We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We planned a quick, spur-of-the-moment trip to travel to our usual vacation area to purchase and pick up a lighthouse for use in a Mother-Daughter Banquet beach theme. Normally we rent a house but since this was a brief stay we stayed at the Island Motor Inn Resort. We couldn't have made a better choice. The views were spectacular and the resort was immaculate in every way. All the employees we came in contact with were helpful and friendly. You could sense pride in the care given to the grounds, rooms, breakfast, lobby area, etc. The decorations added a personal touch and made everything inviting. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Check us out on Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    72
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
75
106
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamondhead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Island Motor Inn. We could not have been more pleased. We debated staying at a big chain hotel but decided to stay with a local proprietor. We made the right decision. The location is perfect. The rooms were a good size and very clean. My kids really enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We strive to give our customers a unique and special experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Check us out on Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My teenage son and I checked in yesterday and are delighted with the place. Our room is large and immaculate and the view of the water from the room and the balcony is great. We love the private boardwalks on the water and the little gazebos. Everything is lovingly maintained with a personal touch. Nothing against chains but
It is so obvious that this place is not one. Kind of like the difference between fast food and homemade.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PoodlesandPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Your kind words mean a lot. We are a family owned establishment that strives to give our customers a unique and special experience. We look forward to seeing you again. When planning future visits check us out on trip advisor for special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This place was truly amazing inside and out.Very magnificent sunrise and sunsets;beautiful wildlife.The room was so clean and comfortable as well as the grounds.The people were very friendly it was an awesome experienceThe breakfast was amazing;with so much to choose from.I recommend staying here its truly wonderfulFrom the indoor pool to the outdoor pool and a few extra surprises I would rate it a 10..I want to have my wedding and reception there it was just that amazing to me.Spectacular;no words can describe its beauty.It felt like home.So close to everything,restaurants,shops,putt putt the wildlife refuge and so much more.Its really a wonderful place to stay.Im returning once a month every month this is where I want to be.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room right on the bay;just breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the fact that you have chosen us for your future vacations. Please check us out on trip advisor for on-line specials the next time you're planning a visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the resort inn in August 2013 for a week. I was a little skeptical because I was only going on the reviews and the pictures on the website. But we were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. We had the king room and it was a good size with full couch and table with chairs. The sunset views from the balcony were some of the best ever. The continental breakfast was good for a few times during our stay. My husband and I would walk around the boardwalk and wind up in the swinging chair for awhile just watching the water and the tour boats go by. One day my husband and I went to the deli and brought back sandwiches and we ate outside at one of the benches. Great vacation and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsChewgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you in the future. Check us out on trip advisor for coupons and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place is a true gem. Best kept secret. View was magnificent. Balcony overlooking the water and sunsets in the evening were great. Breakfast was more than continental....cafe style restaurant with inside and outside seating. Food consisted of make your own waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, coffee, tea, soda etc. Staff were very helpful and felt more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere with friendly service. Tour the grounds of the Inn while there. Some extras will surprise you. Went there for pony swim and was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for end suite overlooking water. Corner suite is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

we usually stay at another hotel in Chincoteague if they were booked on a Friday night because of the rocket launch and we didn't want to book for a couple nights and then move and then move back. So we try the island resort and were greatly pleased. Our balcony overlooking the bay and views were spectacular. We swam in the pool several times and that was very nice too. Our room is on the 3rd floor it was clean and comfortable and the balcony offered those great views. on Sunday morning our spotting scope was trained on some pilings in the middle of the bay where we watched bald eagle eat a crab and sat proudly on his throne for about 45 minutes that was very cool. It's easy walk downtown from there and the staff was very courteous and helpful. We didn't try the small indoor pool the weather was too nice but we did sit in the swings out on the dock and had lunch on the dock.
all to say we may have found another favorite hotel in Chincoteague.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalibutOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Property: Island Motor Inn Resort
Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing