned for another trip.
We have never had a problem at this motel that was not addressed promptly. On this trip, we had no problems...just fun.

Chincoteague is a great family place to visit. Waterside Inn is our special place to stay.

Room Tip: There are three levels to this motel. The first floor is less expensive, the third, the most. I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing