We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Clear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
“Stay Clear”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Do yourself a favor stay clear of this hotel. So many things it's hard to list. Came back in at 10 PM to find no clean linens and maid service had not shown up. Room is so small you can barely turn around. so many problems we left and stayed at the Seashell Motel, so much better. Check my MasterCard they charge me twice for my room rental.in the process of trying to clear that up. There nice and friendly and it stops there.

Room Tip: These folks don't care about their customers believe me I'll never stay at a days in again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
we are so sorry for the inconvenience. we do apologize that you didnt receive any housekeeping service in your room. All of our rooms are the same size, the one you were in has 2 double beds so it makes it seem smaller.

We're sorry we couldn't resolve the issues that you had. If you would be willing to give us another chance, we will see to it that all of your needs will be accommodated.

Thank you,
Jess (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    119
    121
    51
    77
See reviews for
236
143
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was recently purchased by Days Inn. It used to be a private hotel, I think it was called The Blue Heron. Bedding and towels were clean, staff was wonderful. Room was adequate but definitely needed to be upgraded. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer, and refrigerator. The refrigerator looked like it came from somewhere else; it was dirty on the side, but clean inside. The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work. Breakfast was good with hot and cold choices. Hotel room on Chincoteague Island in June for $103 was an amazing deal!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMcK_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We take pride in being clean and providing great service. we're sorry about the dated appliances and the bathroom fan that didnt work.

Thank you again for staying with us!!


Jess (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel newly "remodeled" because the pipes froze and broke over the winter. The breakfast area is extremely small. You walk through the tables to get to the front desk. The breakfast is just standard and small selection. Owners are never available to speak with, managers were nice but not extremely helpful. Make sure if you need to CANCEL a reservation that 72hrs means before 4pm. I would not recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
we are very sorry that you were inconvenienced. we have a breakfast nook which is located in the lobby, and the tables are located there but not in the way of the front desk. we also apologize that you felt that the breakfast had a small selection. we try to provide a nice hot continental breakfast.

Im sorry you felt that the managers weren't very helpful. we try our best to be friendly, professional, and helpful in all situations. We apologize if your issues were not resolved.

If you would give us another try, we will make sure that you are taken care of and that everything will be to your liking.

Thank You,
Jess (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROMNEY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We checked in on Tuesday, and our room was not cleaned until Thursday afternoon after getting upset. We had told the front desk on Wednesday it wasn't done and had to ask for clean towels. When the front desk finally requested the maid clean our room, the maid asked me did I really want things done? Like really?
We were supposed to have the largest room (queen) but were given full beds. It was too tight for luggage. Even though this was remodeled (new paint, carpets), the smell from our air conditioner would knock you over every time you entered. There was no laundry facilities and no place to hang your beach towels to dry.
Breakfast provided is very meager. There was no dairy, same menu everyday, and no fresh fruit. We got apple juice, and it was clearly old.
On our last day, the maids and staff were having a large fight via phone with their boss during breakfast time in the lobby. They were extremely loud, and used vulgar language in front of my children.
Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CINDY69678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so sorry for the lack of service that you had during your stay. Cleanliness and friendliness are our top standards here at Days Inn on Chincoteague. we are very sorry about the room situation also. If you would be willing to give us another try, we would very gladly remedy the situation.

I'm sorry you thought the breakfast was so small and meager, but we work hard to give a very nice warm breakfast. we also apologize about not having fresh fruit, at the time our local grocery store/ produce market was currently closed. It is the only one on Chincoteague.

We also apologize for the profanity used in front of your children, all involved parties have been reprimanded and have been warned not to do so again. If you would would be willing to give us another try, we will see to it that you and your family will be accommodated to your liking.

Thank You,
Jess (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chincoteague Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Property: Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Address: 7020 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2102 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing