We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget motel!”
Review of Sea Hawk Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Hawk Motel
suffolk, va
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best budget motel!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Very comfortable, clean and with that old fifties motel feeling which we loved. You can park right at your door. It is convenient to the refuge and restaurants, and has a pleasant outdoor area with picnic tables and playground. Wifi worked best near room #5. The excellent price allowed us more spending money for the decoy and craft show going on the weekend we were there :-). We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This motel is no frills but we were out and about all day so it was perfect and exactly what we were looking for. The rooms and bathroom were clean. Beds weren't real comfortable but for the price it was worth it. Clean is always top on my list and it was. We prepaid for 5 nights and had to leave 2 days early and there was no issue with the owners crediting those 2 nights. This was off season so I don't know what would happpen during peak season. Also, we got caught in traffic on the way there and weren't going to get in until 10 ish according to the GPS and I called the motel and the owner was very kind and even though they were going to be closed she gave me a room number and left the door for that room unlocked which we were very thankful for. Thanks for a great stay Sea Hawk! It was our first time in Chincoteaque and we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Have been to Chncoteague many times, but this was our first stay at the Sea Hawk, and we will stay there again next time.

Had to cut the trip short due to good old Hurricane Irene, but our short stay here was very enjoyable. Our room was nice and clean, no problems at all. It's a family motel, nice and quiet. Pool was clean, our granddaughter loved the playground at the motel as much as she loved the beach...maybe more.

Only problem with this place is it is right across the street from Island Creamery, which makes it way too easy to cross the road to get an ice cream cone every evening, so your stay at the Sea Hawk may ruin your diet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GoSteelersPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Seahawk Motel is THE BEST!! When we were planning our trip to Chincoteague Island we were unsure about where we were going to stay. We did our research and came upon the Seahawk Motel and when we called them, they were so helpful and friendly on the phone. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners, who are so pleasent and helpful. They gave us some wonderful recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We were surprised at how clean everything was. One cool thing that happened while we were there was, when we would go into a shop or store they would ask where we were staying. Every time we said that we were staying at The Seahawk, the response would always be positive or they would tell us how great The Seahawk was. The Seahawk Motel has a great reputation around island. We liked The Seahawk and Chincoteague so much that we stayed an extra day. We absolutely would recommend The Seahawk Motel and we will going back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Sea Hawk has a beautiful pool, very large and clean rooms, and is walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. It is across the street from the Island Creamery and right on the road to Assateague Island. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a motel in Chincoteague.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were looking for economical lodging for our three-day Chincoteague vacation, and Sea Hawk was the right price. We were pleasantly surprised by the amenities; fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker in room. We appreciated the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KpalimeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family & I stayed in Apartment #5 for 3 nights. The place is clean and quiet. The pool was clean as well. The pool is located right along the main road that leads to Assateague Island - not very private.

The kitchen area was adequately stocked. If you needed an extra potato peeler, you could walk up to the Dollar Store and get one. Very convenient. The refrigerator was fabulous - big & roomy. The stove is electric with 4 burners & an oven.

The T.V. is located in the living room area and connected to cable.
The air conditioner was located in the bedroom and the door to the bedroom has to remain open in order for the air conditioning to circulate. If you have bedroom privacy needs, this apartment may be a little tricky but only if you have someone sleeping on the sofa bed in the living room. If they don't mind not having air conditioning while you close the bedroom door, you will be quite comfortable.

I would recommend this place to friends and family. Very convenient to shops and Assateague Island. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky_Pultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#17 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Hawk Motel

Property: Sea Hawk Motel
Address: 6250 Maddox Blvd., P.O. Box 618, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2613
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sea Hawk Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing