We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun crabbing on the docks at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey Shore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun crabbing on the docks at night”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We rented 2 cabins here for a long weekend. The cabins are dated and small but very clean and they worked just fine. The kids really enjoyed fishing and crabbing off the docks during the day and especially at night. We also rented a pontoon boat which was fun and worked out fine. The downside - no wifi and no pool or swimming area. It was a good experience but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakesmommy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    38
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
93
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I took a trip this past summer to the great island of Chincoteague. I took my kayak with me and didn't really know what to expect but heard great stories about the kayaking around the island. My girlfriend and I found a little waterfront cottage along the Assateague waterway called Snug Harbor. The accommodations were nice and the location was the best. We put our kayaks in the water just steps away from the waterfront room and explored the islands all weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakertif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This review is for the cottage: it was small, outdated and the beds were uncomfortable. Although the lady that runs it is friendly and accommodating it didn't make up for the run down rooms or lack of proper kitchen appliances (rusty silverware and no microwave). The location is perfect, there's a "fake beach" by the water and one grill for everyone to use (luckily we were the only ones to use it the night we grilled out or I would have been pretty upset with this) I would definitely recommend their boat rentals though, that seemed like it would have been fun. Overpriced shop ($10 for bug spray or sun lotion) so make sure you pack it and boy will you need it, the mosquitoes here are ridiculous! The extra person per room charge is steep also $12.50 per person not worth it. All in all I would say for the money its just OKAY

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashalee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I have been to Chincoteague several times and have seen birds and horses/ponies but have always been told there are dolphins. I never believed it but I do now! On our last day I saw at least seven and since we were out in the boat fishing they were very close. We stayed at Snug Harbor- our favorite place- and always fish right in front of the lighthouse. I wished I was in one of their kayaks. It is so relaxing to stay at Snug Harbor. The cottages are always clean with plenty of towels. It is so relaxing to know you are steps from the water and can use their grill to cook out after a day in the boat. If you like fishing, watching nature, reading in the sun, and being relaxed by the water- there is no better place. If you want "5" star service- stay away because we don't need your attitude- we want to enjoy our vacation with other people at the cottages that like to relax, unwind, and watch nature and the incoming tide take all your cares away. Beautiful place to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondBeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed in a 1BR cottage that was pretty comfortable. The whole shebang is a bit rustic: small shower, and the "large bed" described in their e-mail is just a full-size. Still, the kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and cooking accouterments, and the fridge did a great job keeping the beer cold.

Chincoteague is small enough that everything's a five-minute drive away, and I didn't get the impression that there was much walking to be done anywhere other than Main Street -- so, I didn't mind that we had to drive everywhere.

It didn't occur to me at the time, but reading other reviews, I second that this isn't the most kid-friendly place to stay: as another reviewer posted, there is no "private beach" -- but, none was pitched to us before our recent stay. There looked to be reasonable-enough skiffs to rent and slips for your own boat, but not any sort of space that would be appropriate for kids.

There was a large grill and a few tiki huts -- overall, my impression is that if you're bringing everything you need for vacation and just need the infrastructure/space to store/do it all, this is a nice place to stay. If you're looking to be pampered, though, with activities and distractions there on the site, you're probably better elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EEMIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Snug Harbor Marina & Resort is a hidden gem and my wife and I are so happy we found it. The cottages are in excellent shape and very well maintained. The location is excellent. The ponies on Assateague Island are directly across the bay. We enjoyed watching them roam and romp at sunset while relaxing at a tiki hut; and in the morning we saw them while doing some great crabbing right from the piers of the property. It was the best! What was most impressive is that the owners who actually manage the property where on site and were very accommodating and engaged with the guests in a gracious manner. We actually had coffee with them in the morning after crabbing. There is much to do here, for all ages; and if you are looking for an experience other than many typical hotels on Chincoteague, I highly recommend it. This was our first stay here and we are planning on a return visit in the very near future. It is well worth it and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rskjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Court House, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

John and his wife Basia Shields are very good people !!! This place is so beautiful and relaxing and close to everything !!! I loved and enjoyed my stay with my family . They bent over backwards for us and did everything in there power to help us !! I just want to say thank you again for everything you did for my mom and family !!! God Bless you and your family always !!! See you again soon !!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonya8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages

Property: Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Address: 7536 Eastside Rd, P.O. Box 498, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1701
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Marina is a very quint and unique island resort which offers waterfront accommodations ( waterfront cottages with kitchens)as well as motor boat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, stand up paddle boards and guided boat and kayak eco tours, Pony Tours, nature tours around the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina And Cottages Hotel Chincoteague Island
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel
Snug Harbor Marina Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing