We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway with your pet!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway with your pet!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I am glad Safe Harbor happened to be our only option to stay as this was our first vacation with our little cute dog 'Yogi'. It's located probably on the best spot on the Island for nature lovers. Mornings it is beautiful to sit on the Marina and watch people Kayak or fish when it's all still very foggy. Again, in the evenings the sunset reflection in the water, lighthouse view, are worth a stay. I would have loved staying here even if we didn't have a pet.

You can catch your own crabs quite easily near the marina and they have hose to clean, grill to use, and standing table to stand and enjoy your crabs. The Marina deck is huge with lot of sitting tables in shade you can see in my pictures. It's located very close to Main street so you can grab your meals and enjoy them on their deck watching sunrise or sunset.

Cons
Room gets very very sandy
Restroom seat could have been bigger :-)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are near the water as you don't have your room backing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitsVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    40
    15
    9
    17
See reviews for
97
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent 5 nights at Snug Harbor, in what was advertised as a "1 Bedroom cottage", but which was neither one bedroom nor a cottage. It was actually a tiny studio motel room that shared a wall with other rooms on both sides, with plywood paneled walls and a futon with a broken frame for my son to sleep on. You could hear people in the rooms next door, and the bathroom was so small that you couldn't really have two people in there at the same time. And, for this I paid the same rates I'd paid the year before for a whole week in a large, 2-bedroom house in another location. Not what I'd envisioned for my once-a-year family vacation.

But, once I kissed the money goodbye and resigned myself to the accommodations, I actually had a really nice time there. As other reviewers have mentioned, John, who runs the place, is really nice. I highly recommend renting one of his little motorized skiffs for fishing in the channel. The water is calm and you can go see the horses while catching all kinds of fish (we even caught a puffer fish). The dock there doesn't have a swimming area (you have to drive across to Assateague for that), but it's great for relaxing, fishing, crabbing. And, the view of the lighthouse and the channel is awesome. All in all, I'd give it a mixed review.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are the studio rooms I stayed in - all the rest are truly freestanding cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ehilgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Snug Harbor for 5 nights, August 19-24, 2013. We had 4 adults and two young children and stayed in cottage #10, which sleeps 6. It was SO adorable and very clean when we walked in! It had 2 bedrooms: one with 2 double beds, one with one double bed (this room had a flat-screen TV, lucky in-laws!). There was also a futon in the living-room area, a small kitchen area with another older TV on top the fridge, and a very small bathroom. This had a stand-up shower and the toilet sometimes took a few times to flush. Water would switch between hot and cold, but it is a cottage, so it was OK! The stove only had one burner that worked, but as soon as we told the owners, they were on it! The cooking utensils and pots & pans were VERY old and worn, and it was hard to find enough outlets for everything we needed, including the toaster =) We had our dog, which was a HUGE plus for us, as he is a part of the family and got to come along! We brought a bunch of food, so we did use the "community grill".. bring your own charcoal and lighter fluid, and there is NO microwave. They had a small bottle of shampoo/conditioner, but we brought our own toiletries as well as toilet paper, paper towel, and blow-dryer. The views are absolutely breath-taking and the kids loved the sand to play in while we all relaxed and watched the boats! Also, we did the kayak tour, which was our FAVORITE part of the trip! We saw dolphins, ponies, jellyfish, a bald eagle, and tons of birds and wildlife, it was amazing! The beach is close, we rented scooters for the day and had a blast! Lots of restaurants close to Snug Harbor as well. We would LOVE to go back someday!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was out first stay at Snug Harbor but it will not be our last. We spent two nights here to celebrate our being together for 30 years. The moment you check in you realize this is not your average place. Where you check in and arrange for the rentals the floor is covered in sand. We stayed in cabin #3 and it has a queen size bed and a full kitchen with a small bathroom with a shower stall. The place is very clean and the views of the channel and the island is fantastic from the property. About the only complaint from the wife was there were just blinds and no curtains on the windows.

John rents out boats and kayaks and arranges tours but the wife did not want to brave the kayaks which offer great chances of getting up close to the ponies. We did use Capt. John to take us on a boat tour using his pontoon boat and it was absolutely fantastic experience.

Sitting on his docks and enjoying the view ranks right up there as one of the best trips we have ever had. The atmosphere along with the caribbean music playing is such a great environment to chill out in. I can't wait to go back! We termed a new phrase for him instead of using VIP, we suggested RFF which stands for Returning Friendly Faces.

So as to not mislead people, if your are looking for lavish luxurious accommodations this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for clean comfortable loadings with spectacular views of the water, wildlife and island including the lighthouse and options for outdoor activities this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBX717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our first time at snug harbor was simply wonderful! If you love nature, and water activities, this is the place for you. Everything is here no need to leave. Kayak, fishing, boat rides, the wild ponies of chincoteague and even dolphin sightings!!! Incredible sunsets! I traveled with my daughter and husband. We stayed in cottage #6. Just perfect! The bed in the separate bedroom was really comfortable as was the futon in the living area. The cabins were rustic, really clean and fresh smelling. For me that's a must! Great seafood in the area restaurants! Etta's was our favorite which was in walking distance. The only thing i will do differently when we visit next year will be to cook in more to save money so we can stay longer!!! John and Basia make a terrific team running this hidden gem in Virginia! Friendly, warm, and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRLEspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have been coming here for several years and absolutely love it here. It is the best place you can imagine you can't go wrong here the people are wonderful and very hardworking. They try to make your trip as nice as possible and would recommend this place to anybody. It has boats kayaks canoes and pony tours. When you rent a boat they even throw in a fishing liscense for free! This is truly paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jman8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Snug Harbor Marina, in Chincoteague, Virginia, offers a small slice of the Caribbean without the need for a passport. Our 24-year-old daughter discovered Snug Harbor a few years ago and thought we’d like it. Since then, we’ve been three times. Nothing fancy here, but we love this place and highly recommend it to anyone that’s looking for a nice laid back getaway. Snug Harbor has very clean and cozy efficiency cabins/cottages located just steps from the gorgeous waters of the Assateague channel. Included at no extra charge are splendid views of the lighthouse and grazing wild ponies of Assateague Island just across the channel, as well as the ever present waterfowl. Rental kayaks for guided or solo exploration are available for a closer look, as are a variety of other watercraft. And, you can fish or crab right off the docks – no fishing license required. The beautiful beach, surf fishing, and wildlife of Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague are a short drive away. Chincoteague village itself offers plenty of interesting dining options -- or in our case, fresh local seafood to bring back and eat while enjoying the view from one of Snug Harbor’s thatched-roof picnic tables. Oh the oysters! Bottom line–great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank_and_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
761 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages

Property: Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Address: 7536 Eastside Rd, P.O. Box 498, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1701
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Marina is a very quint and unique island resort which offers waterfront accommodations ( waterfront cottages with kitchens)as well as motor boat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, stand up paddle boards and guided boat and kayak eco tours, Pony Tours, nature tours around the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina And Cottages Hotel Chincoteague Island
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel
Snug Harbor Marina Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing