We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations again!”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed here twice last month and they have improved the cottages from last year. Freshly painted, new carpets, pictures, and the small touches that make you feel at home. Everything is always so clean and they ask you several times during the week if you need anything- fresh towels, vacuum sand etc. It is not unusual to see other guests around the tiki huts enjoying drinks and fellowship while watching the sun go down over assateague island. They have a grill you can use and we had dinner on the dock area. With a full kitchen in the cabin it really saves on eating out . Having fresh fish caught that day; grilled and enjoyed is a perfect way to end the day. My boyfriend loves to flounder fish and he caught several each day that were keepers. Everyday the ponies were out in the morning and there were people in kayaks from Snug Harbor that got incredibly close to them. We even saw them swimming one morning. I even went kayaking once and enjoyed it so much. Going back for Labor Day and can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondBeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    35
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
92
70
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Rented boats and fishing poles from Snug Harbor Marina. Customer service was horrible, and there are much cheaper options on the island. Everything was an extra charge. Watch out!!! Did not stay at the hotel, so no opinion on that.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sjrembish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My family and I had a wonderful time in Chincoteague and the Snug Harbor Marina. We spent the days at the beach, the NASA Wallop center, and hiking around the Assateague Park. Snug Harbor is just close enough to the action to keep the drive under ten minutes, but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing.
Although the cottages are right out of the 1950’s, we found them clean, comfortable, and perfectly suited for a family vacation. Snug Harbor is right on the bay, which made the atmosphere perfect for relaxing with the kids after a busy day. Our children had a great time crabbing a few steps from the door of our cottage; they even caught a few that we cooked for dinner one night.
The staff was friendly and welcoming, but not intrusive. I certainly recommend the Snug Harbor Marina to families that do not need a posh room and can enjoy the peace and quiet of the harbor. Our next trip to the Chincoteague island will include the Snug Harbor Marina.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_joe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2010

When we first arrived I was overwhelmed with the beautiful, scenic views surrounding Snug Harbor...the ocean, lighthouse, wild ponies across the water and palm trees all over the property. What a nice begining of our little gateaway! In addition, from the first moments when we were checking in the staff of Snug Harbor was extremely welcoming and hospitable. They made us feel like a part of their family or VIP customers :) Our cottage was very lovely, clean and cute. And the bed... it was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. I wanted to take one home with me:) We really didn't feel like going back to PA. I wish we had booked at least a full week...We wanted to extend our vacation, but unfortunatelly they were already fully booked. No wonder... Overall, a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2010

My wife and I took our daughter to see the wild ponies of Chincoteague for her 8th birthday in the fall of 2009. We looked on-line at several places in the area and thought Snug Harbor seemed nice. When we got there it was even better than expectations. The rooms were clean, simple, and a nice size. The people that ran it were very nice and friendly. The view was awesome and an extra plus, we could bring our dog. My family had such a good time we went back again in October of 2009, and took my parents that time. In fact, we booked our trip for May of 2010 just the other day. I think if my daughter had it her way we would buy one of the cottages at Snug Harbor. I told her we can't really do that, they should be shared with other families that want to go to Chincoteague. Although she was not happy to hear we would not be purchasing a cottage she was thrilled to hear we could go back every year and stay at Snug Harbor. We love it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReverendBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We were drawn in by the whole tiki bar on the beach thing,though it was a quiet and comfortable little place it was not quite what we expected.The sand has been hauled in,there is a dock but you really don't want to swim on this side,and the sand does not reach the water,The tiki bar has only beer and is closed at night.You can rent pontoon boats from here and if you have a crab trap you can put it out from the dock.Rooms were quiet,cozy and comfortable but nothing fancy,lots of pillows.If you are looking for action this is not it,but I would return for the peace,nice place to snuggle up with someone for a day or 2.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyhawk856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed there in May 2009 and we were so pleased with the accommodation and location of Snug Harbor that we decided to go back there again 3 weeks later. The stuff was very friendly and they made us to feel at home, very different that regular hotel where you are just a room number. At Sung Harbor they treat you like a family member. In addition the price was very reasonable. One of my best vacation experiences, it far exceeded my expectations. Location was perfect, the view was outstanding, people very friendly. We were totally content with this hotel and that's why we just made our booking for next season.
By the way the off season rates are great!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracebruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages

Property: Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages
Address: 7536 Eastside Rd, P.O. Box 498, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1701
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Marina is a very quint and unique island resort which offers waterfront accommodations ( waterfront cottages with kitchens)as well as motor boat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, stand up paddle boards and guided boat and kayak eco tours, Pony Tours, nature tours around the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Snug Harbor Marina and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina And Cottages Hotel Chincoteague Island
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel
Snug Harbor Marina Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing