We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hands-On Tour”

Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Barry'sBack Bay Cruise is an INTERACTIVE skill building experience. We are a floating classroom, a research vessel with HANDS-ON FEET-WET lessons. One of the many things we do is get off the boat on the sandbars to go DIG IN THE MUD FOR CLAMS. Maybe we can catch some to eat. Then it's back on the boat to cruise to a crabbing spot where you will Pull CRAB-POTS on board to identify and see the days catch. If you have the courage I will teach you how to HOLD A CRAB without getting pinched. Navigating our way to Shell Island Beach, we stop and get off the boat for some SHELL COLLECTING than back on the boat for Capt. Barry's favorite activity... hunting for jellyfish. we will then HAUL in the trawler net and will see that it is full of Marine life and sea creatures.... this is always a challenge! Time to slow the boat down to enter the shallow waters.... how many birds can you identify? we use all of our senses-SOUND,TOUCH,TASTE and SMELL- to make our cruises informative and fun. They are is never any pressure always lots of fun.. you can relax, sit back on the boat and be the official photographer, or you can get into it. This is the real deal to get your hands dirty and feet wet so you will experience the life of a Chincoteague Waterman.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hands-On Tour”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

One of the best tours I have ever taken. Captain Barry not only does a informative cruise around the waters of Chincoteague, he makes the cruise hands on. We got off the boat to catch crabs, get closer to birds, collect shells, shuck and eat oysters, and catch fish. Captain Barry was very energetic; plus, he knew about everything we asked about, from the birds to the houses on the island. I would recommend Captain Barry's to any tourist.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WildCat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect day with captain Barry”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Wonderful boat tours for all ages. Our two children, 4 and 8, had a fantastic time on the tour. Finding and touching fish, snails, shells, jelly fish and more. Capt Barry is friendly, entertaining and made the trip so memorable for our children. Great soundtrack too! Highly recommend. Will book again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MunsonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I took my parents, both in their 60's, and my three children, all 4 years and under on Capt Barry's Cruise and EVERYONE enjoyed it! Capt Barry did a fabulous job of catering to all levels. He explained things so that my kiddos could understand but didn't dumb it down either. He has a wealth of knowledge and was very good at sharing it. It was definitely worth the money. My 4 and 2 year old daughters surprised me when they got right in there catching small fish with their bare hands, touching crabs and even tasting the salt on the marsh grass! We all loved it and the kids have been talking about it ever since!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mocheddda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Captain Barry has his own soundtrack for the adventure!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

You'll have to go on the trip to find out more about the music.

We (75, 43, 11, 8, 6) had a blast with captain Barry on a 3:30 tour! We asked him all sorts of ecology and chincoteague in general questions and never stumped him. He was non-stop energy. We saw and touched horseshoe crabs, moon jellies, laughing gulls, a bald eagles, fiddler grabs, snails, a mana ray, blue crabs, etc...

You've got to go!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thefoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An awesome experience for both young and old!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife, granddaughter, and I went on an early morning wildlife cruise with Capt. Barry and were so happy we chose him. His knowledge of the wildlife that lives in and near the water adjacent to Chincoteague was is quite impressive. The on and off boat experience was so interesting. We got off the boat on a sand bar where he showed us the types of life that live in the sand and what they feed upon. Next, we stopped to gather oysters on the edge of a grassy island, then on to pull in a trap that captured a number of blue crabs. We also stopped on a shell island to collect shells and to look in on a seagull nest. Capt. Barry made the trip interesting and very educational for everyone. Of all the island cruises we think Captain Barry has to be the best for a great family experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadrup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Captain Barry's BackBay Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing