We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Thanksgiving Get-Together 2011”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Thanksgiving Get-Together 2011”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our family has not been together for 9 years for Thanksgiving because of distance, work schedules, etc.. The Inn B & B was in the middle for family traveling north and south. We loved the history of the Inn, the convenience, just like home atmosphere, and the fantastic breakfast provided by Kathy. Kathy went above and beyond her duties. We had family photos taken on her property and she took the pictures for us. She did an amazing job!
Precious memories of our time together and photos to cherish for years. When traveling through Christiansburg I will always be staying at the Inn at Hans Meadow if she has a vacancy. No more hotel/motel rooms ever again. B & B will be part of my life from now on, especially this B & B. Thanks Kathy for everything. We all feel like we have gained another family member.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at the Inn while in Christiansberg for a business trip. Typically I would have stayed at a conventional business hotel. I'm so glad I didn't! My room was lovely complete with a microwave, mini fridge and a strong wifi signal.

The room, which was tastefully decorated with antiques, had a large spa bathroom with a jetted tub and separate shower. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and toiletries were of good quality.

Breakfast is included and it is delicious. Owner Kathy is hospitable and friendly without being overly intrusive. My stay was delightful overall.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed at this B & B while dropping off my college students at VA Tech and found it to be a wonderful alternative to the traditional lodging in the area. The room was clean, the bed very comfy and the breakfast was amazing in its freshness and variety. I will definitely stay at this inn on return trips to Christianburg/Blacksburg. I would suggest though that guests call the inn for exact directions as several of us had GPS devices that caused us to pass the inn the first time arriving.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaddsFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our stay at this B&B, especially considering the last minute nature of our plans was fine for what we intended---just a weekend get-away. The rooms were comfy and fairly clean (though there were cobwebs on the chandelier in ours). Donna is a good cook, so breakfast was delicious and generous. The welcome we have come to expect from many other B&B stays was lacking, there was limited inforamtion and assistance in finding walking/hiking destinations in the area, and very imited things to do in the immediate surroundings. But if you're just out to relax and have someone else fix your breakfast and make your bed, this is a good place and value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at The Inn at Hans Meadow for two nights while we attended the Virginia Tech Spring Football Game. All the quality Blacksburg hotels were booked and since it was my birthday we decided to make it extra special and stay in a B&B. I found this on the internet and read the reviews and was so pleased with our choice. From the moment we arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon being greeted by the chickens and a friendly cat we felt at home. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed exploring them, it is hard to believe such a peaceful setting off a major road, but there was no bothersome traffic noise inside.

We stayed in The Sherwood Suite which is the only room downstairs (caution - guests coming down to eat breakfast can be noisy!) Breakfast was served from 8:30-10:00 but some came early. The Sherwood Suite was well decorated, clean & had many P. Buckley Moss prints on the walls. We did get a chance to check out other rooms and they appeared to be nice as well. Each room had a separate bathroom and I think there were about 6 rooms in total. We enjoyed the in-room refrigerator with complimentary drinks and snacks were also provided.

We only ate breakfast there one morning as we had an early event to attend before the VT Spring Game. The breakfast was cooked to order and wonderfully prepared and they served plenty of food. We had a pleasant meal and really enjoyed conversing with all the other guests.

Kathy was a wonderful hostess and we enjoyed our stay and visiting with her. We will defintely come back. We recommend it to all Virginia Tech & Radford Families. It is very convenient and only about 10 minutes from Blacksburg.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vlohokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2009

The room was clean & decorated well. There was details thought of (like snacks, candles, bubble bath, etc). It was incredibly relaxing and even though the house sets off of a main road...we felt like we were so far away. it was perfect, just what we needed! Breakfast was made to order--whatever you wanted. Good food that was prepared well. The Inn at Hans Meadow is a great b & b getaway and we plan on going back again and again! My husband and i have gone there twice now as a get-a-way night and we would recommend it to all of our friends!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the inn for a night on a leisure trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline drive. Although we were just passing through and stayed only one night, this is one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed at. The rooms were large, very clean and nicely decorated.

The large gardens and the pond on the property are available for a peaceful walk or a shady spot to read a book or just relax. This would be a beautiful place for a celebration such as a wedding.

The cooked-to-order breakfast by our host Kathy was delicious and a great way to start the day. We will definitely be staying at the Inn when we are passing through again.

  • Liked — Very clean, quiet, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms.
  • Disliked — Would have been nice to have VCR/DVD player in the room, but there were lots of cable channels...
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank R_lot_teas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1800 Depot St NE, Christiansburg, VA 24073-3267
Region: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 163 year old mansion is one of the areas finest Bed and Breakfasts. Located in Christiansburg VA, the heart of the New River Valley, the inn is close to several area attractions such as the Blue Ridge Parkway, Blacksburg VA (home of Virginia Tech) and Radford VA (home of Radford University). The Inn is the perfect place for romantic weekends, corporate meetings, receptions and the wedding of your dreams. Corporate and extended stay rates available. Offering free high speed wireless internet service, flat screen LED televisions, deluxe breakfasts and afternoon goodies all help make The Inn at Hans Meadow the perfect place to stay while in Virginia! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing