We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, but dirty and dilapidated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of P.T. Pelican's Intercoastal Deck Bar - CLOSED

P.T. Pelican's Intercoastal Deck Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view, but dirty and dilapidated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

It's on a beautiful spot on the water. Food was ok, steamed shrimp were tasty, crab cake was mostly crab, but bland. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. However, this place is so dirty and falling apart. I don't think the floors have been swept in years. Tables were sticky. The restrooms are disgusting and smelly. We found out as we were leaving that it is slated for demolition this fall. Hopefully a new place will take advantage of the great location!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvsummer5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    18
    20
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We liked the diverse and friendly clientele at the bar during happy hour. Certainly couldn't complain about the size and price of my pina colada--everyone appeared to be having a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plenty of Local Flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Found this restaurant to be a real locals hangout that had great crab cakes, and reasonably priced seafood baskets($8.99) that were very tasty. If you're looking for elegance and fancy schmantcy, this is not the place but the wait staff was friendly and around when you needed something. Sorry to hear this place will be history come November 1, 2013.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KitchenQueenVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The sunset view is the selling point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This place was THE hot spot 20 yrs ago but has never regained its former glory. The view is great especially at sunset and this is its best asset. The lines and crowds of years ago are gone and the near empty atmosphere is almost too quiet. The mixed veggies were soggy and mushy soft. The corn on the cob was good and sweet. The Coors Light was only $2 a glass but I did not know the price until the bill came. If I had known beforehand I would have had a 2nd round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baedteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buy your own frozen food and reheat it at home.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Seafood platter--bland (at best), comes frozen from a box.

Delmonico Steak--warmed over gristle.

Hush puppies--dry and dense. Were these stripped-mined in Texas?

Hot dog for one of the kids--ran out. (Probably the best option, after trying the rest of the choices.)

Ambiance--Sticky tabletop, ceiling fan bulb burned out (make it tough to read the menu), family seated next to the raucous, smoky bar.

Music--The guitar player was decent, but should invest in a vocalist who can carry a tune. Was he trying to sound that bad? His break came too late and lasted too briefly.

Value--extremely over-priced.

I neglected to read the reviews before I went. When there are more one star reviews than anything else, stop to wonder how many of those would be zeros if that were an option. Mine would be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed P.T. Pelican's Intercoastal Deck Bar also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing