We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not that great, but the price was right” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not that great, but the price was right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

We stayed here as a convenient stop along I-81 for a single overnight. The room was very cramped and the bed uncomfortable for someone who prefers a softer mattress. The trash can in the room had not been emptied. A closet positioned under the television was a hazard for bumping the head when trying to use it because of a low shelf above the hanger rod. Good hot water in the shower. No hair dryer in the bathroom, but a loaner was available from the front desk. Overall, about what you'd expect for $45.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GK1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    271
    183
    64
    33
See reviews for
404
113
75
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2006

I wasn't sure where to stay until I read the review of this hotel on tripadvisor. I am glad that I listened. It was as clean as all of the previous reviews had stated. It was expensive, I thought, for the type of room we had and for the few amenities that are given (there isn't a pool, hot tub, etc) but you do receive free local and long distance calls as well as wireless internet access and there is no charge for parking. The front desk was courteous and the breakfast was limited but well presented. I would stay here again as the most important amenity to me is cleanliness and this definitely fit the bill!

  • Liked — The location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank impromptutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2006

When I travel to Blacksburg all I need is a clean room at a good price and this is what Microtel offers. Nothing fancy, and the room is small but the price is good. The place was clean and the staff was much nicer and helpful than most inexpensice hotels. The breakfast was a little more than doughnuts and juice, but not much more.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The small breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want an inexpensive, clean, nice, and no frills hotel then this is it.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WxProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

The front desk service was terrible, going as far as to give us attitude, mock a customer, and I even overheard one the of the front desk staff disparage a customer over the phone. We received no help from the staff when we tried to alert them of a delay. As for the hotel room itself, it was clean and orderly, but provided no soap or shampoo and at 8:00 in the morning, we were bothered by a loud vacuum going up and down our hall.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport news, va
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2006

Hotel is up on a hill, away from the traffic.
Check in was quick. Hotel super clean.
Room was set up with two queen beds with a desk and a place to sit by the window. Very clean and well maintained. Shower had good water pressure.
When booking the room it said it had a coffee maker. ours didn't and the lady at the front desk said it was an extra $5 for a coffeemaker. Huh? you charge for a coffeemaker. new one to me.
Continental breakfast was coffee, juice, bagels etc.
Paid only $54.05 a night but during the week it is $45.
Good value.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindabail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#11 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Address: 135 Ponderosa Dr, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Microtel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing