We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Monroe Bay Inn. Sherie was so sweet and welcoming and the food was amazing! Since no one else had booked a room at the B&B, Sherie allowed me to bring my 8 month old son and even held him while we ate breakfast! The rooms were great, the bed was SO comfy, and the artwork was beautiful. Sherie was extremely helpful with giving us ideas and recommendations of places to visit and eat. This is definitely the place to stay if you are vacationing in Colonial Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Rice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a peaceful and enjoyable stay. We had the best host AND the best experience at this cute little B&B! The lovely art decorating the house and the yummy breakfast were pluses to a place that is clean and well-kept. We took the easy 90-minute drive to Washington, D.C., to simply tour the Capitol and we returned gladly to the Monroe to enjoy dinner at a restaurant in the area and to our wonderfully comfortable room with private bath.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ventured to the Monroe Bay Bed and Breakfast for a weekend getaway in February. The property is located in a residential community near restaurants and other businesses. The house itself is very comfortable and welcoming, and the art inside is quite lovely. Sam was our hostess this weekend since Shirley was away; however, I was fortunate to work with both of these ladies during my stay and both are very professional and accomodating.

We were in a queen room with private bath and the bed and bathroom were appropriate for our stay. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee selection was second to none. Dinner reservations were made by Shirley the night we arrived, and her selection was perfect.

I look forward to returning for another visit in the near future as this location is just a short drive (90 minutes or so) from Washington, D.C.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn! I look forward to meeting you the next time you are in Colonial Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The breakfast was delicious. Walking distance to several restaurants and the bay. Shirley was incredibly helpful and friendly. After our first night my husband was already planning our next visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I enjoyed our conversations and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I visited colonial beach for the first time on July 4th and we heard great things about the bed and breakfast places. So we decided to drive back for a one night stay during Labor day weekend and it was a great experience. Shirley made us feel welcome and the breakfast was great. The was very clean and comfortable. We will return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for staying at the Inn and I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

While visiting the area for business we had the pleasure of spending three nights at this wonderful B&B. The innkeeper, Shirley, made us feel right at home upon arrival - and we felt completely at home for the entire stay. The inn and rooms are immaculate...and the quiet residential area led to a peaceful night's sleep every night. My favorite part was gathering around the breakfast table each morning to chat with Shirley and the other guests. The breakfasts were amazing - the Canadian Pancakes being my favorite. Thank you Shirley for such at wonderful stay at the Monroe Bay Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salex248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

What fun to have you stay at the Inn and hear about your adventures. Thanks for writing an informative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I chose this B & B based on other Trip Advisor reviews. I echo their opinions about the cleanliness and comfort of the accommodations and Shirley's warm hospitality. We had a lovely queen room and found the bathroom with it's stall shower rather cramped. The King rooms have more spacious bathrooms with tubs, so you might want to keep this in mind when making your reservations. We enjoyed talking to Shirley, learning about the local art community, and only regret that our stay didn't coincide with the art walk held every second Friday of the month. Shirley was wonderfully accommodating, working around a change in our travel plans and my dietary restrictions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funfamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It was a pleasure to have you here and to learn more about healthy eating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonial Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Dennison Street Inn
#4 of 8 in Colonial Beach
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach
#2 of 2 in Colonial Beach
1 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Edge Inn
River Edge Inn
#1 of 2 in Colonial Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 306 Hamilton St, Colonial Beach, VA 22443-2613
Region: United States > Virginia > Colonial Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Colonial Beach
Price Range: £94 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful inn was built in 1905 and used as a summer home for children from Washington, DC. Enjoy comfortable rooms with private baths, full breakfast and a relaxing atmosphere. Walk to the public beach and pier. Visit antique shops, restaurants and art galleries. Go fishing, boating or bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing