We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We checked into this motel after we left the waterside inn and stayed two nights. This place was great. The motel has a lovely view, an awesome gym(hammer strength),great customer service, nice boardwalk and a good breakfast. The room was very clean and had a covered private balcony my sweetie and I thought it was great we could sit out while it was raining and enjoy the great view from our balcony. The breakfast was served in a building separate from the motel and the lady who helped prepare was nice and serving the breakfast on real plates and silverware was a nice touch. We liked it so much we are coming back in September to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. Customer service and cleanliness are very important to us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    72
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
75
106
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We visited the Island Motor Inn this past weekend and were perfectly happy until we decided that we wanted to check out early as we had to rush back home to attend to some personal business that had arisen in our absence. Thinking that we were dealing with reasonable people we decided to approach the front desk and inform them of the change; requesting to pay so we could leave early the next day. Mark at the front desk informed us that he could not make any changes and there was a 3 day minimum stay requirement; a policy which we had not been informed about prior to booking the room and which is not present anywhere on the resort's website or online advertisements. He went on to state that the only person who could make the change was the manager Anna who would not be available until 11pm that night. We took this in stride and said we would try to call down to the front desk to speak with this Anna, or she could just give us a call once she arrived so we could discuss options. We did not hear anything back from anyone and packed up in the morning to leave. When we arrived at the front desk we met Nancy who had apparently been instructed to throw the book at us on sight because we had barely gotten the phrase check-out out of our mouths before she threw a receipt at us and stated that we had already been charged for all 3 nights and that was that. I was shocked. Now I am a regular traveler and have stayed in all kinds of hotels/inns/hostels all over the world from 5 star to no star, so I am by no means a diva when it comes to hotels, but one thing I have come to appreciate in all my years of hotel stays is customer service, and I am sure any regular traveler would agree with me when I say that courtesy and great service beats out the swankiest hotel with bad service ANY DAY. Our treatment by Anna at Island Motor inn was representative of exactly the sort of customer service that makes sure that guests do not return to the particular establshment ever again. I say this for the following reasons;
-I understand that hotels have polices, and all Anna had to do as a manager concerned about her relationship with her customers was to give us a call and maybe ask why we decided to check out early and if there was anything she could do to get us to stay one more night as there was a 3 night minimum policy which she was sorry we were not made aware of at the time of booking, but which she had to abide by. That is all it would have taken to get us to maybe stay one more night or agree to the extra charge without a fight. She did not care to do this.

-However, what Anna did was; having realized that we were considering leaving a day early was to charge my credit card (which I had entrusted to her as fiduciary and told her not to charge as we would be paying with cash upon our exit) in the middle of the night while we were still guests at her establishment, and left her employee to deal with what she knew would be our displeasure the next day.

-I am a lawyer and while I am itching to do so, I cannot sue because Anna did not do anything overtly illegal. However her actions in principle were underhanded and deplorable. We would have paid for all 3 nights no matter how things turned out if she had simply had a conversation with us and explained things in a civilized manner, rather than going behind our backs to charge us 2 days early as though we were planning to run away without paying for the rooms rather than just change our plans.

My advice to you Anna is this; if for some reason you do not know by now, then I will tell you that your business is built entirely on relationships, and people decide to patronize your establishment primarily as a function of your performance over time. I see from some other reviews that this is not the first time you have freaked out over cancellations and even refused to refund the cost of a room to a customer who fell ill and could not make the trip. I will for my part make it my business to give this same warning to anyone who happens to mention plans to visit your establishment and that would be to make sure that they have set themselves up in a way that ensures that nothing unexpected happens that will require a change in plans because if such a thing does happen Anna at the Island Motor Inn could care less about life's unexpected happenings and will charge you anyway, and not have the decency to make what for anyone would be a very annoying eventuality any less unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Amarachi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are sorry that you were not happy with your visit and we certainly thank you for the the compliment of a "great property" we aprreciate it. Every hotel in resort areas have minimum stays, especially for holidays and it is stated in our advertising literature. Again, sorry you were unhappy and if you would like to return we will offer you a complimentary night.
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VERONA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Island Motor Resort is our favorite get-away because it is always clean, inside & out. We love to fish from their Boardwalk. They have an excellent Handicap bathroom. The view & sunsets look like a postcard and there are restaurants near by. I would recommend it to everyone that enjoys the quiet postcard setting.

Room Tip: Corner suite has beautiful water view. We like the rooms over the office because they are roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKAYBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate customer feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. It is repeat visitors like you that help keep this family owned establishment in business. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Checkout our special offers on trip advisor when planning your next visit.
Sincerely,
Susan Stubbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

On our way down and back to North Carolina in May 2014, my husband and I spent two nights in Chincoteague and loved it. From our deck, we watched fishing and tour boats ply up and down the canal, the antics of the birds in the strip of marshland along the canal, and the larger boats on Chincoteague Bay.
We had a spacious room which was immaculately clean and furnished with a television and two comfortable chairs and a table.
Friendly, efficient staff members served us breakfast in a building with a porch next to the pool. Everyone we met at the hotel was very helpful and pleasant. The pool area looked very inviting, but we did not have time to swim. There is a lovely indoor pool, which looks out on the bay. There is also a delightful garden where you can cool off and rest when you first arrive. I also loved sitting on the swing looking out on the bay and bridge.
The hotel is located close to town, and in the evening we walked down to Bill's Seafood Restaurant. Hope to return next year.

Maureen and Bill B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Owner at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a kind review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived in the city late in the evening and took a chance. Found a great place that was very welcoming. Room was very nice. Clean, too. Both the night view and daylight view was great. Had breakfast in their little café.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaStubbs, Owner at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Cleanliness and customer service are very important to us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently stayed here June 7th to the 9th 2014. What a great place, I used to stay here every year when my children were little, and they would love fishing off the dock and swimming in the pool, as I loved the garden, swing and hammock and the wonderful sunsets right from the deck off the room. My return visit was just as I remember, the place is clean as a whistle, pool nice size and very clean and an indoor pool too, as well as a hot tub on the 3rd floor with un -obstructed views of the bay and meadows, so relaxing and also super clean and well maintained, Breakfast in the little restaurant was included with the room, just enough with many items to choose from, Bagels, assorted breads, e-muffinns, cereals, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and a waffle maker to make your own and plenty of hot coffee, yummy! Everyone is so friendly and nice here, will return again in the fall, had such a nice time, by far the best place to stay on Chincoteague.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Check us out on Trip Advisor for special offers when planning your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was on a Road Scholar trip this past week and the staff at the hotel were so accommodating. We decided to come in a day early and the room that we would have the whole week was ready and waiting. We were greeted by Toby, the official greeter! He is a beautiful gray cat that "talks" to you upon entering the lobby. The staff was wonderful and were quick to fill any request. The room was very clean and large. The sunsets from the boardwalk were fantastic. Paty the woman who is at the cafe keeps everything filled and good. No better place that we saw anywhere on the island. Hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay, so there are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racetime13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandResort84, Manager at Island Motor Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Property: Island Motor Inn Resort
Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing