We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset plus great island info!”

Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Barry'sBack Bay Cruise is an INTERACTIVE skill building experience. We are a floating classroom, a research vessel with HANDS-ON FEET-WET lessons. One of the many things we do is get off the boat on the sandbars to go DIG IN THE MUD FOR CLAMS. Maybe we can catch some to eat. Then it's back on the boat to cruise to a crabbing spot where you will Pull CRAB-POTS on board to identify and see the days catch. If you have the courage I will teach you how to HOLD A CRAB without getting pinched. Navigating our way to Shell Island Beach, we stop and get off the boat for some SHELL COLLECTING than back on the boat for Capt. Barry's favorite activity... hunting for jellyfish. we will then HAUL in the trawler net and will see that it is full of Marine life and sea creatures.... this is always a challenge! Time to slow the boat down to enter the shallow waters.... how many birds can you identify? we use all of our senses-SOUND,TOUCH,TASTE and SMELL- to make our cruises informative and fun. They are is never any pressure always lots of fun.. you can relax, sit back on the boat and be the official photographer, or you can get into it. This is the real deal to get your hands dirty and feet wet so you will experience the life of a Chincoteague Waterman.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
“Beautiful sunset plus great island info!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Captain Barry's Back Bay Sunset Cruise is fantastic. We had perfect weather and the timing of the cruise for the gorgeous sunset was right on target. Captain Barry is awesome. As we got a water view of the island and back bays, he shared all sorts of details about the history and culture of Chincoteague, and he had cold bottles of champagne that he poured generously!! Plus he is super nice and very funny. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
“Champagne Cruise”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked Captain Barry's cruise for a pre-wedding girls sunset cruise. We had such a great time and Captain Barry was terrific! It was a beautiful way to see the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exciting, educational, colorful... ADVENTURE!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Captain Barry is a true Chincoteague character, but he's not just all show - Captain Barry knows his stuff about the marsh and waters, and the creatures that call it home. My husband and I have lived on Chincoteague Island for a bit over a year, and when family who were up for an adventure came to visit this summer (late July) we took them on this tour. Who else will play the Indiana Jones theme as you venture into the marsh guts?? All the adults, and the one young teenager, all had a good time. We saw jellyfish, all sorts of birds, fish, etc. I think if we had wanted to go see ponies he would've taken us there, but we were happy to explore the back bays.

In addition to being a good tour guide, Captain Barry is obviously well liked by the local community - kids came out at their docks to yell to him, and he responded by blowing through a conch shell. This is a community-oriented all-around good guy.

FYI - this time of year (October) brings some of the most colorful, beautiful sights in the marsh. Captain Barry's tour would be at least as good now as in the summer!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank krismsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great fun with kids”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

captain barry loves teaching the kids about the salt water wetlands in a hands on, interactive way. my kids are 5 and 8 and had such a great time learning about snails, muscles, oysters, and everything else which lives in the wetlands. I would highly recommend this - take two hours out of your beach and it will be time well spent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank susannah365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excitement never ends!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Captain Barry is one of the best! We did his trip several years ago and it was as exciting and fun as we remembered it. Two boys couldn't have had a better time (Mom and Dad too.) It was fun, adventurous, and educational all in one terrific package. Thank you Captain Barry and our stuffed clams and crabs were great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing