We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Bed & Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Perfect Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at The Inn at Hans Meadow for two nights while we attended the Virginia Tech Spring Football Game. All the quality Blacksburg hotels were booked and since it was my birthday we decided to make it extra special and stay in a B&B. I found this on the internet and read the reviews and was so pleased with our choice. From the moment we arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon being greeted by the chickens and a friendly cat we felt at home. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed exploring them, it is hard to believe such a peaceful setting off a major road, but there was no bothersome traffic noise inside.

We stayed in The Sherwood Suite which is the only room downstairs (caution - guests coming down to eat breakfast can be noisy!) Breakfast was served from 8:30-10:00 but some came early. The Sherwood Suite was well decorated, clean & had many P. Buckley Moss prints on the walls. We did get a chance to check out other rooms and they appeared to be nice as well. Each room had a separate bathroom and I think there were about 6 rooms in total. We enjoyed the in-room refrigerator with complimentary drinks and snacks were also provided.

We only ate breakfast there one morning as we had an early event to attend before the VT Spring Game. The breakfast was cooked to order and wonderfully prepared and they served plenty of food. We had a pleasant meal and really enjoyed conversing with all the other guests.

Kathy was a wonderful hostess and we enjoyed our stay and visiting with her. We will defintely come back. We recommend it to all Virginia Tech & Radford Families. It is very convenient and only about 10 minutes from Blacksburg.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vlohokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2009

The room was clean & decorated well. There was details thought of (like snacks, candles, bubble bath, etc). It was incredibly relaxing and even though the house sets off of a main road...we felt like we were so far away. it was perfect, just what we needed! Breakfast was made to order--whatever you wanted. Good food that was prepared well. The Inn at Hans Meadow is a great b & b getaway and we plan on going back again and again! My husband and i have gone there twice now as a get-a-way night and we would recommend it to all of our friends!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the inn for a night on a leisure trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline drive. Although we were just passing through and stayed only one night, this is one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed at. The rooms were large, very clean and nicely decorated.

The large gardens and the pond on the property are available for a peaceful walk or a shady spot to read a book or just relax. This would be a beautiful place for a celebration such as a wedding.

The cooked-to-order breakfast by our host Kathy was delicious and a great way to start the day. We will definitely be staying at the Inn when we are passing through again.

  • Liked — Very clean, quiet, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms.
  • Disliked — Would have been nice to have VCR/DVD player in the room, but there were lots of cable channels...
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank R_lot_teas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg,Va.
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2008

For our honeymoon to kick off we needed a place to stay in town away from home before going off on our trip to make it special so my best friend Jessica and maid of honor booked our stay at The Inn at Hans Meadow in Christiansburg. We arrived late at night slipping in after our wedding and were very pleased to find lush accommodations in a Victorian style bedroom with rose petals and snacks and just a welcoming intimate setting. We had a wonderful evening and spent the morning in the Inn keepers company eating a tasty breakfast cooked to order with pleasant people. I recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for intimacy or just plain warmth and comfort.

Sammantha & David Perfater
Blacksburg, Va.

  • Liked — The Victorian style bedrooms and the garden mazes out back
  • Disliked — The location is in town but it is hidden with trees and other shrubbery so it's still lovely!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThePerfaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

My boyfriend and I were traveling through Christiansburg and reserved a room for the night at the Inn at Hans Meadow. When we arrived, the room we had reserved was not ready. To make up for it, owner Kathy gave us a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi tub. We were more than satisfied with this solution!

The rooms are well-kept. We stayed in the Mary Flagg suite, which is quite a large space decorated with dark wood antiques and jewel toned fabrics. Complimentary wireless internet, snacks and beverages in the room, in addition to hot tea, coffee and cocoa downstairs in the living room area made for a comfortable stay. Breakfast included fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, juice, coffee/tea and was cooked to order.

We found this hotel to be very comfortable and an exceptional value (even without our free upgrade, the prices were extremely reasonable for the quality of the rooms/service, and the inn also offered a gas discount, making rooms even more affordable). The lovely gardens surrounding the inn would also make this a great place for a special event like a wedding.

  • Liked — beautiful room, beautiful gardens, convenient location (just off highway, short drive to Blacksburg/Va. Tech), great value
  • Disliked — some confusion on checking in, which was soon resolved
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crustaceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Va
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Our daughter had her wedding at the Inn and everything was just perfect! Kathy and John went out of their way to make sure everything was in order and just as the bride wanted. Family members stayed in all 5 rooms so we had the Inn to ourselves for the whole weekend. Everyone was very happy with their rooms and enjoyed the nice cooked-to-order breakfast every morning.

The gardens were immaculate and the small waterfall at the pond added to the perfect setting. I was a little concerned at first whether there would be enough room for the reception without being crowded. But there was plenty of room on the front lawn for the reception area and it was not cramped at all. The wedding guests were also impressed with the Inn and its grounds. And you forget that it is at a intersection due to trees and flowers, - it is in its own little world and you can't see or hear the roads or any vehicles.

And after the wedding, the large whirlpool bath in my room sure felt nice on my sore muscles!

  • Liked — They tried their best to make us feel at home (and did a good job of it!)
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buffybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2008

I love this Inn and Kathy and John were like family. The rooms were incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was the best! I love the scrambled eggs with cheese and the bacon was cooked to perfection. 5 of us stayed for a week while at a conference at Virginia Tech. I'm hoping our conference will be in Blacksburg next year so we can stay at this Inn. Thanks Kathy for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aheffernan_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#9 of 14 in Christiansburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Inn at Hans Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1800 Depot St NE, Christiansburg, VA 24073-3267
Region: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 163 year old mansion is one of the areas finest Bed and Breakfasts. Located in Christiansburg VA, the heart of the New River Valley, the inn is close to several area attractions such as the Blue Ridge Parkway, Blacksburg VA (home of Virginia Tech) and Radford VA (home of Radford University). The Inn is the perfect place for romantic weekends, corporate meetings, receptions and the wedding of your dreams. Corporate and extended stay rates available. Offering free high speed wireless internet service, flat screen LED televisions, deluxe breakfasts and afternoon goodies all help make The Inn at Hans Meadow the perfect place to stay while in Virginia! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing