We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clintwood
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were visiting family for our annual family reunion and decided to stay in a hotel rather than family. Got an excellent group rate with over 20 members of our family staying there. The rooms were beautiful though some of the family members had trouble figuring out how to work the televisions which were flat screen. Over all, the rooms were some of the nicest rooms i have stayed in, the showers were heavenly, breakfast better than most, and staff was very friendly. Might i add, the beds were some of the most comfortable i have slept on as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

I travel all over the east coast for business and have deals with many different choice hotels. Of all of them (and others I stayed at before Choice picked up my business) Sleep Inns and Comfort Inns are by far my favorites. This Sleep Inn is a new one so it has its kinks (the TVs are slow and the parking is a little weird) but its cleanliness and the friendliness of its staff are incomparable. The ladies on the front desk were cute and sweet and eager to help. I'm a late sleeper and housekeeping runs at an efficient time so as not to wake anyone up and come in at a time in which most people would be out of the room (preferred by me). Impeccable service, breakfast was above average, and the beds were very comfortable. My biggest and only real complaint is the man I assume was the general manager. I saw him being very outwardly rude and condescending to one of the employees and that bothered me. The only other hotel in the immediate area is disgusting and has a reputation to match. You get more than what you pay for out of this hotel, in my professional traveler's opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinnclintwood, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review we look forward to welcoming you
back. If there is anything we can do on your next stay to make it better please let me know
Thank you .... Amy Phillips AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were visiting family but with four little kids, we didn't want to put that kind of strain on a relationship so we stayed here.
The rooms were very nice and spacious. The staff was very courteous and the prices are extremely reasonable (especially if you're from the East Coast.)
Breakfast was a little crowded and food kept running out. If you read my other reviews, this seems to be the thing we run into at EVERY hotel. I'm sure this could be managed better. The parking lot is oddly shaped and they were nearly at capacity when we checked in.
I know they would want this hotel to be to the most major roads (which are not major in anyone's imagination) but the hotel is built on a hill in town that didn't leave much room for parking or maneuvering the lot. It's awkward.
And, it being a new hotel, I thought it would have a pool. Heck, in that area, you might be able to sell memberships to an indoor pool just for some extra cash flow. So I thought it odd that it didn't have one but maybe it was a space issue. My kids were disappointed since I told them it was new and would certainly have one.
Their gym is nothing to brag about. There are three machines but no weights and the TV only would get one channel! I was stuck running to the golf channel which is really not motivating. So I'd spruce that up a bit...or at least get a different TV!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinnclintwood, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we certainly wish the parking and pool situation was different but due to lack of space it is not an option at this point. As far as the tv goes in the work out area it has been resolved and we are working daily to keep Comcast on their toes. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose this hotel for our stay in Virginia due to the rising cost and declining condition of the Breaks Interstate Park Lodge. This hotel is a newer property and is clean inside/out. We had contact with the staff on several occasions and were always met with a smile and willingness to help. The breakfast is comparable to other hotels and offers a variety for everyone (Gravy/Biscuits, Sausage, Waffles, Yogurt, Fruit, etc.). We arrived back to our room at 4:30ish to find our room had yet to be serviced. We contacted the front desk and this was quickly corrected. This is a nice hotel if you are planning a visit to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VACATIONMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinnclintwood, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Angie thank you for your review and we apologize for the TV situation , Comcast is working diligently to insure the problem does not continue. We look forward to seeing you again and as always thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is newly built, furnishings are modern and look nice. We had a king bed in room 302 with a walk in shower. Bed was super comfortable, shower had good pressure and was able to adjust temperature easily. Fresh towels every day. Free breakfast was good, with a variety of options from waffles to sausage and gravy and breakfast sandwhiches. Hotel staff that i met were all friendly and professional. I will say that the man that answered the phone the day before to confirm everything was still good was not very friendly, but he did confirm it was all good. This is a small town and this is simply a nice hotel. Oh, and the flat screen tvs in the rooms seemed to have an issue where we had to unplug them and then it takes a minute for it to actually come on. very slow to change the channels also. So the tvs work, they just got messed up a bit from a power outage or something. Best to turn it on when you get up and just leave it on so you dont have to hassle with unplugging it a bunch of times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angieb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Clean nice hotel. It is a new hotel. Great continental breakfast. Just needs a friendlier general manager. He is NOT a nice person and needs someone else to run that place. People like him will keep guest like me from ever returning. Everyone else seemed fairly nice. Small town and not much to do.

Stayed: April 2013
3  Thank Sillygirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Room is nice and in an area where there are very few lodging options. Typical hotel continental breakfast. Do not smoke in the room or they will nail you with an excessive charge!!
This is a a small town, not much to do here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dwayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clintwood
21.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Grundy
Comfort Inn Grundy
#1 of 1 in Grundy
58 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#3 of 4 in Norton
135 reviews
22.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
554 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
16.8 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#2 of 4 in Norton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 5625 Dickenson Hwy, Clintwood, VA 24228-7009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Clintwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clintwood
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the award-winning Sleep Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Clintwood near the Ralph Stanley Museum is a simply stylish sanctuary designed for a happy night's sleep. This affordable hotel in Clintwood gives you easy access to attractions like: Birch Knob Tower John Flanagan Dam Dr. Phipps Family Museum Southwest Virginia Museum Historical State Park This smoke-free affordable Clintwood hotel meets the needs of all kinds of travelers. Corporate travelers will appreciate our business center, as well as copy, print and fax machines. Our valued guests will find fresh design elements and amenities that help you relax like: Free breakfast Free WiFi Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Make yourself at home in your guest room, which is just as restful as home-but better-featuring a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, desk, microwave and hair dryer. Our entire Designed to Dream(R) experience comes together in an environment that's uplifting by design-to put a smile on your face and a spring in your step. Select rooms come with sofa sleepers. Experience the combination of friendly service, cozy accommodations and great rates at the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Clintwood, VA. We look forward to hosting you-reserve your guest room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing