We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Value & Location”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My family and I have utilized this facility numerous times over the past 2 years. It's in a great location off I-81; very convenient to Va Tech and Radford campuses. The complimentary breakfast is always good, and there are a number of restaurants close by for lunch or dinners. Whenever we've had an issue with our room it has always been addressed quickly by the staff. I find them all to be very helpful and personable. The rooms are a good size for the price. Just remember that availability (and price!) will be influenced by campus events, so keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    62
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
90
40
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I reserved a two night stay for my wife, who was traveling alone, in hopes that it would be a good place. Unfortunately, poor service and an average room ruined the experience.

1. My wife arrived to an empty front desk with a sign that read "Will return in 15 minutes."
2. When checking in the clerk said her room number aloud when there were 5 men standing around.
3. The room itself was ok. Not horrible but not worth the cost.
4. Toilet was clogged upon entry. She called the desk and 2 hours later still no help. Upon returning to the room she found a plunger outside of her door.
5. When I called to voice my concern clerk told me to call back tomorrow.
6. HQ made manager call my wife (Holiday Inn Policy that manager speak with dissatified customer.) Manager said "It's a Holiday Inn Express, what did you expect." ; "The only problem that he saw was problem #2." ; "On Holiday Inn's scale that service doesn't warrant a free night."

We checked into the Hilton Garden Inn in Blacksburg and the problem was solved. Don't waste your time here unless you don't care about good service. If the manager feels that way I can only imagine what the employees feel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlphaTiger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan HIEX J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for this feedback. Reading this review could only mean one thing, we needed change. Guest of the past and future. Satisfied and unsatisfied guest will be happy to know that we have made those positive changes. A new more genuine management team is in place to implement a Holiday Inn Express service culture. Safety and security are on the top of our list. As of April 2012 the hotel went under full renovation. New beds, TV's, sheets and pillows, furniture and decor. Our improvements will be an ongoing every day experience.

"What did you expect, it's a Holiday Inn Express!" will still be the (new) managers response, but the original guest statement will be, “I had a wonderful stay!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This fairly new Holiday Inn Express is just off of the Christiansburg exit of I-81 right on Roanoke Street. It is far enough off of 81 that there is no traffic noise in the rooms. The rooms are very well appointed and furnishings are new. The king room originally assigned to us was missing the remote control for the TV so the front desk upgraded us to a king suite at no extra charge after a short wait. My only complaint about that is that the hotel was not crowded that night and the room we were initially assigned had just been cleaned by housekeeping-- an attentive housekeeper let us know that the remote was missing and suggested we call the front desk before moving in. The front desk clerk should have been more efficient and assigned us a fully equipped room at the start. However, the matter was resolved very quickly. The new room was very spacious and provided us with a dining table and chairs which was very handy for our eat-in dinner from a Chinese take-out. The room also had a refrigerator, microwave and a large flat screen TV plus cable with HD on almost every channel-- that was an upgrade from analog reception normally provided at the other motels we stayed in during this trip. It was very nice for watching the World Series game. The hotel was at least a mile from the nearest restaurant and other shopping locations. Not inconvenient but there was nothing close-- if you had the urge to shop, it was a 5 to 10 minute drive. Blacksburg and Viginia Tech were about a 15 minute drive from the hotel. The breakfast provided was a cut above most other chain motels with a large variety and ample replenishment. The downside of this motel was the overall location of the property on which it sits. It is basically a small lot and there are no views of anything from the windows except some nearby homes. However, it was quiet and in nice condition which made up for that small deficiency. The fitness center could have used some additional equipment as well-- just three machines with no weights or resistance training equipment-- just aerobic exercise machines. The motel did have a nice indoor pool. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book a king suite, it would be worth a little extra cost. Also, a room not far from the elevator is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldeBlueHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I've been staying here 5 nights a week for several weeks now, and I love it. The breakfast is always wonderful, My room is always nice and the service from check in-to check out is simply amazing. Being right off of I-81 is so very nice!

Thanks for making being away from home so often much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of a traveling trip and again the last night of that same trip. The location is just off I-81 and very convenient for an overnight stay. Everything was fine. Our room with a king-size bed was not as large as some other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed at, but adequate for our needs. The bathroom had a granite counter top with lots of room for toiletries. The hotel was clean, and the staff was pleasant and helpful with restaurant recommendations. But most restaurants are in downtown Christiansburg, about 10 minutes from the hotel.

The hotel has a side entrance very close to the elevator, which is very convenient. The room key is required to open this door from the outside, making security of this entrance good. A business center with one computer is located near the lobby, but this was in use when we wanted to use it, so we used our laptop with the wireless Internet connection in our room. The room connection worked fine.

Our breakfast was O.K. and met our needs. It included two hot items, pre-made cheese omelets and sausage, plus the pancake maker mentioned by previous Trip Advisor writers. And of course the sticky buns found at all Holiday Inn Express hotels.

This hotel fully met our needs and we definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We've stayed at this hotel before without problems so maybe we just hit them on a bad day.

First, let me say that all the staff were very nice and helpful. So there was no issue with them. The condition of the room was the problem we had. We noticed the microwave was unplugged and when we plugged it in we discovered why. We were heating a cup of water and it worked fine - once. Then it started beeping out of the blue and had unintelligible codes appear on the display. We went ahead and unplugged it like the guests before it must have done.

We then noticed that the sink in the bathroom would only turn off completely when you turned the single lever to a certain position. That was true the night we checked in. By the morning, it didn't matter which direction you turned it, a trickle of water continued.

We reported both issues when we checked out and they were very surprised to hear of the problems. We also noted that the molding around the tub was rather stained. They didn't really affect our stay there, but they seemed like they might have been symptomatic of a larger issue of lack of attention to detail.

One other good thing to end the review on...in the breakfast room they have a really neat automatic pancake maker that makes six really good pancakes.

Room Tip: Ask if they've fixed the problems in room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Easy to find off the interstate. Just down the street from a Cracker Barrel, which is one of our favorite places to eat when on a road trip. The front desk was very cordial, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathtub was very slippery. There was no mat to place in the tub. I mentioned this to the front desk clerk upon checkout and she said she would pass this on to the manager however they were totally remodeling this motel in the next few months and she felt that would be part of the remodeling process. Overall the one night stay was pleasant. Slept right thru the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
Address: 2725 Roanoke St, Intersection I-81 & Exit 118C, Christiansburg, VA 24073-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Christiansburg is nestled in the beautiful Virginia Mountains along Interstate 81. The hotel is located minutes from Virginia Tech and Radford University. Blacksburg, Roanoke and Salem are easily accessible from the hotel. Enjoy the Southern hospitality of the area without sacrificing business conveniences. We have a very friendly staff that will make your stay feel like you are right at home. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Christiansburg, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Christiansburg
Holiday Inn Christiansburg
Christiansburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing