We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable meal at El Gran Rodeo”
Review of El Grand Rodeo

El Grand Rodeo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
western va
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Memorable meal at El Gran Rodeo”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We tried this restaurant based on Trip Advisor rave reviews. The service staff is very friendly and helpful. We found our food choices, the taco beef salad and enchiladas supreme to be totally lacking in quantity, taste, and the exceptional preparation reported by other reviewers. Not what we expected and surely not the best Mexican food available in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Enjoyable dinner. The highlight was the cucumber margheritas. It sounds weird but was very tasty. It says a lot about a Mexican restaurant by the way the rice and beans taste. El Rod's were exceptional. For some reason my wife did not like the chile relleno but never said why. The wait staff were extremely knowledgeable of the menu and very attentive. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dond7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very nice and clean decor and inviting atmosphere. Waitress was very friendly. Food was delicious. Chips and salsa fresh.Enjoyed our entire meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food You Can Get In Southern VA”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was very surprised by this restaurant. I did not expect to find such decently priced yet tasty mexican food in the rolling hills of Southern Virginia. The service here was very friendly and food comes out very quickly. The queso is amazing and I enjoyed my enchiladas. While it has a very tex mex taste, the atmosphere and decor in the restaurant itself almost makes you feel like you are in mexico.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices and excellent service!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Grabbed dinner here while in town and was not disappointed. Very authentic Mexican food, nice building, very clean and waiter was super friendly. Food came quickly and was fresh and homemade. Worth a trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Njdisneymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Grand Rodeo also viewed

Christiansburg, VA
Christiansburg, VA
 
 

Been to El Grand Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing