We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Reviewed 16 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rajip0001, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The good parts outweigh the bad. The hotel is located near the causeway to Assateague Island, where the ponies actually are, as well as the wildlife refuge and beach. You can walk, rent bikes from several local vendors, or drive. We split between walking and driving.

The first big thing for us was the friendliness of the night desk clerk. We arrived later than planned and, as it turned out, just in time as they were about to close the island to traffic due to a rocket launch on Wallops Island. The desk clerk explained what was going on, and then invited us to join her and a friend to walk with them to a viewing point to watch the launch! We took them up on it and were so glad we did.

Our room was clean and neat, but it was obviously an older hotel (formerly The Blue Heron Inn). The refrigerator and microwave were a plus. The continental breakfast was very nice too, with cereal and waffles as well as other foods. There was coffee available around the clock as well. We also noticed there were neighborhood cats that hung around, and since my husband and I are cat lovers, we really enjoyed seeing them cared for.

The bad part: apparently there was a sewage problem the weekend we stayed. We noticed a faint smell in our room that just didn't quit, we ended up getting an air freshener spray. The next morning after our arrival my husband noticed that the line was dug up near the hotel and there was a strong smell. No work was done while we were there (Friday through Monday) and we didn't think to ask what was going on, we were only in our room for short periods of time anyhow.

Overall, I think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Given the price, I didn't have high expectations. The price really is unbeatable in the off-season. Be prepared for a possibly musty smelling room with mildew on the bathroom ceiling. This is not a place for anyone with allergies! Stayed two nights--the dirty towels were removed from the bathroom but beds were unmade and no fresh towels were left....made me question the overall cleanliness of the place. (Owner apologized that the housekeeper missed some rooms that day)

The location is ideal for people wanting quick access to the Refuge and the beach. I think this motel would be a great place to stay if a little extra time was put into cleaning and sprucing things up. There were no mirrors in the room and walls showed evidence that things had been taken down.

Again, given the price, I have no complaints about the breakfast. There were eggs, sausage and potatoes as well as waffles (very fresh because you made them yourself!). There was cereal, bagels, bread and pastries. Some had clearly been frozen but I wouldn't expect fresh baked pastries for this price! It would be nice to have yogurt, though.

I hope that some time will be put into thoroughly cleaning and doing some basic sprucing up of the rooms. If that is done, this will be a very acceptable motel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajip0001, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

sorry for the inconvenient bur the hotel is getting renovated

Thank You
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here since the heat was broken in my family's vacation home. It was a last-minute booking, so it was about $75. On a positive note, the location is great near Assateague and restaurants. However, the hotel rooms are not great. The floor was damp. The room was dark. The AC unit sounded like a jet taking off. It definitely didn't have a clean feeling to it. They do provide breakfast, but it's not a very good one. Cereal was the best option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamourgrl722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajip0001, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

we are apologizing for your inconvenient problem with ac unit we wish you would of told us because either we would changed your room ride away or we would of changed the ac unite but there was nothing we could of done for the rooms size our rooms are all the same size .
we are renovating the property please give us another chance.

Thank You
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Room was clean but really small. There were 2 very comfortable double beds but I have no idea how 4 people would fit in the room. They offer breakfast but the doughnuts, biscuits,and cold cereal were stale. Did not risk trying anything else. This room was $125 per night and frankly that's overpriced. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: If you're looking to visit the park and beach then this location is right but not close to shopp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajip0001, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

we do apologize for the inconvent we will try our 100% best for the next time stay .

Thank You
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
810 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Address: 7020 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £45 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing