We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful, wonderfully clean, well appointed.”

Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The other reviews I read were right on; it is well worth staying here if you want a very nice, relaxing setting. The breakfasts are delicious. The pool was available all day and most of the evening, but you have to know to ask as soon as you arrive about pool usage. (I learned this from another review.) Still think back on our stay, and would like to return one day. If you get to Chincoteague during the Fireman's Carnival, and you would like a little taste of Americana, and GREAT oyster fritters (to name only one yummy item), all for a very reasonble price, don't miss this event.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PitonPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

I brought my husband here for his 50th birthday. We stayed in the Captains Quarters. It is very tastefully decorated. Wonderful view from our private deck. They provided robes which we wore down to the very large hot tub. The fireplace was nice for the chilly evenings. There is a small refrigerator with some complimentary sodas and water. The bed is comfortable. The TV could be a little bigger. Would also be nice if they had an assortment of games or cards to use. Poor movie selection. Suggest bringing your own.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkxray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The perfect B&B experience. Our room was beautiful with a million dollar view. We were served an outstanding breakfast each morning with fresh, straight from the garden, or water (crab), ingredients. Thanks Kittly and Claudia for making our 30th anniversary so special!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjreed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The delicious and very generous-size portions for breakfast were outstanding. Staff-kitty, claudia, maryann, and all others were very accomodating. Made the stay at this great bed and breakfast just phenomenal. Many thanks

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsesandponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I just got back from Chincoteague Island for our honeymoon ("minimoon" actually; 3 days) and we could not have picked a better spot. The time of year was beautiful and Cedar Gables set the standard for me for any B&B I go to from now on. The breakfast was wonderful, although there wasn't a single day that I was able to finish it because it was so much (delicious!) food. Staff was friendly and other guests too, but there wasn't pressure to sit and socialize with others for hours. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, and we had the greatest view of the water and Assateague Island. I would do this again in a heartbeat, maybe even for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sberninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. The inn was great--clean, private, and comfortable. The private deck was phenomenal with the best views on the island. Breakfasts were very tasty, but after being served omelettes every single morning for 3 days in the row, we came to realize that's all that's ever served for breakfast. So, if you love omelettes, you've come to the right place. The crabmeat omelette is especially to be recommended, but being served the same breakfast every morning is quite unusual for a bed and breakfast, and the owners should try to vary it up a bit more. Also, it appears that certain things, such as the pool or the dock, are available to guests, but one has to ask to use them, rather than them being openly accessible. The pool was covered the entire time we were there in the middle of summer--we didn't care since we went to the beach every day--but upon checkout we did inquire and were told that it was open. So ask, if you'd like to use it. Hosts were very friendly, and the dinner recommendations that were made to us were quite phenomenal--we've rarely if ever had such fresh and tasty crabs and oysters. Definitely a couple's type of place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

The Cedar Gables is a beautiful B&B in a picture-perfect location on the island. Waking up every morning with a waterfront view is an intangible but irreplaceable part of a stay at this Chincoteague establishment. The breakfasts were great, served on their screened-in waterfront deck, and the rooms are exceedingly well-kept and spacious. We would've used the private deck for our room if not for the swarms of August mosquitoes outside! The location is also convenient for everything on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTPGoHoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,005 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
804 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Seaside Inn

Address: 6095 Hopkins Ln, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2723
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Gables Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, Secluded, Romantic, Waterfront. Cedar Gables offers two all season deluxe rooms and two all season deluxe waterfront Vacation/Honeymoon suites, 3 with Jacuzzi's, full size fireplaces, and many upscale amenities. Enjoy a fully screened enclosed pool and hot tub or our full size dock overlooking Little Oyster Bay and Assateague Island. Perfect for summer and winter get-a-ways, corporate incentives, reunions, or bridal showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing