We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Saved Us”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We have never been here before so I booked a room based on AAA rating at the Hampton Inn. It was a horrible experience and the beds were terribly uncomfortable. I called looking for a new hotel and the desk clerk, Christie, not only squeezed us in but when I told her it was our anniversary he found us a king room with a water view and left a nice note. Bed is comfy and room very nice. Very satisfied with our stay here at the Fairfield Inn.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that Cristy was able to get you in and you were able to enjoy the remainder of your time here in Chincoteague. I am glad you enjoyed your treats and hope you had a wonderful Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    67
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
109
95
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Arriving on the island by myself, I pulled into an Inn down the street which I am familiar with. I loaded my arms up with luggage. 59 rooms; certainly no problem. Booked. Ugh. Out I go and down the street to the new place. Great results. Clerk excellent, room was large w/a large bath area. Linens lovely. View on first floor-not. Seemed the door lended itself to noise slipping in at the base. But, not bad enough to be a problem. Good breakfast and easy walk to Bill's Seafood for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I am so glad that we were able to have a room for you that night. I'm happy to hear that the staff was helpful and you enjoyed your room. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is either a new Fairfield Inn or newly renovated. Facility is nice, clean and the rooms are large. Staff is super helpful. The hotel is located close to 'downtown', within walking distance to most restaurants.

My only complaint is that the walls are thin. Fair amount of noise from common activities - neighbor talking on phone, doors opening and closing. I was here in the off season so I am not sure how comfortable the hotel would be in high season with lots of coming and going.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmosMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am happy to hear that you found your room clean and the staff was able to assist with all your needs during your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience from the thin walls. We are currently working on a solution for that, which we hope will correct the problem for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Valentine's Day for an open house at Salisbury University the next day and were greeted by Ashley at the front desk. She offered an upgrade to our room to which we accepted. We had a room with 2 queen beds, sofa sleeper, desk and bay front view. The breakfast in the morning was the typical sausage(turkey too), scrambled eggs, waffle, cereal, pastries, coffee and juice. It was maintained very well by the attendants both mornings we were there. We had some questions about the island and Sue was very eager to answer our questions and make suggestions. Our only complaint was the walls are really thin and we had the unfortunate experience of hearing our neighbors conversations every single night and they were up late!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curleyQlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am happy to hear that both Ashley and Sue were helpful in assisting you throughout your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the thin walls. We are working toward a solution that we feel is best for our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you agian during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suite was great. I enjoyed the breakfast and the Bay front room was more than expected. This was my second stay. The first stay was in August. We really enjoyed the Restaurant on the property. The food there was great and we had the pleasure of meeting some local people. We were disappointed to see the Restaurant closed and the building abandoned. Hope to see something new there in the near future. We will be back.

Sincerely,
Ellen Miller

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy your waterfront room. We are getting ready to replace the restaurant next door and hope to have it open by summer. We look forward to your next visit and hope that the restaurant will be completed by then for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fairfield Inn & suites on Chincoteague is a property opened in July 2013 so relatively new and very clean. We arrived on a very windy day and the power was out but returned so we could check in and get settled. We were upgraded to a water view with lagoon-type setting. It was pleasant with a balcony and two chairs. Since it was chilly outside, we enjoyed seeing the seagulls from a distance. Located on Main Street so walkable to some restaurants and close to the bridge which goes off the island. Also, close enough (10 minute car ride) to the Atlantic Ocean which is part of a national park wetlands entrance. There was no entrance fee while we were there but in season may be different. We saw some cranes and the visitor center had some nice exhibits. Good breakfast including waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, pastries, fruit etc. with plenty of seating as the hotel was relatively quiet in late December. Pool is outdoors only. We made use of the two queen size beds with an extra chair or two but no couch in this room. Small refrig. available. Nice shower with plenty of water pressure and fan.

Room Tip: Upper floor with a water view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZSVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize that you had to experience the power outage upon check in. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the views and wildlife while staying with us. We hope that your next visit will be just as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Maryland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I am writing this review on our second day of our stay at the Fairfield Inn on Chincoteague Island. Its a beautiful property close to the downtown area of Main Street. Walking distance to shops and several restaurants. The staff has been nothing short of excellent from our arrival through our stay. Its just after Christmas 2013 and there's not much open on the Island but the staff have offered places to go and suggested which restaurants are opened. The room was extremely nice, the balcony looked over the water and the view was spectacular. We would come back again. Recommended.

Room Tip: There's a hot breakfast available with lots to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that you found our property clean and the staff accommodating during your stay. With many shops and restaurants closed this time of year, we try and make sure we always have a current list of who is open and places that the guests can go to enjoy their time on the island. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chincoteague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Address: 3913 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2401
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's newest Waterfront hotel with beautiful views of the bay. We also offer banquet space next door at our sister property The Jacksopt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing