We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG - Barbara & David!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“OMG - Barbara & David!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were stay at another Inn on the island but extended our stay one night so we could watch the rocket launch at Wallops Island NASA Visitors Center. Our original Inn was booked so we called Channel Bass Inn and we got a one night weekend reservation. Now we have been to LOTS of B&Bs and Inns and they don't usually do one nighters - but these hosts were Very accomodating. David even told us when we checked out of our first Inn to call and see if we could check in early which we did and they made sure our room was ready. VERY NICE! The location is right in the town - walking distance from shop and restaurants. Many thanks to the loving and kind, Barbara and David!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
177
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent a week at the channel bass inn, sadly we didn't meet Barbara but David was a wonderful host ensuring our stay was comfortable and fun throughout the week. He booked boat trips and restaurants for us. We had such a relaxing time and loved the fact that we shared our breakfast with other folk staying at the inn each morning and not separated out onto individual tables. The room was lovely nice and cool in the warm weather. We used bikes one day beach equipment coolers with ice blocks provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Channel Bass Inn is quiet with great amenities. The room was well appointed. The breakfast was delicious. We loved that we could borrow bikes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels and small coolers. It made our traveling very easy. They were very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBandDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our third stay at Chincoteague, and by far the most relaxing and enjoyable. David and Barbara were extremely hospitable and accomodating to our every need, and to that of our 10 year old Westie. Our stay was four nights in the Topcliffe room, which had the most comfortable bed of any previously visited Inn. The ambiance, furnishings, and garden was exquisite and appointments were in excellent taste. These add value and charm to a visit that cannot be duplicated at 5-star chain resort (we've stayed at more than a few). The breakfasts and teas were to die for and exceeded our expectations. When we relayed our early Sunday departure (avoid traffic at the Bay Bridge) Barbara and David packed a delicious salmon and bagels breakfast to go...and threw in some yummy scones and muffins as gratis. Many hotels/Inns boast of their accomodations, and some do deliver, however, the Channel Bass Inn is the only one we have experienced in 30 years that actually exceeds over and above expectations and advertisement. We are planning our next stay as I write. So thanks again, and Godspeed to Barbara and David.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilsons797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a lovely old Inn, well renovated and comfortable in a good location. The Innkeepers are devoted to keeping their customers happy, and they certainly achieve their goal. I would challenge anyone to find a better breakfast in any B&B and they even offer afternoon tea, British style for those who wish to indulge themselves. You must give this one a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arrived in pouring rain with loads of gear and dog. Barbara and David were never phased, anticipating every need with grace and style. Fabulous breakfasts were different every day and set us up just right to enjoy the wildlife refuge. Loved the bikes, binoculars, and beach chairs. Put away a little food every night in the refrigerator for picnics the next day. All recommendations but one (Bill's restaurant) were winners. Lovely gardens for reading in the afternoon; convenient location (though not directly on the water). Comfortable bed and spacious room was just as advertised. Stayed over an extra day and were treated to the innkeeper's suite on the ground floor - perfect for bringing my 80 year old mom back for a visit.

Room Tip: Corner room upstairs on back side of house allows you to sleep with windows open for a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just returned from a lovely and relaxing weekend away at Channel Bass Inn. The innkeepers were hospitable, friendly, and very accommodating. They welcomed us warmly and continually checked to see if there was anything we needed - to include finding a board game to play at 9 pm. We had the Topcliffe room which was spacious and comfortable. There wasn't a television in the room, but I saw that as a good thing. The food was delicious, plentiful, and obviously made by someone who loves to cook (I will never look at store bought scones the same way again - Barbara's were phenomenal)! The location was perfect with lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. We took bikes provided by the Inn for the majority of the day and found lots to explore on the island. Overall, we had a great experience and would love to return some day!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sides are quieter than those facing the street as there's some amount of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aadams20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Property: Channel Bass Inn
Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing