We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sunsets!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the resort inn in August 2013 for a week. I was a little skeptical because I was only going on the reviews and the pictures on the website. But we were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. We had the king room and it was a good size with full couch and table with chairs. The sunset views from the balcony were some of the best ever. The continental breakfast was good for a few times during our stay. My husband and I would walk around the boardwalk and wind up in the swinging chair for awhile just watching the water and the tour boats go by. One day my husband and I went to the deli and brought back sandwiches and we ate outside at one of the benches. Great vacation and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsChewgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you in the future. Check us out on trip advisor for coupons and special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place is a true gem. Best kept secret. View was magnificent. Balcony overlooking the water and sunsets in the evening were great. Breakfast was more than continental....cafe style restaurant with inside and outside seating. Food consisted of make your own waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, coffee, tea, soda etc. Staff were very helpful and felt more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere with friendly service. Tour the grounds of the Inn while there. Some extras will surprise you. Went there for pony swim and was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for end suite overlooking water. Corner suite is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

we usually stay at another hotel in Chincoteague if they were booked on a Friday night because of the rocket launch and we didn't want to book for a couple nights and then move and then move back. So we try the island resort and were greatly pleased. Our balcony overlooking the bay and views were spectacular. We swam in the pool several times and that was very nice too. Our room is on the 3rd floor it was clean and comfortable and the balcony offered those great views. on Sunday morning our spotting scope was trained on some pilings in the middle of the bay where we watched bald eagle eat a crab and sat proudly on his throne for about 45 minutes that was very cool. It's easy walk downtown from there and the staff was very courteous and helpful. We didn't try the small indoor pool the weather was too nice but we did sit in the swings out on the dock and had lunch on the dock.
all to say we may have found another favorite hotel in Chincoteague.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalibutOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Good location just off the causeway. Would have given them a better rating, but the rooms are in dire need of refreshing. The couch in our room would've been better suited to a guys dorm. The view from our room however was wonderful. Continental breakfast was fine with selection of pastries, cereal, yogurt, make-your-own-waffle, and some fruit. More fruit would have been nice.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SoCalRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Great location and wonderful service at this hotel. The room was spacious, all the rooms have a very nice view to the water and access to a lovely deck. Lots of parking available even when the hotel is full (we sated over Labor Day weekend). Pool is open late. Only downside is the rooms were a little musty probably due to the old AC system.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotyheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I chose the Island Motor Inn Resort based on reviews. We had just taken our oldest child to college and were wandering aimlessly in the direction of home. Since we are from Massachusetts, we had a long ride ahead of us and were looking to break up our trip and unwind a bit. Enter the Island Motor Inn Resort. We arrived in Chincoteague with no reservation and no particular plan, other than that we wanted a quiet room with a balcony. We drove up and down Main Street and happened upon the Resort, which looked clean and inviting. It is a little off the beaten path, which is actually nice because it is quiet yet still affords easy walking access to Main St. and Maddox Road, where most of the shops and restaurants are located.

We read a few reviews while in the parking lot and decided to venture into the lobby. We were greeted by extremely friendly staff who suggested a room with a king size bed in the newer, adults-only building. We were pleased to turn the key (yes, they use old fashioned keys not electronic cards) and find a spacious and immaculate room. The decor was a bit dated, but the room was nicely appointed with a reclining couch, coffee table, dresser, desk, luggage stand and TV. The bathroom was split with a sink, toilet and tub in one room and a separate large sink and dressing area outside of the actual bathroom. There was a mini refrigerator tucked inside the closet too. The balcony afforded a spectacular view of the sunset and was equipped with simple but comfortable plastic chairs and a small table. The only thing missing from the room was a coffee maker, but there was unlimited coffee and disposable cups and lids available to guests with breakfast in the morning. The coffee was great and the staff was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room. The choices were limited to hard boiled eggs, fruits, yogurts, cereal, muffins and make-your-own waffles - but everything was fresh and delicious and all the fixings were there to make a great waffle complete with toppings, syrup, whipped cream, etc.

The amenities and grounds were also well maintained. While we didn't use the indoor or outdoor pools or the gym, we did stroll on the private boardwalk and enjoy the variety of seating options along the way. There is a hammock, swing, gazebos and a variety of chairs from which to sit and enjoy the views. We loved our first day so much that we decided to say for a second evening (and a spectacular sunset viewed from our balcony). Again, the staff and Toby the cat were all extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. We will definitely return and would highly recommend the Island Motor Inn Resort to families and couples looking to enjoy all that Chincoteague and Assateague Islands offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Spent a wonderful long weekend at the Island Motor Inn Resort based on reviews. We were delighted with the location, large room, the private balcony, and the delicious breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more. The personnel were very friendly and guided us to some wonderful eateries during our stay. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend the Island for couples and families.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the 3rd floor. Would recommend this to couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £69 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing