We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Delight”
Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Delight”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I stayed with Barbara and David this month for our one year anniversary. We were more than pleased with our one night stay. While one pays for accomadations, there is no price for charm, and we were fortunate to find the Channel Inn. The accomadations were excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and full of character. Concerning hospitality, how many B&B hosts remember not only your names but that of your little puppy? Only this one! My wife was delighted with the tea time offered in the afternoon and the breakfast was an international delight. Location is very convienent with ample parking behind the B&B. Barbra was helpful in choosing a great resturaunt for dinner that added to our wonderful weekend. This is my first and most likely only post to TripAdvisor, that should tell you how much we enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a place that feels displaced from the worries of the world, a place that reminds you of another era in time, or just need a place to find peace, you will find it here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
187
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Barbara and David the propeitors are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was fantastic, served on fine china and with embroidered linens, They were helpful with finding fun activities and the rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean. The location is extremely convenient, within walking or biking distance of all the sites and activities. This was my first experience at a B&B and I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaisaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We celebrated our 10-year anniversary at the Channel Bass Inn. It was relaxing, comfortable and fun! We really enjoyed Barbara's engaging personality! She is an extraordinary innkeeper, who brings life to the party! She danced her way to breakfast and taught us the correct procedures at teatime (she's from England). She and David are wonderful innkeepers. We'd highly recommend attending teatime! The food was out of this world and it was so nice to just take a break and enjoy some adult conversation. (You won't need dinner afterwards). The food was the most outstanding feature offered. We tried many new culinary delights and it was all amazing! The home was clean and quiet throughout our weekend stay. We'd visit again for sure!

-Corey and Tina

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was our first time at a B&B and the setting was perfect in Chincoteage. The breakfasts were yummy and the location near the center of town allowed foe easy walking access to all the quaint shops. Barbara insisted on helping to make reservations at the local restaurants for dinner and we we weren't disappointed one bit.

Phil and Lynne Falls Church, VA

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Barbara and David have a lovely Inn conveniently located. Their hospitality made our vacation even better! Our room was beautiful, the breakfasts were superb, and the other guests were kind. Barb made dinner reservations for us at the best restaurants and provided maps with directions for our excursions. We highly recommend a trip to Chincoteague Island and Channel Bass Inn. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micasasuzycasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

There's nothing but good things to say about Channel Bass Inn. Barbara and David were so warm and welcoming-- they helped us with recommendations and suggestions to make our stay more pleasant. And the breakfast--WOW. Every morning we had coffee/tea in the garden, then had very delicious and filling multi-course breakfast. We didn't have to eat again until dinner. As everyone else says, the scones were phenomenal.

The Channel Bass Inn may cost a bit more than a regular hotel on the island, but it is hands-down worth it. We borrowed bikes, had a delicious breakfast, stayed in very clean (and quiet) rooms, and felt like we were family. Just don't forget to bring your own hairdryer and you'll have the perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasiaklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This should really be called a Breakfast and Bed because the breakfast deserves top billing. The rooms were comfortable and the location was ideal. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Don't miss tea. Between breakfast and tea, lunch was not required.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chessie1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Property: Channel Bass Inn
Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing