We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with a beautiful view”

Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This B&B is in a beautiful location overlooking the water and marsh with Assateague Island in the distance. It's also in a very quiet area away from traffic and crowds. An outstanding place for kayaking, very calm waters, and also for easy hiking on Assateague.

The Inn is very nice, small, quiet, and clean. The staff were all friendly, and Kitty cooks a great breakfast. There was a small pool and a hot tub and even a dock where you can sit and enjoy the view or even catch some crabs.

The village of Chincoteague is charming. Not too big, but still plenty of shops, restaurants, museums, boat tours, mini golf etc.

We stayed in the 'Captain's Quarters' at the Inn. It is the highest, on the third floor, and has the best view, and a little deck to enjoy it from. Oh, it also has a very nice feature, a private tower with two chairs, table and binoculars to fully appreciate the awesome view. The room was nicely decorated although a little small. Probably not suited to anyone who is very tall as the ceiling is sloped and very low in areas.

My only complaint was that the fireplace in our room was turned off for the season. We stayed in mid September and as luck would have it, it was quite cool and very rainy and windy while we were there. The fireplace would have been a very cozy and inviting touch. I would suggest that it be advertised as "seasonal only" so customers will not be disappointed in future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeepgoingVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We just came back from a long weekend in Chincoteage at Cedar Gables, and it wasn't long enough. This is a terrific B&B, with much more to offer than just a place to rest your head. We enjoy spending our days at the beach and in the wildlife refuge, and by the time we make it back to the Inn, a cool swim in the pool and then a relaxing lounge in the outdoor hot tub makes for a refreshing end to the day. Claudia is a gracious host and the staff is terrific. The breakfasts were inventive and delicious and we received some excellent advice on local dining opportunities and other activities on the island. We stayed in the Oriental suite which was large and luxurious, with a whirlpool tub and a balcony deck looking out on the marsh. We had some beautiful views of the sunrise and moonlight over the inlet from that deck. The Inn is located on a quiet residential street abutting the marsh and inlets, which we much prefer to the noise and activity of the main commercial roads. The island is small so there's very little travel time involved to get anywhere. All in all, this is one of our very favorite places and we can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Entre-nous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early August at the Inn. We have stayed at several dozen Inns and B&B's and Cedar Gables is certainly in the top group! The inn is well run, the breakfast is great, the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters and the view was great! The private deck was very nice and we spent hours enjoying the view in the bay. This inn is very professionally run and is in a spectacular location. There is easy access to the beach on Assateague island. There are good restaurants on the island within easy driving or bicycling range.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdunek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Great place, we only vacation at B&B's and this place ranks in our top 10. Select the waterfront rooms, the view is fantastic. The breakfast was super, actually served as lunch as well. Wish we could have stayed a week instead on only 2 nights. Birding at Assateague Island National Wildlife Refuge was great too.

Room Tip: Oriental Suite, Captains Quarters fantastic views
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

One of the main reasons I had picked Cedar Gables was the fact that it advertised an outdoor hot tub. My shoulder was giving me problems and I was looking forward to soaking in the tub under the stars. But when we arrived Claudia said something about not being able to get the right mix of chemicals in it so we couldn't use it. My feeling is for the price that is charged, all the advertised amenities should be available for use. That being said, everything else was fine. This B&B clearly has the best location in town and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAM_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This was definitely a good experience. Just not an awesome one. If anything, it may just be that we aren't b&b "people." I'm tempted to give it four stars, because this is all really just about our personal preference. But three stars just feels more right.

The room was very nice, comfortable, etc. We had one of the smaller rooms, that didn't have the premier view, but it was still nice, had its own side entrance which was a plus, and a tiny deck shared with another room that we'd have used if it wasn't so cold. It is right on the water (not the ocean, but the interesting waterway area with lots of little docks and boats.)

The breakfasts were very good, and another poster is right that it seems to be omelets every morning. That apple and cream cheese omelet - OHMIGOSH WOW.

What we weren't as keen on, and why I say maybe we're just not "b&b people," is that when in the common areas downstairs, we were very much aware that we were in someone's home, and for us that wasn't as relaxing. For example, other than at breakfast time, we learned that you can't go into the big nice screened porch area, because that's their living space. While we don't begrudge the owners their space, it was strange to be cut off from the nicest part of the downstairs, where we'd have liked to sit and really enjoy the view, and read or do a crossword.

Also, I had some work that needed to be done that weekend, so we spent a decent amount of time downstairs (no desk or table to sit at in the room, so I worked at the dining room table). It was FREEZING down there, but we were (gently) chided for turning up the heat, as it made their living area in the back too warm.

There was nothing unpleasant about being there, and I can totally understand why this place has a lot of high ratings. (Even the heat thing was probably just a minor misunderstanding.) It just felt like being at an aunt's or grandmother's home, which is in some ways very relaxing, and in other ways not, because you're a guest in someone else's space when you really just want to be in your own space. But I suppose the charm of b&bs is the homey feel. I'm glad we tried it, but I think our tastes are just different.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vf-mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The other reviews I read were right on; it is well worth staying here if you want a very nice, relaxing setting. The breakfasts are delicious. The pool was available all day and most of the evening, but you have to know to ask as soon as you arrive about pool usage. (I learned this from another review.) Still think back on our stay, and would like to return one day. If you get to Chincoteague during the Fireman's Carnival, and you would like a little taste of Americana, and GREAT oyster fritters (to name only one yummy item), all for a very reasonble price, don't miss this event.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PitonPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Seaside Inn

Address: 6095 Hopkins Ln, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2723
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £97 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Gables Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, Secluded, Romantic, Waterfront. Cedar Gables offers two all season deluxe rooms and two all season deluxe waterfront Vacation/Honeymoon suites, 3 with Jacuzzi's, full size fireplaces, and many upscale amenities. Enjoy a fully screened enclosed pool and hot tub or our full size dock overlooking Little Oyster Bay and Assateague Island. Perfect for summer and winter get-a-ways, corporate incentives, reunions, or bridal showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing