We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible, never going back”
Review of The Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Churchville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“horrible, never going back”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

From the time we got there we felt unwelcome. The woman working the desk was annoyed at the time of our arrival ( 5:30pm). We were " the people I've been waiting on". No introduction to the place was given. A brief tour that ended in the bedroom we were staying at and the door being closed as I was stepping through the doorway. The bed was comfortable, the A/C was not. You couldn't really tell the difference if it was on or off.

I was looking forward to breakfast. The sign outside said fine dinning. They have a cookbook as you come in with the Buckhorn Inn recipes so I was expecting something grand. I was greatly disappointed when I was brought a plate with three pancakes and two pieces of extremely salty bacon. My girlfriend, the vegetarian, was brought three pancakes. Their syrup wasn't real maple syrup even thought they did have several brands for sale, not to mention the syrup container had cobwebs on it. Their cereal options consisted of generic store brands ( no milk), and they put out a bowl of whole oranges, overly ripe bananas, and apples. Lastly, their coffee tasted like it had been brewed for the fifth time already. My recommendation is to get a room in town and stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very nice people who own/run the place. But... if you want a hot breakfast on a Sunday, you have to have it by 8:15, or you miss it. Never been to a B and B that you couldn't sleep in a bit and still eat. Everything was comfortable, pretty clean (dead flies in the bathroom cabinets- yuck), and very peaceful. But for the money---- I expected too much I guess.

Room Tip: doesn't really matter what room you get- they are all pretty much the same. Suite is only $5 mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

The Buckhorn Inn is a delightful and tasteful blend of old and new. Claw foot tubs, but modern plumbing and flat screen TV's. Original heart pine floors, very fresh paint and a roaring fire add to the inn's warmth and appeal. The host family of this circa 1811 inn is incredibly gracious and accommodating. Their made to order breakfasts include eggs fresh from their own hens. BTW, there is something special about having your drink order taken by a five year old girl. Beautiful drive for a weekend getaway or a bike ride.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipD618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Went to the Buckhorn Inn for the first and last time, for Easter brunch. Wait staff was clearly overwhelmed; they basically forgot we were there!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Located in the George Washington National Forest, this unique B&B was originally a stagecoach stop in the 1800's.Our hosts, the Yoders, are a very gracious and friendly couple who make your stay very pleasant. We enjoyed the hospitality that was afforded us on our recent weekend stay. We enjoyed conversing with their two young daughters over breakfast Sunday morning. Recommend that you check this out for a nice place to get away.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJO_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazpaz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Buckhorn! While we were the only guests during our visit, our friendly hosts went out of their way to greet us at the door and show us around this historic bed and breakfast! This beautiful family made us feel right at home. The dining area and staircase definitely resembled things found in the original building. Our room was not large but extremely cozy and stayed plenty warm even though it was freezing outside. The drive to and from Staunton was picturesque with tall mountain peaks and winding river valleys. We greatly enjoyed the restaurant suggested by our hosts, The Depot, and the homemade breakfast. We would recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, OH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at The Buckhorn Inn on the way home from a week's vacation. The history of the Inn is fascinating and I can't say enough about the hospitality of Gaylon and Sylvia Yoder. Gaylon, Sylvia, thanks. Liz and I look forward to staying at your Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz2010Oberlin_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchville
13.3 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
15.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
833 reviews
15.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
219 reviews
24.8 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
764 reviews
19.7 mi away
Silver Lake Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckhorn Inn

Property: The Buckhorn Inn
Address: 2487 Hankey Mountain Hwy, Churchville, VA 24421-2816
Region: United States > Virginia > Churchville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Churchville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If only these walls could talk...this 1811 stagecoach stop in the Shenandoah Valley could tell stories of Stonewall Jackson to traveling gamblers. Private baths, WiFi, satellite TV, wrap around porch. Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing