We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would love to return in summer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad, West Indies
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“would love to return in summer!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A new Marriott property in an excellent location, and we were in a huge room. Could easily have housed 6 people, we were three. Overlooking the sound and causeway, sunset is great. Spouse, an environmental engineer, was impressed with the use of recycled decking on even the balconies and for outside chairs, as well as the pool decks. High above the water, it felt like being on a ship. Quite modern and open, would be nice in warmer weather with doors open to outside tables. Having recently stayed at Renaissance and Courtyard Marriotts, did feel the lack of a bar or bistro took away some ambiance, but in summer with the waterside pool and tables, would not have noticed this. Walking distance to historic downtown and some restaurants. Very friendly, helpful staff. Island as a whole did not feel 'open for the season' yet -- some places open for dinner but not lunch, sidewalks torn up, some roads halfway through paving, etc. would like to come again in warmer weather!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, pool view room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our spacious suites and were able to enjoy one of Chincoteague's spectacular sunsets from your balcony. The town is still trying to "wake" up for the season, and we would love to have you return when the weather is warmer as well. We look forward to serving you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    67
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
111
97
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for 20 days and had a great time with no issues. The hotel staff was great, the food was good, and the room was excellent. I would definitely stay here again and hopefully I will make it back to Chincoteague Island when the weather is better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Everything we do is aimed toward providing the best hotel experience possible. We certainly hope that you will be able to return so we can serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Unless you would like to spend alot of money, the rooms are a little small, but comfortable. As I saw on another review, the walls are a bit thin and we thought that the rooms were warm. The air conditioning cannot be set lower than 68. With a heavy comforter, my husband and I tend to get hot. However, the positive is that the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is great! The breakfast attendant was very friendly and the quality of the meal was excellent. The breakfast area was also large. In many Fairfield's, there isn't enough room for all of the guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debville99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that the staff was friendly. I do apologize that you were unable to turn your thermostat down below 68. I will certainly look into that situation. We hope that we will be able to serve you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Highly recommend this new hotel. Nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff. Spa like bathroom. Great option if you are visiting Chincoteague, walking distance to "historic" downtown Chincoteague and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and that they staff was friendly during your stay. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the Fairfield Inn. It was my first time. I've come to Chincoteague for decades but always stayed at hotel closer to Assateague. Since I'm a Marriott Gold member and they finally got a Marriott at Chincoteague I decided to stay here. The property was built in July 2013 and so has the lovely new hotel look and feel. It is right on the bay and on Main Street, just out of the business district. It took me about 17 minutes to drive from the hotel to the beach at 6 am on a Sunday. This was fine, but may take double the time during the summer.

The rooms are quite small but nicely appointed. The balcony was very nice and the sunset was incredible! The lobby and eating area is bright with lots of tables and natural light. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I've already booked two more stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room if you want see an incredible sunset and watch the ducks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that the staff was both helpful and friendly through out your stay.I am very happy to hear that you have already booked your return stays with us! We strive to give our guests the best hotel experience we can and your feed back is greatly appreciated! We look forward to serving you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We have never been here before so I booked a room based on AAA rating at the Hampton Inn. It was a horrible experience and the beds were terribly uncomfortable. I called looking for a new hotel and the desk clerk, Christie, not only squeezed us in but when I told her it was our anniversary he found us a king room with a water view and left a nice note. Bed is comfy and room very nice. Very satisfied with our stay here at the Fairfield Inn.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that Cristy was able to get you in and you were able to enjoy the remainder of your time here in Chincoteague. I am glad you enjoyed your treats and hope you had a wonderful Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Arriving on the island by myself, I pulled into an Inn down the street which I am familiar with. I loaded my arms up with luggage. 59 rooms; certainly no problem. Booked. Ugh. Out I go and down the street to the new place. Great results. Clerk excellent, room was large w/a large bath area. Linens lovely. View on first floor-not. Seemed the door lended itself to noise slipping in at the base. But, not bad enough to be a problem. Good breakfast and easy walk to Bill's Seafood for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I am so glad that we were able to have a room for you that night. I'm happy to hear that the staff was helpful and you enjoyed your room. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Address: 3913 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2401
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's newest Waterfront hotel with beautiful views of the bay. We also offer banquet space next door at our sister property The Jacksopt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing