We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Motor Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Iselin,NJ
113
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We had done some serious research on the area and the various hotels and we were very delighted to find this local gem. The room was clean and spacious and every room had a perfect view of the channel. The price was very ,very resonable especially for a family of 5 just $125 a night . If you have a boat you can dock it right at the hotel. My sons had there first chance to catch crabs right off the dock. The best part of the trip if you ask them. They also had a grill you could use on the dock for a really nice meal. and a mini fidge in your room. The hotel didn't have a room service or a restaraunt open except for breakfast. The staff had a great understanding of the Island and what you could do. Everything they recomended worked out beautifully. We got there just after the pony swim so it was probably a quiet week for them the staff was always friendly and the indoor and outdoor pool was well taken care of. This will be the hotel that we will stay at every time we go. The Hampton Inn was right up the street and had the same view but was twice the money. The mosquitoes are a little ruff so make sure you bring bug spray.
Asseteague reserve was wonderful and you could rent bike to go over there. the beach was so nice and relaxing just $10 a week for the park to bring your car.
We saw people on the beach at dusk with campfires having a nice evening.
Well worth the drive from NJ.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Island Motor Inn Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2005

Stayed here for just one night based on glowing reviews from this site. Once again, I was so glad that I had found this gem based on traveller reviews. Very relaxing atmosphere, clean room, great staff, and their cafe offered Eggs Benedict on the menu - which were very good indeed. Combined with a mimosa, and my day couldn't have started out better. FYI - if you go to the national seashore -- take bug spray-- we tried to walk to the lighthouse and got literally swarmed with mosquitos... VERY BAD. Great little island and we will definitely return to the hotel...great pool, and nice to sit on small balcony and watch sunsets.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank babygrandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2005

We stayed for one evening and it wasn't enough to see all that the island has to offer. The hotel has bayside views from all rooms. They were able to get a crib for our baby in the room. It is just a few blocks down from the Hampton Inn with the same views and half the price. They were friendly staff and kept our perishables in the staff fridge after we checked out, so we could still explore the island. The hotel is walking distance to town. We recommend Bill's for breakfast(good food and family atmosphere). Had homemade ice cream at the Island Creamery. Lunch at AJ's( great seafood and service). Dinner at the Village for more seafood. Try to get reservations for dinner at most restaurants, as they are packed in the evenings. We took a cruise on a pontoon boat with Linda J's. The mosquito's ate us alive when we went to the beach at sunset. We won't forget our bug spray next time we visit. We recommend this island and hotel, especially for family vacations!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Familiafour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Greensboro, NC
766
Reviewed 1 July 2005

Ahhh. My 2 children and I stayed here near the end of a 2 1/2 week road trip. It was so relaxing and beautiful, I wanted to stay longer. It is right on the sound, and is beautifully landscaped. You can't beat the views from your balcony--the sun sets over the sound. The rooms were some of the best on our trip--very spacious. I really liked that the sink is not in the bathroom, and you have a refrigerator. The on-site cafe had gourmet-quality breakfasts. There is also an indoor & outdoor pool. You do have to travel about 7 miles and pay a $10 park entrance fee for the beach--but it's worth it. It was great to go to a natural beach for a change. Don't miss Mister Whippy--an ice cream parlor. They have kids nights on summer Wednesdays with facepainting, balloons, games and Mister Whippy in person. For my kids, it was the highlight of their trip!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
111
Reviewed 17 May 2005

We stayed for two nights at this inn on the tiny island of Chincoteague. First of all, you might want to think twice about travel to this island. We went off season (May) and cannot imagine being there in-season. My boyfriend likened it to a tacky NJ shore resort. The billboards as you drive over the causeway are an eyesore and a shame. If you do go, this is one of the better places to stay (though my boyfriend eyed the new Hampton Inn, voted "#1 Hampton Inn in the Country"). We would recommend spending a bit more to stay in the smaller building of Island Motor Inn where the hotel registration desk is located - decor is more modern and greater privacy afforded in hanging out on the balcony. Great gym equipment - you can work out overlooking the bay and wildlife refuge. For me, a trip to this island was worth it after reading MISTY OF CHINCOTEAGUE as a child - definitely recommend a trip to the refuge just a mile or two down the road to see these beautiful horses, also deer and many unusual birds. The beach is beautiful and wild, too. We actually enjoyed a long sidetrip to Assateague in Maryland where the horses roam wild on the refuge and the beach is even wilder and more remote.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2004

We stayed at the Island Motor Inn the weekend of September 18, 2004. Great service, comfortable rooms and great views. It was the day after the hurricane, so we were a little worried, but it turned out to be beautiful. We ate several meals at Bills restaurant on Main St. and I give it Four Stars. Wonderful food, and terrific service... Can't wait to go back for their Christmas Parade. We also rented a Trigger car and took it down to the ocean. SOOOO much fun. So much natural beauty to be seen, I can't say enough about this beautiful little island.

11  Thank bleueyes1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2004

Been vacationing on Chincoteague for 30+ years. Skip the chains and stay at the Island Motor Inn. It's quiet, with immaculate grounds, and a terrific cafe. (You can walk to the Grubstake Deli for cheese, bread, wine, and the Times.) Go to The Village for Seafood--skip the tacky and loud Landmark Crabhouse. Shop The Brant, and get home-made ice cream at the Island Creamery on Maddox--skip Mr. Whippy. Rent bikes at Jus' Bikes--great service, and the seats are comfortable. If you have a kitchen, get seafood from Gary Howard Seafood and cook it yourself--pop by mid-afternoon to see what's come off the boat. For an extra-fancy meal, motor back to New Church on the mainland and check out The Garden and the Sea Inn. Enjoy Randolph and Nancy Payne's art at "Clouds" and "Folly" at the corner of Main and Maddox. Take a cruise with Captain Barry, don't forget Misty's footprints in front of the Island Roxy Theater, and don't judge the place if you've only ever been there for pony penning, which is a bit of a zoo. To max your enjoyment, take sunscreen, Off Skintastic, and a hat from SundayAfternoons (the sport hat is my favorite). Have a blast!

33  Thank LisaPMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motor Inn Resort

Address: 4391 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £106 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Motor Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are waterfront with balcony. Free continental breakfast, hot tub, fitness center, in room coffee maker, free wi-fi, located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and minutes from Assateague National Seashore and Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, and NASA/Wallops Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motor Hotel Chincoteague Island
Island Hotel Chincoteague
Island Resort Chincoteague
Island Chincoteague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing