We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice.”
Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Barbara and David were wonderful hosts and took good care of us. They were warm and welcoming and easy to talk to. The house is lovely. Its comfortable and luxurious at the same time. Breakfast was delicious! Barbara accommodated my special dietary needs so well. I didn't feel like I was getting the plan B for meals but the best of what she had. There are several attractions within walking distance and everything is in biking distance. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

When you arrive at the Channel Bass Inn, you would think you are in a beautiful English Garden. The flowers are gorgeous and the Mallard ducks in the pond are entertaining. The service and food is impeccable. Our suite of rooms was on the first floor and newly decorated from the bamboo flooring to the decor and modern bathroom. Very comfortable! Barbara and David make you feel at home from the time you arrive until the moment you leave. We look forward to staying at the Channel Bass in the near future.

Room Tip: First floor newly decorated suite if one can't take steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikey716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Best B and B experience ever! Staying at Channel Bass Inn is like staying with your favorite aunt and uncle. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the inn attracts a wide variety of interesting guests. Breakfast itself is an event. Barbara and David are gracious hosts and make everyone feel comfortable with one another. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and full of character. Take time to enjoy the flower garden, experience tea, and enjoy the books and music. We love to travel and rarely return to a destination. Chincoteague Island is an exception because of Channel Bass Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Had a wonderful stay with my husband. Barbara and David were so accomodating, warm, and hospitable. From the moment we arrived to our departure, we felt pampered. The breakfast exceeded my expectations and was the highlight of our stay. Barbara even brought filtered water for our dog, which was also welcomed and loved. I can't say enough about our stay. This B&B truly felt like our home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackodoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Recently, my husband and I enjoyed a morning at the Channel Bass Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Great food, clean, comfortable and hospitable. With the other guests being from various areas the conversation was informative and fun. Barbara and Dave go the extra mile to make each guest feel at home. The homemade breads and special touches make it a unique and delicious breakfast. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Chincocruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The chanell bass inn exceeded all our expectations!! Barbara and David are consummate professionals, we are still talking about the wonderful breakfasts and the afternoon tea is absolutely the best we have had. Can you imagine sitting for two hours at breakfast because the food and company is so good? Well, plan on That when you visit the inn. We will definitely return, we felt like family there.

Room Tip: The ground floor suite is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

First visit to Chicoteague, first B&B stay, first class everything at the Channel Bass Inn! The personal service from David and Barbara began the moment we pulled up to the curb. David cut off the lawnmower (was working in the manicured gardens on the property), came over and introduced himself, grabbed our bag and proceeded to show us directly to our room. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Barbara then came in to greet us and immediately asked about our dinner plans (it was late afternoon) and made a reservation for us at Etta's. Etta's was fine but I much preferred the breakfast meals and Tea Time at the Channel Bass Inn. The food was delicious and the portions were extremely generous =). The location was ideal too. Easy to get to and right off Main Street in the historic area; close to shops, restaurants and the waterfront park (Robert Reed Park). On our second day, we took a pontoon boat tour of the island arranged, of course, by Barbara. In addition to the great room, food, location etc. we just really enjoyed the company of Dave and Barbara and the other guests we met. They are so warm and friendly and made us feel like part of the family. We look forward to future trips back to Chincoteague with our entire family and will definitely call on Dave and Barbara at the Channel Bass Inn!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms and it was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
810 reviews
1.3 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing