We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel for the price - friendly staff”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good motel for the price - friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We were traveling with 3 kids -- not always easy to get one room that will accommodate everyone, but this room with 2 doubles and a roll away (or, in our case, an air mattress) worked well. Refrigerator and microwave in room, 2 ponies in the back, nice outdoor pool, and good breakfast for a continental breakfast. Overall, a very good value for the money compared to other hotels. And the staff was very friendly.

It is right on the street that takes you down to Assateague Island, so it is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    114
    48
    33
    25
See reviews for
110
103
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here during 2010 Pony Swim week. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. In my opinion this is typical beach town non-resort (ie. budget friendly) lodging. Cleanliness and convenience, free breakfast with many choices, pool and on-site ponies that my niece loved to visit each day. I would like to check out some of the other lodging on the island to experience a new place on my next visit, but I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I had very modest expectations given the reviews here, but I was very pleasantly suprised by the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality and value. We were happy to find a room in our budget for pony penning week (with availability 2 months before the event)- didn't realize until we got here that there are 2 ponies on the premises. My daughter loved getting to hang out with the ponies!! We were in the smoking building, even though we don't smoke because that was the only room available. We could not really tell- there was no discernable odor of smoke. Even though the hotel allows dogs, we found the rooms/carpet to be clean. The included continental breakfast was adequate for us although the seating area is a bit too small. The staff was very helpful in providing us with maps, information about pony week and recommendations on places to go/eat. Free in-room wireless internet service was easy to access and a nice plus to be able to look up info on Trip Advisor while we were there:)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvilleheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I got here after a long drive from NE PA. It was an okay motel with a bit of a washed out beach feel to it with a door that was hard to open, a tiny bathroom, a heater that smoked when my toddler turned it on by mistake, and I could not figure out how to access the "free" wireless because what I saw wanted fees (boingo, etc). Beds were okay and we liked the small pool by the road. My daughters liked seeing the ponies in the back. The staff here are really nice. Breakfast ended at 9am but they let it go longer to accommodate everyone. The best part of here is the beach is a short drive down the road and there are nice ice cream shops and scooter rental shops near by.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jfuriosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My family (including my parenst and my 5 year old niece) stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2010. Hotel was cleaner and nicer than we expected.



Exterior: 2 story building. Well kept.



Breakfast (Free): Better than expected. Description stated it was a continental breakfast so we didn't expect much but we were pleasantly surprised. They had waffle maker to make fresh waffle, typical bakery items, boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, fruits, and etc.



Parking: During the day, it seemed like there are ample parking spots but when we came back from OC around midnight, there was no spot left. Lickily, front desk staff was able to find us a parking.



Pool (outdoor): small but good enough. don't think people come here to use the pool. there's a beach just a couple of miles down the road!



Beach: About 3-4 miles from the hotel. 1 day parking $8, Weekly parking pass $15. Even though there were lots of people (it was Saturday), we didn't feel crowded. Sands were clean, people were spreadout enough, no commercial stuff....perfect place to just enjoy the nature. It was one of the nicest beach we've ever been to.



Room: One of the rooms we had had some umpleasant odors but I guess that's kinda expected since the hotel being in the beach town and all.



Misc.: They had a picnic area with bbq. We used it for one lunch. Chairs/Tables were located under the covered area so we didn't have to stay under the July sun the entire time. Picnic area was very clean and well kept.



Overall: When you travel to small towns, you can't expect 4-5 star accomodations so once you get that out of your system, you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

If you travel on a budget as we do, you'll be satisfied here. The staff was extremely nice and helpful on every occasion. I didn't know what to expect based on the previous reviews on this site, but was pleasantly surprised! I believe that the hotel has been updated recently, because everything was just fine for us. They have two ponies in back of the hotel, which made my children sooooo happy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Me and my husband came down to Chincoteague on one of the May's weekends, and we totally loved it. The hotel was very nice and clean, our room was clean and fresh. During our stay the house keepers made sure we are feeling very comfortable and provided us with clean towels and sheets every day. The general manager Harry and the front desk clerks were very nice and helpful, they helped out in each and every question we had. We will definately recommend this hotel to our friends and family. Our stay was wonderful, we are definately gonna come back again. Thank You.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allensmith32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
All of our guests are very special to us! AND, It is so nice when we hear that we have succeeded in making our you comfortable! Thank you again....hope to see you soon!
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#19 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#18 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2618 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn, a hotel in Chincoteague VA near Assateague Island National SeashoreIdeally located in the center of town, the Rodeway Inn(R) hotel offers easy access to many exciting things to do and see. This Chincoteague, VA hotel is close to the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, the Assateague Lighthouse and the NASA Visitor Center, Wallops Flight Facility. Assateague Island National Seashore is an amazing destination, offering pristine beaches and plenty of activities like swimming, surfing, shell collecting, biking, hiking, fishing and much more. During your visit, keep your eyes peeled for some of the island's beautiful wild horses. You won't know what to do first in this charming, seaside town: rent a bicycle, scooter or boat, or take a stroll through town and enjoy the many specialty shops, art galleries and restaurants. The local seasonal Island Trolley offers transportation around the area and is easily accessible from the hotel. This Chincoteague, VA hotel offers fabulous amenities and features, including: •Free continental breakfast with hot items & free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Seasonal outdoor pool After a busy day of work or play, enjoy our picnic area with barbecue grills. Business travelers to this Virginia hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking rooms are offered. Be sure to ask about our cozy, cedar-lined cabin rooms. Ample parking and laundry facilities are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Virginia Eastern shore, the Rodeway Inn hotel in Chincoteague offers you everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Chincoteague Island
Quality Inn Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing