We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifton Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lantern Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I just spent one night here. The rooms were clean and the snacks and breakfast offerings were perfect! The bathrooms were very large and wonderfully stocked! If you are ever in this area, you have to stay here! Woof-woof-woof.......even our dog, MacGregor loved it here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lantern Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had a great two night stay at the Red Lantern Inn. Just like being home. Friendly and helpful in every way. Full kitchen and two nice living rooms. Will stay again next year while visiting Clifton Forge. I would highly recommend for a pleasent stay. NDL

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Room #1 has a private math. Rooms 6 and 7 are downstairs, 1,2,3,4,5 are on sec...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is the place to stay. Great Experience and helpful staff. They will bend over backwards to make you comfortable and take care of your needs. The Inn is one of a kind and so beautiful and comfortable, it makes you feel like you are at home. I will definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend Room #1 as it has a private bath. Room #6 was great as was #5
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I came here with our 13 month old and spent two nights at the Red Lantern. We could not have asked for any better accommodations. The Inn was always clean including the rooms. Additionally, there was always a stocked fridge with essentials for breakfast and snacks during the day; a HUGE plus that we were not even expecting. From the Inn Keeper to the entire town, everyone was as friendly as could be. Whenever we come back (and we will), this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is the king room it is on the street and has great views of the mountains and the town...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent four nights at the Red Lantern Inn, as we were volunteering at the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. In addition to the wonderful, welcoming staff, the other guests were most enjoyable!

The accommodation exceeded our expectations; Joann has done an exquisite job making the inn a classy, yet comfortable place. The muffins are second-to-none, and the coffee met my high standards! :)

We have already made reservations for the same time, same place next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snead-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were going to the PGA Classic at the Greenbrier and with a very bad storm the place we were going to stay had no power and The Red Lantern had 1 room left and we were able to get it. The room has very clean an comfortable the owner was nice and had the cutest bull dog. There was one other lady that was cleaning the rooms and she was very freindly and was nice to talk to since I spent the day at the hotel by my self. The inn has a great kitchen with coffee and muffins in the morning. All updated and spacious and we had 3 people and with one room they provided an air mattress for our third. It was reasonably priced and there were restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again when I need to go that way in the future.

Room Tip: The king room has its own private bath so I would get that room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just got home from a wonderful vacation at The Red Latern Inn. Joan, her staff and Bella were warm, welcoming and wonderful. Our stay meant traveling to the Greenbrier Classic but the 30 minute drive everyday from Tuesday through Sunday wasn't bad because of the wonderful accomodations. Most people staying at the inn were all volunteers for the Greenbrier Classic so it was a great group of people comparing notes of their days adventure in a wonderful comfortable inn. The beds were great for a good nights sleep. Don't forget to check out the J.Mason Tavern, Vic's and the Cat and the Owl Restaurant. I would definitely go back. I think it would be a great place for a girl's weekend or family weekend with the 7 bedrooms in one big wonderful home away from home! The inn and Clifton Forge have great character! Will recommend the trip to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deana-DavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Forge
8.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.7 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,257 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
45 reviews
16.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lantern Inn

Address: 314 Jefferson Ave, Clifton Forge, VA 24422-1749
Region: United States > Virginia > Clifton Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Forge
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual overnight accommodations in downtown Clifton Forge, VA within walking distance restaurants, shops, C&O Heritage Center, Arts & Crafts Center, Clifton Forge School of the Arts, Masonic Amphitheater, and the Amtrak station. Guests can take the Amtrak to Clifton Forge for the weekend and enjoy a quiet weekend in a small VA town. The Masonic Amphitheater has events every weekend from May until October. Outdoor activities in the area include: hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, swimming. A short drive away is Douthat State Park which has miles of stream fishing, a 50-acre lake stocked with trout, a sandy swimming beach with snack bar, boat and bicycle rentals, more than 40 miles of hiking and mountain-biking trails, an amphitheater, playgrounds, picnic areas, tent and trailer camping, a restaurant overlooking the lake, and nature and history programs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing