We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pool and rooms...just waiting for bar to open!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second year using this hotel as a stopover on our way down to OBX. Great location. We miss the restaurant/bar that was on the water but the new place looks nice, cant wait for it to be open! Great service, clean rooms and fun pool area.

Room Tip: Water view/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nunzio_Rochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that we have become your stop over on your way to OBX. I'm happy to hear that everything was clean and comfortable. The new restaurant, The Jackspot is now open so you will have to come again and try it! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just came back from a four-day trip to Fairfield Inn at Chincoteague Island. The resort is only a year old, so everything is new and clean. The hotel rooms are spacious with a balcony overlooking the Bay. Beautiful view in the evening as the sun sets. The location is great since it is located downtown Chincoteague. And, if you are here for the Pony Swim, the hotel is only a half-mile away from the Carnival where the ponies are rounded up. This same location is where the ponies are auctioned off the next day.

The staff is friendly and helpful. Highly recommend staying here if you plan on visiting the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank MaxxusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay during the recent Pony Swim. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with it's view of the sunsets and our close location to the fairgrounds. I hope that we will get to see you again the next time you visit Chincoteague Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed there recently for two nights. Went to chincoteague for pony swim. Location was convenient for this and to walk down Main Street. Took our bikes to ride the island. Very well kept facility. Staff friendly and helpful. This event overtakes the tiny island with visitors and the staff was always helpful and good source of information. We live in a beach resort town and know first hand how incredibly frustrating it can be when big events roll in. Staff never seemed stressed or too busy to answer probably the millionth question about the pony swim! Hotel very clean and new. Beds were nice and lots of pillows already in room. Didn't have to ask. Only wish each room had a safe. Everyone travels with expensive electronics and I like to keep them locked up in room. But small downside!

Room Tip: Seems like most rooms had a good view of water...we were in 314 overlooked pool and waterway. Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank patty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay during the recent Pony Swim. I'm glad to hear that the staff was very accommodating and able to answer all of your questions. Our staff works hard to make sure your rooms are clean and comfortable for all our guests. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit to Chincoteague Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were on the island for the pony swim. We stayed three nights here and the only complaint we had was we thought it was a little pricey BUT it was during their peak season for the pony swim. The staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable about the island and the pony swim. This was our first year for the pony swim so the staff was a big help with information about the event and what we should expect. There was a hot breakfast each morning with eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, etc. The room was large and very clean. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank vmcgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was helpful by providing answers to all your questions about the Pony Swim. I hope that you were able enjoy the whole experience and will be able to return again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My little family (my husband, myself, & our 7-month-old son) took our first trip to Chincoteague this week and we stayed at the Fairfield Inn our first 3 nights. I love Marriotts - they are so dependable! This hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location - right on the water and in the middle of town (on Main Street). Everything is squeaky clean and there is a beautiful pool area with palm trees facing the docks & the water. A new restaurant, The Jackspot, opened next door today with palm trees and outdoor seating - a great view next to the hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a balcony looking out over the water and we got to watch the sun set each night, which was stunning. Our son loved looking out from our balcony at all the ducks that congregated off the dock.

The room itself was just the right size for all three of us and even had 2 flatscreen TVs - one for the sitting area and one for the bed area. The bathroom was very nice - spacious and the shower had great water pressure. The hotel was QUIET, but that may have been because we were in an end room (which was lovely!).

The breakfast each morning was delicious with make-your-own waffles and a huge assortment of other breakfast items. Fresh coffee available in the lobby anytime of day. Everyone who worked the front desk and the breakfast area was very friendly.

We felt that we were well taken care of and the room and location were just perfect. We went on many walks along Main Street and really enjoyed all of our time looking out from our balcony at the water and wildlife.

I hope we get to return!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! I'm glad that you had time to relax and enjoy the wonderful sunsets and that your son enjoyed watching the ducks. We hope that you get to return and look forward to seeing you when you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent the weekend here, and judgeing by other reviews, must have hit the front desk at a bad time. We asked about the AAA discount that they advertise and were told that it does NOT apply to a weekend stay. We asked about restaurants, sights, etc... since we've not been to the Island before and were given very straight forward answers with a "I'm busy, don't bother me" attitude. even though our foursome were the only ones at the desk. Besides that initial turn-off, the rest of our time there was much better, and we would return. It is a nice location, and very clean in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the front desk staff were not very accommodating or helpful with providing information about the Island. This is not the service that I expect out of my staff. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention so we can continue to improve our service. We look forward to you returning and hope the staff will give you the service I know they are capable of!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We discovered Chincoteague a few years ago even though we only live two hours away. We very much enjoy the tranquility the island, riding bikes and enjoying the beach. We stayed each time at the Hampton and had a delightful day. We were coming into town for our 15th wedding anniversary and Hampton had a three night minimum and Fairfield did not. So, we made a reservation for the Fairfield.

The room was extremely spacious, great balcony and water views and very clean. the furniture was in great condition the bed was very comfortable. They are building a restaurant next-door very interested to see how that will turn out. There was construction noise but it didn't bother us. If that would bother you you should ask about it before booking.

It's priced a little higher than I think it should be but nothing I can do about that...


We found our new favorite Chincoteague Hotel. Hoping to be back in the fall once again.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank christie629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us! I'm happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay. The restaurant next door is now open and we hope to see you this fall for another wonderful stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
814 reviews
1.6 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island

Address: 3913 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2401
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £66 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's award winning waterfront hotel with beautiful views of the bay. We also offer banquet space next door at the Island's newest waterfront restaurant "Ropewalk" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing