We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Delight”
Review of Channel Bass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total Delight”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Barbara and David have a lovely Inn conveniently located. Their hospitality made our vacation even better! Our room was beautiful, the breakfasts were superb, and the other guests were kind. Barb made dinner reservations for us at the best restaurants and provided maps with directions for our excursions. We highly recommend a trip to Chincoteague Island and Channel Bass Inn. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micasasuzycasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
183
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

There's nothing but good things to say about Channel Bass Inn. Barbara and David were so warm and welcoming-- they helped us with recommendations and suggestions to make our stay more pleasant. And the breakfast--WOW. Every morning we had coffee/tea in the garden, then had very delicious and filling multi-course breakfast. We didn't have to eat again until dinner. As everyone else says, the scones were phenomenal.

The Channel Bass Inn may cost a bit more than a regular hotel on the island, but it is hands-down worth it. We borrowed bikes, had a delicious breakfast, stayed in very clean (and quiet) rooms, and felt like we were family. Just don't forget to bring your own hairdryer and you'll have the perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasiaklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This should really be called a Breakfast and Bed because the breakfast deserves top billing. The rooms were comfortable and the location was ideal. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Don't miss tea. Between breakfast and tea, lunch was not required.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chessie1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have stayed in dozens of B&Bs over the past 30 years, and Channel Bass Inn rates in the top three for us. We were graciously welcomed, attended to, and fed the most amazingly delicious breakfasts. The bed was perfectly comfortable, the room spacious and spotless, and the hosts are born-to-the-job. We loved everything about the Channel Bass Inn, and our stay there, and look forward to another visit to Chincoteague Island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Channel Bass Inn. We stayed with our 2 children, borrowed some bicycles (amazingly David had one that worked for each of us) and spent our time cycling to Assateague.

The rooms at the Inn are very clean, David and Barbara are the most amazing hosts, and the breakfasts are delicious.

We left feeling like we had made new friends.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyBeesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We went to the Channel Bass Inn right after our wedding. It was a little get away for the week to de-stress. David and Barbara were amazing. They made us feel right at home. Everything we needed for the beach, or anything for that matter, they made sure we had. Not to mention, the breakfasts were so amazing. The mexi eggs were a favorite but everything was to die for. We didn’t get to do the tea time, but we heard from other guests it was equally great and left you full for hours! We will definitely try that when we return, which we definitely will!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toccoa, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

From the delicious afternoon tea to the fantastic breakfast each morning, our stay at the Channel Bass Inn was an exquisite treat. Barbara and David are skilled and gracious hosts. The English flair and detail around the meals was unique in our experience. Although we made a last minute reservation and could only get the smallest room in the house, our accommodations were very comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. The location is very convenient for walking to local shopping and restaurants, and a short drive out to the wildlife preserve on Assateague, Is. This B&B is not to be missed. We will come again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurraheeMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
882 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Property: Channel Bass Inn
Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Channel Bass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing