We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled back in time to Chincoteague”
Review of Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Our visit to Chincoteague was like traveling back to the 1970's - everything was quaint and fun, from the old-fashioned firmane's carnival to homemade icecream to the the cozy cottage. Holiday Cottages provides a warm and friendly welcome. Everything in the cottage is there for preparing simple meals. We made tacos one night and grilled hotdogs the next night. The furnishings are old but very comfortable and most importantly, everything was clean, clean, clean, from top to bottom. The sheets on the bed were soft, and did I mention everything was perfectly clean? I came armed for bear against the mosquitos but didn't experience any except on the walk to the lighthouse at 8 a.m., where I was out-numbered by about 100,000. We waited outside the icecream place at 9 p.m. for quite a while and no mosquitos, played bingo under the tent at the carnival - no mosquitos, went to the beach - no mosquitos. We had a lot of fun and would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flowergirl573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

We were not impressed with these accommodations. For $120 a night for a 1BR we have done much better. The staff was kind and the pool looked large and clean. Otherwise, the carpet was gross (leave your shoes on gross) and it smelled musty and maybe a little smoky even though it was a non-smoking property. It was sufficient for our stay, we just did not feel like going back at the end of the day to relax (or sleep) because it kind of had a dirty feel to it, even though there was no surface dirt. One huge thing I would have appreciated knowing, is that the town cemetery is practically ON the property. The apartment we stayed in had a view of graves, from all windows, which was just creepy. After reading the other reviews I was looking forward to our visit and was disappointed…I really wanted to like this place! There are not a ton of other or nicer (by the looks) places to stay on the island, but we would opt for a bed and breakfast for a similar rate the next time or even camp. Maybe the 2BRs here are nicer…I may suggest this for a family because I am not sure how many other of the island’s accommodations offer separate bedrooms. If they accepted pets, we may CONSIDER returning simply because pet friendly accomodations are hard to find. We did not see the ducks the other reviewers refer to...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

These cottages were very clean, the pool was beautiful. The Owner was extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying here with a family. All we had to take were paper towels. Linens, towels, dishes, cooking items, etc were all provided onsite.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolaunt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Friends and I stayed two nights at Holiday Cottages in Chincoteague and it was just what we wanted. The owner was so nice and welcoming. The two bedroom cottage was centrally located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. But, what I couldn't get over was the cleanliness! It was truly spotless. And - the value couldn't have been better. $60./night for 4 people? How could you do better - on an island no less!!!! I would go back in a flash. Highly recommended. And - one night - we went to Gary Howard's on Deep Hole Road and ordered some take out and it was really delicious. The fried oysters were the best I have had since Calabash or New Orleans! Don't miss these treats for a friendly, simple get-a-way with family or friends.
o. brown
washington, dc

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank greenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

Stayed here over Labor Day with our two kids (2 and 4). Wanted a place with seperate bedrooms and a small kitchen. Our arrival was delayed a day due to hurricane Ernesto. The Owners were very nice and did not hold us to the 3 day minimum for a holiday weekend. When we pulled in I was a little disappointed in the place. It wasn't the quaint type of place I expected. The cottages are 40-50 years old, painted "sea foam green" and devoid of any landscaping. The playground was small and had numerous old and/or broken toys lying about. The cabins are very clean, but dated. Ours had new carpeting and fairly decent furniture. The master bed was only a double and not very comfortable.

But the place kind of grew on me over the weekend. My kids liked feeding the ducks that wander by frequently, swimming in the pool and playing on the boat that was converted to a sandbox. It was nice to be able to walk to the Island Creamery and come back to your own cottage instead of a motel room. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with kids, you could do a lot worse than Holiday Cottages.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank USMC-0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oakland, MD
19
Reviewed 14 February 2006

The Holiday Cottages are a wonderful place for families to stay! The owners are very friendly and such nice hosts. The cottages are on a quite street but not far from anything. Very family friendly with a pool and playground. The cottages are not fancy but are neat, very clean and equipt with anything you will need for a wonderful stay on Chincoteague Island. We have already reserved our cottage for this year!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2005

We loved Holiday Cottages!! The owners were so nice and friendly and we felt like we've known them all our lives. The Cottage was beautiful and was very clean! The pool was sparkling and very inviting. Ducks and Ducklings waddled through our yard every day. We will definitely make this our place to stay every year on the island. Thanks, Bob and Jerry, we will see you next year!
Carla Loebsack

10  Thank jmacsgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Cottages

Address: 6113 Taylor St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2626
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly rennovated cottages are a great place to stay for a nice getaway with family and friends. In each of our beautifully decorated cottages, we have high-speed internet, one or two bedrooms with bath, kitchen & dining area, and a living room with flat screen televisions. Along with renting a cottage, you will have free parking next to your cottage, access to the pool (with fenced security), access to our fully stocked linen room (open 24 hours), access to our new playground equipment, and access to a personal grill & your own picnic table. Also, our island is neighboring the beautiful Assateague Island National Seashore & Wildlife Refuge and within walking distance to watch the famous sunsets, to go shopping downtown, dining, or take a trolley ride. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Cottages Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing