We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflicted......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Conflicted......”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

New location with a lot going for it. But some things just don't add up. The view towards the bay is great. But only if you have a room with a balcony. The architect of this place made quite a few rooms in corners - leaving little or no view. Making a standard reservation leaves one needing to check in early to get a bay view. Didn't happen in our case. The air handling system sounds like one is in the bowels of a cruise ship - listening to the engines steam through the water. A dull but annoying sound. And breakfast was typically good Marriott - but someone forgot to tell the cook that scrambled eggs should not be swimming in water. A miss here - a miss there. The pool and the bay view are certainly high points.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West have a bay view. A balcony makes the view all the better. Not sure if you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I certianly understand your desire for a water view room, and apologize that we were unable to accomodate that request on this visit. I hope next time you visit we will be able to give you a room that has the water view you prefer. I apologize for the noise and have had my cheif engineer look into it to make sure everything is functioning properly. These don't normally make a lot of noise. And I can certianly understand your problem with the watery eggs at breakfast. I have spoken with my breakfast attendents working that day as that is not the standard I expect them to keep. We aim to give all of our guest the best hotel experience possible and apologize that we did not meet yours - or our- standards. I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Chincoteague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    69
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
100
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed one night last weekend. The room was very clean and roomy. But the walls are extremely thin!!! We spent the night listening to a toddler crying every 2-3 hours and a couple having a fight in the hall. When I called the front desk at 1:00am to let them know about the fighting couple, she said that the couple was just down stairs fighting...The breakfast was okay, should have a meat along with the eggs. Would NOT stay here if you are a light sleeper! Am heading back to the area soon and will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynnedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience from the thin walls. We are currently working on a solution for that, which we hope will correct the problem for our guests. We do offer a hot complimentary breakfast every morning with an array of items including turkey sausage, pork sausage and biscuits and gravy. I apologize if sausage wasn't served the morning of your stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Chincoteague and allow us the opportunity to better serve you. Please contact me directly to assist you in making a reservation so we can make your stay more comfortable. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atoka, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

5 stars all the way around. What a great stay! Our room was awesome, the hotel is very new and the staff is super friendly. They found out my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and upgraded us to a King Suite with a balcony. Location is great, you can walk to most restaurants. How many places on the Eastern Seaboard do you get to watch the sun go down over the ocean??? Here you do! We sat on the deck and watched it go below the ocean, absolutely gorgeous sunset. Breakfast was fantastic. The staff was wonderful, they even wandered around with a pot of coffee and refilled ours for us and we were out eating breakfast on the deck. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickP873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent with us. We value the feedback of our guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We strive to make each guests experience wonderful. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the sunset and that the staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we arrived at the hotel on Saturday, we discovered that our reservation had been messed up by a third party booking agency. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer. They had no rooms available the first night so they called and found us a room at another hotel. The second night when we arrived back at the Fairfield Inn, they upgraded our room to a water view and it was lovely! They were so nice and accommodating! We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast (though I wish they would have served bacon and sausage with the scrambled eggs). The room was very clean and comfortable and the view was fantastic. We watched the sunset from our balcony. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that the staff were able to help in finding you accomodations wihen your reservation was incorrect. Everything we do is striving to give our guests the best hotel experience possible. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Staff was great and very accommodating. We mentioned it was our anniversary and they upgraded our room to a suite with a water view which made our stay even nicer. Will definitely go back. They are building a restaurant next door so that will be an plus since the hotel only serves breakfast. Complimentary that is!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryann04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our property. I am happy to hear that the staff was able to accommodate your needs and upgrade your room. The restaurant next door will be a wonderful addition to the Island and our guests at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everything about this Fairfield Inn was top rated, i.e., cleanliness, great room with very comfortable bed, great views, good hot breakfast and, most importantly, friendliness of staff who also assisted us in recommending places on the island to eat and giving us brochures from each as well as answering any other travel questions we had. They were all very professional and made us feel at home. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the water side and being able to see a spectacular sunset as well as the fishing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the sunsets during your stay. I am happy to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and the staff was accommodating. We look forward to serving you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights on an award stay. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from the staff. When we checked into our room, we asked for a roll away bed. Because the room could not accommodate an extra bed, the staff quickly moved us to a larger suite with a pull out sofa. The view was excellent overlooking the bay. Everytime we walked by the front desk or at breakfast the entire team was smiling and asking how we have been enjoying Chincoteague. They all made sure to chat with my kids as well. When one of my kids got sick and we needed to stay another day, the front desk asked how they could help including keeping us in the same room for another night using points. The process was quick and easy. I highly recommend this hotel for anybody staying on Chincoteague. The facility is spotless and every employee there is cheerful and willing to make your stay a comfortable one. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the bay. Beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTGaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that we were able to get you a room that was large enough for your family upon checking in. I am happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay as that is a daily focus for us. I hope your daughter is feeling much better and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Address: 3913 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2401
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's newest Waterfront hotel with beautiful views of the bay. We also offer banquet space next door at our sister property The Jacksopt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing