We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

First let's address the room and property. The room which was described as one bedroom was actually an efficiency which was certainly misleading. The bathroom was small with a cheap prefabricated shower. The stove was old and had seen better days. For more than $200/night I would have expected a microwave and more updated kitchen. The property was very dark at night with insufficient safely lighting. Now let's visit the boat rentals. The boat rentals were a nightmare and not only because of the over pricing and limited area if use. One windy day a man rented a boat and the canopy was pulled off which of course is an act of god and known risk of that trade yet the owner berated and insulted him yelling "if you were a gentleman you offer to pay" it was disgraceful and embarrassing because it was a form of public humiliation in front of his children. If they charged me less than $100/night I still wouldn't go back. I felt taken but in good company because when we asked around the owner frequently tries to keep the deposits on the boat rentals. Just stay away. There are a number of better deals on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Baldwintampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptJohnchincoteague, Manager at Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Snug Harbor is one of the longest running hotels in Chincoteague and 99% of our customers are fantastic and we consider them family but there are a few bad apples out there.Thank you so much for leaving feedback so we have the chance to shed some light on this review. Balwintampa booked a one room cottage with us for 2 people during the month of July but the only problem with that is that she was sneaking guests in all week long. The customer never told the front desk staff about the additional people and stated that they only had two when the hotel staff reported other guests in the hotel. This guest seemed to not respect hotel policy or the property at all, she also had a very bad habit of running the ac with all the windows open and the front door wide open. The hotel staff tried to educate her that the 15,000 btu air conditioner wasn't quite strong enough to cool the whole Chincoteague island but she didn't understand that. So you might ask what does Snug Harbor do when they have guests like this, well it is very simple we don't have them back and they are banned from Snug Harbor forever. If you are really interested in this story you can read more on our web page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I would not tell anyone to stay there; it is over priced. The owner John is rudd to his clients. I spent a lot of mony at this place for the 2014 pony swim and was told that I can't take a boat out past the front of the marina after paying 400.00 for it was charged an extra 50$ to rent the boat for the swim back. In closing do not spend your money at this place. You can find better priced places then this one

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coolsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptJohnchincoteague, Manager at Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Snug Harbor is one of the longest running hotels on Chincoteague island and 99% of our customers are fantastic and we consider them family but there are a few bad apples out there.Thank you so much for the review, this gives us the chance to shed some light on Coolsteven. Coolsteven booked a one bedroom cottage with us for 2 people and booked it one year in advance and previewed the cottage when he booked and knew all the other boat prices a year before his vacation so complaining about pricing makes no sense, Coolsteven. We had multiple problems with Coolsteven during his stay. First he was sneaking other guests into the hotel and claiming to the front desk staff that he only had 2 people, it's not good to lie to us....not cool, Coolsteven. He also rented a boat from us and when the staff asked him if he was experienced he claimed to be a big time outlaw duck hunter and has been running boats his whole life, so we thought he was good to go. Our mistake, Coolsteven took our boat up through the marshlands through grass and mud and we had to send a rescue boat out to get him....not cool, Coolsteven. You might ask what happens when a customer lies to us and doesn't respect the property and doesn't know have to behave....very simple. They are banned from Snug Harbor forever. If you want to learn more about the adventures of Coolsteven please visit our webpage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A little rustic, but clean and cozy. Great views on the ponies. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice place to relax and enjoy nature. Even our dog felt at home there. Would definitely recommend (and have) to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldyngt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We rented a cottage for an overnight getaway and it was our own little piece of heaven. The cottage was cozy..immaculate..and had everything we needed. It overlooked the harbor and it was just lovely. Our hostess Basia was simply wonderful. If you want a relaxed peaceful place to go this would be the place. Cottages are nestled on the harborfront..wonderful view of the lighthouse..boats readily available to rent..there is nothing more you need .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found Snug Harbor Marina while searching the web the morning we left for Chincoteague. We had no idea what we were in for, besides the photos on their website, so we were a little nervous since we have never been to Chincoteague before. I owners John and Bosha knew we would be there until late that night, so Bosha siad she would leave the key in the door. My husband and I was were surprised about that. When we reached our destination it was about 10:30pm and yes the key was in the door! We walked in the cottage, there was a candle burning on the table and it felt so welcoming! (amazing what a candle can do!) We walked down to the dock, which was about 30 feet from our cottage and we sat and just looked at the sky. The stars were brilliant, no light pollution. The lighthouse was off to the left of the Marina. It was a beautiful night. It was peaceful. The water was calm and the jellyfish were glowing in the water. We couldn't wait for daylight so we could see our surroundings. Morning I went out about 6:30am with my camera to the dock and to my surprise the ponies were right across the water!! It was an amazing sight. My husband and I can't wait to go back with our adult children! John and Bosha were so very personable!

Room Tip: They have different size cottages, so what ever needs you have they can accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Jamie_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved staying here! The cabin & grounds are very clean & well-cared for. We also liked that you could rent a boat, fish, sunbathe, picnic, take a pontoon ride, or kayak right there! Also within walking distance to park or trolley stop. Jump in the car & the beach is minutes away. Bring your bikes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This review is for the marina's rental services, not the cottage lodging. Snug Harbor Marina is on the Assateague side of Chincoteague Island (on the channel that separates the two islands and is just down the road from Assateauge Explorers and Etta's Channelside Restaurant. It rents out kayaks (single or double), canoes, and powerboats.

Kayaks are available for half-day or full-day rentals, but each half day is a set time -- meaning you can rent one for the morning (until noon) or the afternoon, but if you want one for a few hours in the middle of the day, you'll have to pay the full-day rate (which is just $10 more than the 1/2 rate). Also, rentals as slightly cheaper if you pay in cash, vs. credit card.

The marina offers kayak tours, but it's not difficult to find the ponies without joining a tour -- they seem to gather near the lighthouse north of the marina or at a beach south of the marina. Of course, they might also be inland and not clearly visible from the water at any location. The marina can point you in the right direction to either location and give advice on whether the ponies have been spotted.

In general, the marina staff was friendly and easy-going. The kayaks were in okay shape (but seemed unusually narrow / small). The rentals aren't cheap, but that's to be expected on a vacation island (rate were comparable to other rental places).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,005 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages

Address: 7536 Eastside Rd, P.O. Box 498, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1701
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £155 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Marina is a very quint and unique island resort which offers waterfront accommodations ( waterfront cottages with kitchens)as well as motor boat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, stand up paddle boards and guided boat and kayak eco tours, Pony Tours, nature tours around the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina And Cottages Hotel Chincoteague Island
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel
Snug Harbor Marina Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing