We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homey, friendly.”
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, homey, friendly.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Owners and staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Rooms have nice view of the water (sunset view, facing the mainland, not Assateague), great view of the rocket launch. Rooms were not fancy, but clean, included microwave, mini fridge. Pool was great. Hotel is near the fairgrounds, a bit away from the main business district. Breakfast was ok -- waffles made to order, but no fresh fruit, so-so coffee, not enough seating for the number of guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are not too many places where you can sit on your balcony and view a rocket being launched. We have the best view of the launches, the fireworks, close to the carnival, and less than 1/2 mile from the center of Historic Main St Shops and Restaurants. We hope you plan to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    222
    46
    14
    17
See reviews for
266
336
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Reviewed on 7/14/2014. This was our first trip to Chincoteague and we went along with friends who had stayed here years ago. I got a great price on Priceline.com for a 2-queen bed room. When we arrived, we were informed that we got upgraded to a King room, but they did not have the information that we had one child along. Since they were booked solid, we had them put a cot in the room for her. The room was clean, the king bed very comfortable and the bath looked updated. The amenities were just right-mini fridge, microwave, even an electric burner with utensils available! We only stayed 2 nights but wished we could have been there a week. Everyone in the office was very pleasant, the cleaning staff were very gracious and friendly. It is a "just right" motel to stay in in such a quaint town. Easy walk to shopping and downtown fun, and a short drive from more commercial area and into Assateague VA beachfront.

Room Tip: all rooms have a great balcony view of the bay. Higher numbered rooms are closest to the pier and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return soon and recommend us to your friends. Chincoteague is such a special place and we are proud to be a part of it. Coastal Living Magazine just named us "America's Happiest Seaside Town".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cressona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We usually stay at the Best Western when we visit Chincoteague, but I wanted to try something by the water this time. After reading the reviews, I decided to try the Waterside Inn. I booked it through Priceline, and check in was a breeze. The woman owner was so friendly and nice! Sitting on the benches at the end of the private dock to watch the sunset, was worth the price of admission. I could have sat there for days. There are strings hanging from the dock if you want to try to crab. We were told by the maintenance man (I guess) that you don't have to have a fishing license, and if you do get a crab, they will steam them for you. The room was so clean. So was the bathroom and separate sink area. They not only had free coffee in the little basket, but there was hot chocolate packets too. Along with the creamer/sweetener. I think there were packs of tea too. Not sure. The room also had a fridge and microwave. The free breakfast area is right where you check in. There are a few tables and not much room, but who cares? Take it back to your room, which is what we did. I would rather do that anyway. One morning there were eggs, sausage patties and biscuits. Cold cereal, pastries, fruit salad, a toaster, and the VERY kind woman who each day asks you personally if you would like fresh waffles. The next morning the eggs were replaced with delicious sausage gravy! YUM I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 105 and on our first floor private "balcony", we still had a decent view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinM499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you. I am the nice friendly owner who greeted you at check in. I am so glad that we lived up to our reputation and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast items rotate except the waffles are served every day. Some people like the breakfast conversations and other appreciate the privacy of their balconies. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I just got back home and am already trying to figure out when I can go back to this hotel. Before our stay, my husband called to ask questions about the beach and the staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. When we checked in, we were all raggedy looking (drenched and in beach clothes) after having spent the morning on the Maryland side of Assateague Island - they didn't seem to notice. We stayed on the first floor and loved our room. A/C worked very well. There were mallards all over the lawn in front of the balcony. The flowers around the building are gorgeous. The style of the room was a little dated and the decorative pillows that don't have slip covers always make me feel uneasy, but everything was very clean and there was no musty smell. Once we closed the door to the room, we wouldn't have known there were any other guests staying - didn't hear a peep from other guests. The staff gave us a great dinner recommendation and handed us a highlighted map with step by step directions on how to get there. The pool was open until 1 am (!!) so we indulged in an evening swim during sunset and had the whole pool to ourselves. The pool got pretty buggy after the sun went down. It's heated and lighted, and right off the bay, so I'm not sure that could be prevented. If we stayed in longer, we would have strained it. We walked down the dock after dark and saw TONS of glowing jellyfish drifting down the bay. The free breakfast was delicious and we came at an off time so were there by ourselves. This hotel and Island are like something out of a novel - so beautiful and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We really appreciate your great review. Our location is quiet and serene and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you can imagine we are always doing things to keep the hotel upgraded. This year we resurfaced the tennis court, put all new glass enclosure in the Jacuzzi room, resurfaced the swimming pool deck, put all new fencing around the pool, blacktopped the parking lot in addition to many upgrades in the guest rooms. Check your calendar and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The best hotel on our trip , hands down!!! Wish we could have stayed longer. The room was immaculate , the staff was warm and nice , the pier was awesome. The pool was clean and perfect. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect , closer to the pier is better if you are fishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
That is such a great review, I read it several times! It has been a very busy weekend and it was so nice to read your kind words. Everyone who works here does their best to ensure your vacation experience is memorable. I hope we are on your short list to revisit in the near future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights celebrating our anniversary. We stayed in a double queen room on the 3rd floor. Very clean and nice view from balcony. Coffee maker was a 1-2 cup brew system as opposed to a keurig which we have been spoiled on. The second night we moved to the 2nd floor suite. WOW! Beautiful room, very comfortable king bed, and fabulous view from the balcony and from the picture window. Very quiet in both rooms. The suite has a keurig machine. The breakfast was wonderful and the owners very pleasant to deal with. They were very accommodating. We will definitely stay there again in the 2nd floor suite.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klm3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so glad that you explored your available room options and choose the one best for you while you were here. It is our desire for everyone to have the best vacation experience possible. I know you have a tough road ahead of you in the future and wish you well. I am glad that we met and hope that you can spend another vacation with us in the near future. We all need to remember that we only have today. Each day needs to be special. Good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First I must say I am only giving it an average rating because of the view and the breakfast. Second the bathroom sink and shower we're disgusting. I am so pissed that I am doing this review a day before I leave. I had a cut that bled through the bandage on Monday night and I didn't get maid service Tuesday but requested it this morning and to my surprise the same sheets with the blood stain are still on. Makes me wonder did they change the sheets before we checked in. The rooms smell and look old there were like 10 flies in here when we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We receive compliments on the cleanliness of our rooms all of the time .We tell our guests that if they have a problem with the room to please let us know right away and allow us an opportunity to fix it. If the front desk had been informed at anytime during your stay that you had a problem we would have tried our best to make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#18 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Property: Waterside Inn
Address: 3761 Main St, P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale family owned and operated hotel in a resort area offering many amenities found in larger chains. We pride ourselves in friendly personal service and unmatched hospitality. All rooms have private waterfront balconies overlooking the Chincoteague Bay. We are a short drive to Assateague Island and NASA Wallops Flight Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing