We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife an I stayed here in early August for 3 nights for an anniversary trip. Our room was very nice and was bigger than I expected. The view was great. The balcony provided a great place to watch the sunset or just look out over the bay. Yes there is also the view of the bridge but is to the left of the hotel leaving a large area of the view unobstructed (actually I considered the bridge to be an interesting part of the view). I was able to fish at the hotel while the wife read on the bench swing. The pool looked nice. Breakfast was good (Waffles, hard boiled eggs, nice looking watermelon and other fruit ....) The staff was very nice and recommended nice places to eat and activities to full our day. The hotel was also quiet (we did not stay in the adult wing) and there were small children staying near us, but we never heard a sound from the neighboring rooms. I viewed this hotel as an excellent value (the price for a comparable view somewhere else would be way beyond my budget). My wife loved the whole trip with vists to the beach/refuge, nice dinning, sightseeing cruise... but she said the hotel was was the best part of the trip. She convinced me to book 2 more rooms later in the month so we could come back with my daughter and my sister's family.

Room Tip: I would think that any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    72
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
78
110
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights in August 2013 and were very happy with our stay. Yvonne and Mark were great very helpful. The view from our room was amazing very relaxing. Everything from start to end was AWESOME not one negative comment. Very clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good, everything fresh....Thank You all: We will see you again :)

Room Tip: 3rd floor view amazing-relaxing & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzybeebusy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in August and were very pleased with the accommodations The breakfast was great. The pool was refreshing after a day at the beach. And what beautiful sunsets from our deck!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It has probably been 10 or so years since we last visited the Island Motor Inn Resort and are very happy that we returned this July.
As a family run business it doesn’t have the bells and whistles of a large chain like on line reservations but don’t let that get in the way.
We called to check on a one day stay and were quoted a very reasonable rate with a 10% Senior discount complete with a complimentary continental breakfast to compete with some of the chain hotels on the island.
We arrived to the hotel early and were fortunate to check in to our upgraded room in the North building. The staff was great. This was great as we were able to change and drive down to the beach a few miles down the road.
When we returned we had a very nice swim in the spotless full size outdoor pool that we had all to ourselves as we were the only guests there.

The room itself was spotless as well and our suite type room overlooked the channel and gave us the most fantastic sun set that we have even seen as we were located on the third floor. The furnishings were fine as was the comfortable King size bed and the dual room bathroom had a private shower/tub along with a sink. There is a small fridge in the closet should you need one.
The A/C unit is a little noisy as all separate units seem to be lately and the local cable TV is not as crisp as the big city but hey, your at the beach. I also think that the entire hotel is non smoking which is a plus for us.

The breakfast had a waffle maker, fruit, cereal, pastry, etc. and was just as spotless as the rest of the facility. I would rate the buffet on the high end.

All in all if you are looking for a great hotel within a 5 minute walk of downtown Chincoteague and a short stroll to other restaurants along Beach Road then this hotel should do it for you. The staff there are friendly and professional and to reiterate the views are fabulous.

Room Tip: Third floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here over the July 4th weekend. The rooms and grounds are spotless and staff are very friendly and helpful. Sunset views from the deck are great. They have a continental breakfast that is above average. We enjoyed being a bit off the beaten path but still able to easily walk to town. We have stayed at this hotel on two other occasions and plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent two nights in the 'north' building and thought it was the most comfortable hotel of our three week vacation! Clean, spacious, well appointed rooms with all the ammenities (except a coffee maker, but breakfast opens early enough). Has a secluded resort feel, yet is only a couple blocks away from the main intersection to town. The laundry room with free washer/dryer was an added bonus. The balcony offers a lovely, peaceful view of the sunset.

Room Tip: The north building is farthest from the bridge and offers the most serene view of the inlet. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kctrek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great value. Stayed 3 nights over the memorial holiday weekend. Room and grounds were clean, staff friendly. Hotel is located just to the left after coming off the bridge onto Chincoteague island.
We will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Property: Island Motor Inn Resort
Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing