We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lantern Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn Motel(Covington)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Budget Inn(Natural Bridge)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Lexington)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
75
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathb bart schoolking bedroomstay there againwalking distanceeach morningbed and breakfastmasonsamtrakaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We wanted a relaxing weekend but we got so much more than that. The rooms and the Inn are clean and beautifully decorated. The beds are super comfy and the sheets were smooth as silk. The kitchen was well stocked. Sitting on the porch made it feel even more like home. The Inn is located right off Main Street and we loved walking through the town of Clifton Forge to enjoy the shops and restaurants. We loved everything about the Inn and Clifton Forge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Red Lantern Inn, an uncommon inn set just at the top of downtown Clifton Forge, easily within walking distance to everything.
The Red Lantern Inn has had many incarnations, including a funeral home, but it is this last metamorphosis that strikes me as being just right.
The inn is filled with antique and new furnishings that envelope you with nostalgia and class ~ a real Southern Lady. Nooks and crannies and oversize chairs to snuggle up with a book, a kitchen to treat like your own and a front porch to watch the world go by. Owner Jo Ann Carter Gideons has lovingly created a home away from home for travelers near and far.

Room Tip: The king size room has a private bath ~ a definite plus. There are also several rooms on the ground floor and will accommodate handicap visitors.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a wonderful "Home away from Home"! JoAnn is so friendly and helpful, and the house is beautifully furnished with so much character. Clean and welcoming, easy to walk to restaurants and shops. We will definitely be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We did not find it a problem to share the bathrooms because there are 5 of them.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Red Lantern Inn to be near family who live in Clifton Forge. It is a very nice, older building and the rooms are large, clean and light. We will go back there again. The owner and staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: That have rooms with different bed configurations including king, queen and twins.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiem1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at The Red Lantern Inn for the first time this past weekend. I was deeply impressed with the accommodations. The place was absolutely spotless and everything looked so clean crisp and fresh. Rooms were big with comfortable beds and the house was plenty big as 4 different groups filled it out for the weekend. We were on the go most of the time but this is a great place to relax and catch up with friends, family, etc. It would even be a nice place for a small to medium sized business meeting. I would recommend this place absolutely to anyone who needs an excellent and affordable place to stay while passing through Clifton Forge or Covington, or someone who is planning to stay longer. You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews