We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican”

Right Up Your Alley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Unique boardwalk Setting carved out between two Historical buildings that connects the town parking and Main Street on Chincoteague is not where you would expect to find .... Authentic Mexican Street Food. We Use Certified Angus Beef in our Carne Asada. Our Chile Verde marinated Pork is slow smoked with applewood and the Pollo (chicken) is perfectly seasoned with traditional spices. We proudly serve our Authentic Baja Style Fish Tacos with Mahi Mahi. Tacos, Burritos, Churros and our Special Chimi-Cheesecake.... It's a lot coming out of our small Trailer
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a new "restaurant" in Chincoteague, but its in a food truck!
Its located on Main St between 2 building at the end of an alley. Hence the cute name. This is very informal place. They have tables that are attached to the brick walls with half umbrellas hanging over them and benches. Its newly opened so the decoration is a work in progress. (just a suggestion, little christmas type lights would be an adorable addition) Now the important part, the FOOD.

Right up your Alley, is basic mexican food. Taco's,burritos, quesadilla's and carne asada fries. You can choose chicken, beef, pork or carne asada for your main meal. The menu isn't long and elaborate but it doesn't need to be, its good food. Really good.
Good size portions. Juicy, flavorful. Everything you want except refried beans and rice. Maybe they will add that down the line.
Definitely will go back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTraveledtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing our alley and food. Yes, everything is a work in progress as we just opened on July 4th. Lighting is in the plans as well as.......



Geno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    47
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Quaint setting...tasty food. Had a ground beef taco, mahi mahi taco and steak burrito. Plan on a short wait or call ahead. Definately will go back. Good little "boardwalk stand"

Helpful?
1 Thank kimmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for coming up our boardwalk and reviewing us.

Regards,

Geno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Freshly cooked, great quality Mexican lunch especially the carne fries and fried fish tacos. Good spot for a family lunch after a boat trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank nikkihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your time reviewing us. A nice little sail and then tacos with the family, sounds like your enjoying your vacation with us. Please enjoy our island hospitality.

V/R,

Geno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The Mahi tacos are to die for. The carne asada fries are good for sharing. Can feed the family for about $20 and its delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank 520cindyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review. Our fish tacos are very popular as most of our customers have never had Authentic Cabo Pescados before. We're happy to serve em up!

Geno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First of all...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

How cool is the alley? The umbrellas are awesome with the benches. I hate to see people complain about 'no seating' it is a takeout joint and a lot of the other eateries in chincoteague have minimal seating. It's part of what makes the island so cool. Just ate here august 8th. It was good! The menu is nothing fancy just your usual tacos, burritos and quesadillas. This little truck really adds something new to the island and is worth it if you're looking for a good lunch or even a snack! Salsa was good! The only thing I wasn't huge on was the guacamole - it was very fresh, but I personally just think there was too much lime. We will definitely be back next year. We're wishing this little business luck :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank FairReviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geno_RUYA, Owner at Right Up Your Alley, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for posting a review, we are changing our Guacamole Recipe in response to your and others reviews. The hard part is to keep ourselves on recipe and stop going Rogue!

Geno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Right Up Your Alley also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Right Up Your Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing