We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of The Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Churchville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I grew up stopping here for buckwheat pancakes on our way to the Maple Festival in Highland Co. but I hadn't been there in years. Some friends' rehearsal dinner was there last night and it was amazing. The food was absolutely delicious and the peanut butter pie was to die for. The employees with whom we interacted were incredibly courteous and helpful. They were very gracious about helping me figure out what I could eat with my allergies. It's in a beautiful location as well.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank c0untrypumpkin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Garlan and Sylvia Yoder are great hosts as were their children with our children. The location is a little off I-81, but gorgeously situated in the George Washington national park. The breakfast was always superb and the inn is beautifully filled with history and interest.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a lovely time! The owner, Garland Yoder, was a really nice guy and served us an awesome breakfast of homemade bread and jam, pancakes, eggs, and bacon, orange juice and xoffee. Our room had a homemade quilt and afour poster bed. I fet far away from DC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nice rooms, great hosts. Very kid friendly, which is a plus for us (owners have kids who entertained ours) but could be negative for others. Fantastic breakfast, but you need to be down there by 8am on Sundays. Wifi wasn't working during our stay, and no cell service on t mobile in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nola_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Three of us traveling to the Maple Festival were lucky enough to be able to stay at this wonderful B & B! We were given a suite of rooms with all the comforts of home. Breakfast was delicious with anything we wanted included!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My sisters and I enjoyed the Stonewall Jackson suite before going to the Virginia Maple Festival. Garlan, the innkeeper gave us excellent advise as to timing our trip to the festival and things to see while we were traveling from place to place. We were very impressed with the suite. It was so comfortable and offered the at home feeling while we relaxed before our big adventure. Breakfast was outstanding; hotcakes with maple syrup, bacon and eggs. The coffee was great too. We enjoyed the family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My family of four enjoyed our stay in the Stonewall Jackson suite during a recent family reunion. Sylvia and Garlan, the innkeepers, were very friendly and welcoming. And, Sylvia prepared a breakfast that our whole family enjoyed (pancakes, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit). Very hospitable! Our girls loved playing with the kittens and chicks too. Our room was just right for us - 2 room suite with plenty of room for 4. The walk out porch was an added plus. Since we were visiting for a family reunion--Sylvia was flexible in letting us use refrigerator space, fill up coolers with ice, etc. I love the history of the inn and have special childhood memories of Buckhorn. We look forward to a return visit to this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckhorn Inn

Address: 2487 Hankey Mountain Hwy, Churchville, VA 24421-2816
Region: United States > Virginia > Churchville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Churchville
Price Range: £102 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If only these walls could talk...this 1811 stagecoach stop in the Shenandoah Valley could tell stories of Stonewall Jackson to traveling gamblers. Private baths, WiFi, satellite TV, wrap around porch. Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing