We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like staying with family, which is a plus and a minus” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Gables Seaside Inn

Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just like staying with family, which is a plus and a minus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

This was definitely a good experience. Just not an awesome one. If anything, it may just be that we aren't b&b "people." I'm tempted to give it four stars, because this is all really just about our personal preference. But three stars just feels more right.

The room was very nice, comfortable, etc. We had one of the smaller rooms, that didn't have the premier view, but it was still nice, had its own side entrance which was a plus, and a tiny deck shared with another room that we'd have used if it wasn't so cold. It is right on the water (not the ocean, but the interesting waterway area with lots of little docks and boats.)

The breakfasts were very good, and another poster is right that it seems to be omelets every morning. That apple and cream cheese omelet - OHMIGOSH WOW.

What we weren't as keen on, and why I say maybe we're just not "b&b people," is that when in the common areas downstairs, we were very much aware that we were in someone's home, and for us that wasn't as relaxing. For example, other than at breakfast time, we learned that you can't go into the big nice screened porch area, because that's their living space. While we don't begrudge the owners their space, it was strange to be cut off from the nicest part of the downstairs, where we'd have liked to sit and really enjoy the view, and read or do a crossword.

Also, I had some work that needed to be done that weekend, so we spent a decent amount of time downstairs (no desk or table to sit at in the room, so I worked at the dining room table). It was FREEZING down there, but we were (gently) chided for turning up the heat, as it made their living area in the back too warm.

There was nothing unpleasant about being there, and I can totally understand why this place has a lot of high ratings. (Even the heat thing was probably just a minor misunderstanding.) It just felt like being at an aunt's or grandmother's home, which is in some ways very relaxing, and in other ways not, because you're a guest in someone else's space when you really just want to be in your own space. But I suppose the charm of b&bs is the homey feel. I'm glad we tried it, but I think our tastes are just different.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vf-mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    15
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

The other reviews I read were right on; it is well worth staying here if you want a very nice, relaxing setting. The breakfasts are delicious. The pool was available all day and most of the evening, but you have to know to ask as soon as you arrive about pool usage. (I learned this from another review.) Still think back on our stay, and would like to return one day. If you get to Chincoteague during the Fireman's Carnival, and you would like a little taste of Americana, and GREAT oyster fritters (to name only one yummy item), all for a very reasonble price, don't miss this event.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitonPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

I brought my husband here for his 50th birthday. We stayed in the Captains Quarters. It is very tastefully decorated. Wonderful view from our private deck. They provided robes which we wore down to the very large hot tub. The fireplace was nice for the chilly evenings. There is a small refrigerator with some complimentary sodas and water. The bed is comfortable. The TV could be a little bigger. Would also be nice if they had an assortment of games or cards to use. Poor movie selection. Suggest bringing your own.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkxray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

The perfect B&B experience. Our room was beautiful with a million dollar view. We were served an outstanding breakfast each morning with fresh, straight from the garden, or water (crab), ingredients. Thanks Kittly and Claudia for making our 30th anniversary so special!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjreed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

The delicious and very generous-size portions for breakfast were outstanding. Staff-kitty, claudia, maryann, and all others were very accomodating. Made the stay at this great bed and breakfast just phenomenal. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsesandponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I just got back from Chincoteague Island for our honeymoon ("minimoon" actually; 3 days) and we could not have picked a better spot. The time of year was beautiful and Cedar Gables set the standard for me for any B&B I go to from now on. The breakfast was wonderful, although there wasn't a single day that I was able to finish it because it was so much (delicious!) food. Staff was friendly and other guests too, but there wasn't pressure to sit and socialize with others for hours. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, and we had the greatest view of the water and Assateague Island. I would do this again in a heartbeat, maybe even for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sberninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. The inn was great--clean, private, and comfortable. The private deck was phenomenal with the best views on the island. Breakfasts were very tasty, but after being served omelettes every single morning for 3 days in the row, we came to realize that's all that's ever served for breakfast. So, if you love omelettes, you've come to the right place. The crabmeat omelette is especially to be recommended, but being served the same breakfast every morning is quite unusual for a bed and breakfast, and the owners should try to vary it up a bit more. Also, it appears that certain things, such as the pool or the dock, are available to guests, but one has to ask to use them, rather than them being openly accessible. The pool was covered the entire time we were there in the middle of summer--we didn't care since we went to the beach every day--but upon checkout we did inquire and were told that it was open. So ask, if you'd like to use it. Hosts were very friendly, and the dinner recommendations that were made to us were quite phenomenal--we've rarely if ever had such fresh and tasty crabs and oysters. Definitely a couple's type of place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.9 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Seaside Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Seaside Inn
Address: 6095 Hopkins Ln, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2723
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Gables Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, Secluded, Romantic, Waterfront. Cedar Gables offers two all season deluxe rooms and two all season deluxe waterfront Vacation/Honeymoon suites, 3 with Jacuzzi's, full size fireplaces, and many upscale amenities. Enjoy a fully screened enclosed pool and hot tub or our full size dock overlooking Little Oyster Bay and Assateague Island. Perfect for summer and winter get-a-ways, corporate incentives, reunions, or bridal showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing