We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terra Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colonial Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Terra Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the first floor rooms last month. My husband was participating in the Colonial Beach Tri on Sunday, so we came down for Saturday night. And boy, were the reviews accurate. From the time of booking, Kristine went above and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay. When we arrived, we left our belongings to go explore the little riverside strip which is only a few minutes drive away. When we returned for the evening, we had intended to go back out for dinner...but she presented us with delicious tapas. So great in fact, that we didn't end up going for dinner (she even made a pasta since my husband had expressed the desire to eat that before the race). We were provided a bottle of wine to sip from and some wonderful cheeses/fruits. This week, I tried to mimic the pasta dish she made (it was only half as good). Later that night, she left a nightcap in the room. She offered flexibility with the breakfast since we'd be up early for the race. We returned after the race and were greeted by a spread of french toast, potatoes, fruit, etc...I cannot express how tasty everything was. Overall, everything about the experience was lovely. I would totally recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

River Terra Retreat
...and are willing to go off the beaten path to get them.
A beautifully restored home that is more than you'd expect for for a B&B tucked away in sleepy Colonial Beach, VA, a one-traffic light town on the Potomac River. Only open a year, this expanded and renovated 1911 home, welcomes guests in five rooms. Ours, #2, is a spacious second floor corner room looking into the trees. Furnished in an eclectic style with comfort being foremost. There's plenty of room for our overnight bags even with an overstuffed hassock, a seductive upolstered chair with reading light, an antique rocking chair and accent pieces including a handsome trunk which supports a flat-screen TV. Our private bath is just around the corner with all the special touches, soaps and toiletries that make you feel coddled.

That caring extends to the appetizing spread of gourmet treats offered with wine in the evening. We couldn't possibly have eaten a bite for dinner after the local tomatoes with prosciuto, basel and olive oil, several kinds of crackers, baked brie with walnuts and maple syrup, grapes and artichoke hearts. From our second floor terrace we enjoyed the twilight views of the Potomac River with our hostess, Kristine Guido, whose great-grandfather built the home. After a very quiet sleep we enjoyed breakfast served in the dining room -- ham & cornbread muffins, local eggs, bacon, fresh blueberries, orange juice and superb coffee.

The town itself is fun to spend time exploring, best on foot (a trolley runs an hour-long loop on the weekends). We strolled along the several-blocks-long boardwalk along the beach and out on the city pier. Here the river opens up to a wide expanse of calm water lapping the sandy shore. In the town center we poked around in the art gallery, the pottery shop (couldn't resist the crab bowl), and tried the door of the museum. I was eager to see Colonial Beach as it was 50 years ago when the amusement park along the water was a big draw for Washingtonians and folks from Richmond and Fredericksburg. We have to return because the museum keeps hours only on the weekends. In any case we'd be back to be spoiled some more in Kristine's delightful oasis. We'll stay two days so we can visit local wineries, rent a kayak and sub shoulders with the locals at Dockside's Tiki Bar on the prettiest point overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was lucky enough to find this B&B on TripAdvisor as a nice weekend vacation for 4th of July weekend. All the reviews are spot-on. We stayed downstairs and shared a bathroom with another couple, but everything was extremely clean, the room was comfortable and well-kept, and the food was amazing. Bottom line, if you want a peaceful, fun stay in a beach town at a quiet and extremely comfortable B&B, come to River Terra Retreat. It was an amazing weekend and our favorite part was Kristine’s hospitality and food. I’ve never stayed at a B&B before so she set the bar really high.

First of all, Kristine was one of the most accommodating people I have met. We had some dietary restrictions due to Ramadan, which meant we couldn't really enjoy breakfast or the delicious food she made until after sunset (we wanted a beach trip and this B&B made sense location-wise). After explaining to Kristine, she asked if we would want an evening snack or meal instead, which I said was fine. She emailed one of her Muslim friends to find out what would be an appropriate meal to make and then sent me the response so I could see! We had delicious food every night and even a late-night snack she’d leave in our room. This attention to detail was unexpected and it was very kind of her to check for us.

Her hospitality was further exemplified when we were set to arrive the night of Hurricane Arthur. Before we left, Kristine sent an email suggesting we use our judgement when traveling and that it would be fine for us to arrive the next day without a penalty. Our own logistics meant we would have left very late at night during the storm, so instead we left the next day and arrived in perfect weather.

Our room was very comfortable, the food was delicious, and her house and the town were the perfect getaway to enjoy the beach without the crowds and to relax, which is just what we needed. The B&B is walking distance from town and the beach. She even let us borrow bikes to bike around town. Also, the water in the Potomac was really warm and the beach wasn’t too crowded, even at this time of year, so it was great enjoying the sun and the water. We’d definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms downstairs, they are smaller than the upstairs rooms, and you share a bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCannoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I usually don't stay in B&Bs but decided to recently while visiting Colonial Beach. River Terra Retreat is an exceptional B&B and Kristine is a wonderful hostess and (I can't say this strongly enough) marvelous cook! Her breakfasts are absolutely the best and her tapas are wonderful as well.

We stayed in the Greyhound room which is wonderful but the suite next door is the one we will reserve next time we stay in Colonial Beach.

Great food and wonderful conversation with Kristine and some of her friends. Being owned by dogs and cats myself, I really appreciated Kristine's cats and some visiting dogs.

We had a beautiful weekend!

Room Tip: Riverview Suite is the best! A queen size bed, beautiful private bath and a terrace to enjoy the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wow, River Terra Retreat and Kristine were wonderful!

My family and I stayed only one night, but the next time we will stay longer. Kristine's home was beautiful, filled with old-fashioned charm and immaculately clean, it was truly a special find. Kristine was warm and welcoming and she had a basket full of neat things that kept my five-year old daughter busy and happy! Kristine even brought out some precious children's books from her library as well as some amazing photography books of artists that she had known or met.

The food that Kristine prepared was delicious and gourmet. It was a rainy evening, so it was so nice to not have to get back in the car to find dinner. We were quite pleased and stuffed full with the tapas and wine. The baked brie, almonds, fig chutney, marinated tomatoes, olives, etc. were perfect. She even had peanut butter and apple slices for our little one! And to end the night with a brandy and plate full of cookies was quite a treat.
Kristine used many local foods: the chutneys, preserves, and sausages at breakfast were was absolutely filling and fantastic! The pear and rosemary potato dish was incredible, as were the sausage and candied walnuts, baked roma tomatoes, and everything else. Spoiled, we felt quite spoiled and we loved it!

The location of the property was in a quaint and cute neighborhood. Despite the drizzle, our family was able to enjoy a nice stroll in the neighborhood along a road that ran next to the water, as the house is only a couple of houses from the river. I believe that we even saw nesting osprey!

River Terra Retreat is a terrific B&B and I recommended it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked wonderful. We stayed in the Fiori Blu Bedroom, which was located on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

All of the other reviews are 100% true, Kristine is an amazing hostess and her cooking is fantastic! The food was so good, our room was gorgeous and clean, and the house as a whole is beautiful. We stayed in the suite, which I would recommend because the deck outside the suite is great, and the jacuzzi in the bathroom is wonderful as well. The food was out of this world! Kristine is an amazing cook, and the breakfasts and tapas are delicious. Night cap and snacks were also wonderful. After our second breakfast there, my boyfriend said he couldn't decide which was the best breakfast of his life- that breakfast, or the day before. I had never been to a bed and breakfast before staying at River Terra Retreat, and I don't think I'm going to go to any others, because I feel like all others will not live up to the high expectations that I now have. If we are ever in the area again we will certainly stay here again, it was a fantastic experience! The only downside is when you get home, your mundane breakfast before work will be very disappointing after eating the wonderful breakfasts that Kristine prepared while you were at River Terra!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Yes, it's true what they are saying about Kristine and her delicious food! Tapas were so good and filling that we delayed dinner reservations. Breakfast was a delicious feast! The house is very nice and Kristine made us feel right at home. The hospitality was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Beach
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
#1 of 2 in Dahlgren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
24.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites, Dahlgren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in King George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
23.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Stratford Hall
The Inn at Stratford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terra Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terra Retreat

Property: River Terra Retreat
Address: 37 4th St, Colonial Beach, VA 22443-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Colonial Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Colonial Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River Terra in historic Colonial Beach on the Potomac River. We love hosting all guests and are friendly to pets, children, and motor cyclists. Your stay with us includes wine, tapas, bedtime nightcap and a full breakfast. Quiet your mind, unplug your phone, just relax, we've got you. Our charming house was built in 1911 and has four bedrooms, a lovely interior, big porches, a balcony and patio. We have an acre of fenced property for outside events, and provide custom designed retreats with yoga, massage, culinary arts and nature. Play cards on the sun porch, sleep late in comfy beds, daydream in the hammock, dine on locally grown food, walk or cycle, play on the beach, visit nearby wineries. We are rural, not boring. There are excursions and activities around town to explore year-round. Read our reviews. We give you the experience you want, the attention you deserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing