We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It has probably been 10 or so years since we last visited the Island Motor Inn Resort and are very happy that we returned this July.
As a family run business it doesn’t have the bells and whistles of a large chain like on line reservations but don’t let that get in the way.
We called to check on a one day stay and were quoted a very reasonable rate with a 10% Senior discount complete with a complimentary continental breakfast to compete with some of the chain hotels on the island.
We arrived to the hotel early and were fortunate to check in to our upgraded room in the North building. The staff was great. This was great as we were able to change and drive down to the beach a few miles down the road.
When we returned we had a very nice swim in the spotless full size outdoor pool that we had all to ourselves as we were the only guests there.

The room itself was spotless as well and our suite type room overlooked the channel and gave us the most fantastic sun set that we have even seen as we were located on the third floor. The furnishings were fine as was the comfortable King size bed and the dual room bathroom had a private shower/tub along with a sink. There is a small fridge in the closet should you need one.
The A/C unit is a little noisy as all separate units seem to be lately and the local cable TV is not as crisp as the big city but hey, your at the beach. I also think that the entire hotel is non smoking which is a plus for us.

The breakfast had a waffle maker, fruit, cereal, pastry, etc. and was just as spotless as the rest of the facility. I would rate the buffet on the high end.

All in all if you are looking for a great hotel within a 5 minute walk of downtown Chincoteague and a short stroll to other restaurants along Beach Road then this hotel should do it for you. The staff there are friendly and professional and to reiterate the views are fabulous.

Room Tip: Third floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here over the July 4th weekend. The rooms and grounds are spotless and staff are very friendly and helpful. Sunset views from the deck are great. They have a continental breakfast that is above average. We enjoyed being a bit off the beaten path but still able to easily walk to town. We have stayed at this hotel on two other occasions and plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent two nights in the 'north' building and thought it was the most comfortable hotel of our three week vacation! Clean, spacious, well appointed rooms with all the ammenities (except a coffee maker, but breakfast opens early enough). Has a secluded resort feel, yet is only a couple blocks away from the main intersection to town. The laundry room with free washer/dryer was an added bonus. The balcony offers a lovely, peaceful view of the sunset.

Room Tip: The north building is farthest from the bridge and offers the most serene view of the inlet. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kctrek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great value. Stayed 3 nights over the memorial holiday weekend. Room and grounds were clean, staff friendly. Hotel is located just to the left after coming off the bridge onto Chincoteague island.
We will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pros:
1) The staff was very friendly and helpful
2) They have a continental breakfast
3) The location is within walking distance to a cute coffee house and some great restaurants
4) Two pools
5) View of the sunset
6) Reasonable price

Cons:
No cons, really. Although, next time I think I may want to try a place on the other side of the Island (facing Assateague Island).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngCT928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The service, value, and location are excellent. the staff seems to go out of their way to provide a pleasant stay. The balconies in each room is great, as it provides a wonderful view around the clock. And the value for the dollar can't be beat. Locally-owned and operated is the way to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OHelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This place was a gem! Found it on the internet, so expectations not super high. WOW. Clean, friendly, lovingly maintained, gorgeous view, terrific personalized service from the check in (they called the Pony museum for me) to the literature in the room (e.g. "Forgot something? Call us - we likely have it). I was really impressed. The included breakfast was standard fare with the wonderful addition of fresh, beautifully carved pineapple, real plates, and friendly service. We would definitely come back. Easy walk into town for dinner and ice cream.

Room Tip: I think they're all nice and face the intra-coastal waterway and dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wood-Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £69 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing