We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - good breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location - good breakfasts”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wonderful relaxing views of the Intercoastal. We were part of a Road Scholar program. Rooms were spacious, but somewhat in need of updating. Front desk personnel were very gracious. Breakfast was in a separate building and more than adequate. Nice conference room and deck on the second floor. We would definitely go back on our own.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Intercoastal with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate feedback from our customers. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    72
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
76
108
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I like to see locally-owned family businesses stay alive, of course.....but you HAVE to keep up with the times. Carpeting in the bathrooms, VERY outdated décor, and a musty odor are not how guests want to be greeted. I think this place has SUCH potential, but they really need to invest in updating the rooms. The floral bedspreads and floral couches are what gives the place a yucky "old" feeling. Put crisp white bedding in the rooms and add some nice silver mirrors or contemporary artwork. Put in clean carpeting. I think the views and the location are what sells this place...certainly NOT the actual rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BusinessTraveler0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are currently working on renovating and updating our rooms. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love this hotel. I wish it were a little further away from the bridge but you can't beat the view of the sunset and their beautiful boardwalk. The waterway by the hotel has boats going by occasionally but they are not a bother. There's a great hammock too. The room is a little outdated but comfortable. There was a little bit of a smell but I stopped noticing it and it was gone by the last day I think.

The people who work there are super nice!!!

Room Tip: I liked being on the first floor but we were right next to teh building with the lobby and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guadopt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Check us out on Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have been to Chincoteague many, many times and our family usually takes our camper and stays at a campground as we have a boat and children that love camping. But on the spur of the moment we decided to make a one night trip to Chincoteague over Memorial Day weekend and we were fortunate that the Island Resort was able to fit it in on such a busy weekend. I had no idea of the kind of place it would be as I made the reservation on the phone. But the man was very friendly and assured me that even with us coming in after 10PM, that he would be waiting for us. What we found was a flat out terrific resort that is very well maintained, inside and out. It has a great little walk through scenic garden with lights and fountains which we enjoyed walking through, even 11PM. There is a short boardwalk with benches, a dock, and gazebo right along the water so there is no shortage of places to sit and just watch the boats or do some fishing. The rooms were clean and well-kept with extra pillows in the closet. All the normal amenities were there and the complimentary continental was really good the next morning. It is clear that the family that owns and runs this hotel certainly takes a lot of pride in their resort and their service! My wife and I both remarked that it we decide to do a hotel stay again in Chincoteague, the Island Resort will definitely be seeing us. Thanks for a great one-night on the island!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHW2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Check us out on Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
557 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

You can tell right away the owners are proud of their place. They should. Great little place with great views. All the rooms have a view of the water. They have 2 pools. Now if you looking for fancy new rooms this won't work for you. Been here 4 times and will continue. Rates are very reasonable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank matjaz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On our way home from New Bern, NC we decided to break our drive and stay over on Chincoteague, a favorite place for many years. Didn't realize it was SeaFood Festival day and went to the motel we usually stay at. They were full and referred us to Island Motor Inn. We had not been to Chinc for a few years and were unfamiliar with the new causeway section and the Inn. Really enjoyed the visit and we will definitely stay there on future visits. Room was comfortable, so were the beds. Great view, right on the boardwalk. Nice little deck to sit on. Great pool(indoor) so it's nice when the weather is a bit cool. And there is a wonderful grey cat who greets all comers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Check us out on Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We love to stay in locally-owned places and this one is great! The room was spacious and clean and the balcony overlooking the water was great. We sat inside (it was freezing) and watch the gulls, loons, cormorants, etc. having a feast - very peaceful. A small problem with the shower was taken care of immediately. Registration was easy and the property is beautifully maintained. However, the fly in the ointment was the women "running" the breakfast area. There was apparently no milk or cream that morning (I did find non-dairy creamer which was fine) but she was insulting the management, the guests, loudly proclaiming she was as upset as we were and generally just should not be in customer service. It was a disappointing end to an otherwise wonderful stay. I would not let it stop me from staying again! Hoping to make a return trip when the weather is nicer so we can enjoy the outside areas!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry for your experience in our cafe. We value our customers and hold our service to a very high standard. We will confront this issue and make sure it never happens again. Thank you again, and be sure to check out Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#8 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Property: Island Motor Inn Resort
Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing