We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Train Depot?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Train Depot?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I wish I would have read the reviews before booking. Got to the hotel (looked nice), room was very nice, but then I saw a letter on the desk and on top of that was a plastic bag containing two ear plugs. The letter basically said they apologize for the train. I thought, oh boy, this should be interesting. I looked out my window and there were train track about 300 feet from the hotel. One train or two trains would have been ok. Ha! I was there 16 hours and counted 15 trains in that time. I was woken up by them several times during the night. Made my business meeting the next day interesting. I don't care if you put a Ritz Carlton on this site, it still won't make up for these trains. NEVER AGAIN! Priority hotels should be ashamed. They should fire the people who decided to build this here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEF7864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
10
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I choose to stay here over the cheaper "value" hotels because I was hoping for a better experience. WRONG! When I checked in it took a few minutes for the front desk to wake up enough to help me. I had reserved a double room non smoking. When we got to the room it was one of the worst smelling smoke rooms I had ever encountered. Called front desk to which he scoffed and said "....yes" and when I explained the issue he said that's all we have. This is after I saigned the form that I would not smoke in the room? Bed was horribly made and sheets were obviously not clean. Bathroom was filthy. So much for spending twice as much and getting a cleaner and better experience. Oh yeah the trains! Holy cow. Should have read reviews and planned ahead. Oh well this is on the never again list.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffbrowne4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colonial Heights hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I spent 2 weeks (3-14-12 to 4-2-12) in a two bed suite at this hotel and was very happy. I had some trepidation about staying here because of the train that runs next to the back property line. However, our room was in the front of the hotel, and I never heard the train while in our room and I am a light sleeper. The hotel is clean and rooms have full kitchens with granite countertops (Microwave, Cook top, and Dishwasher). The beds are WONDERFUL! Bathroom has great water pressure, but skinny tubs. There are grills and a covered eating area in the back. Our room had a free DVD player so we were able to go to Redbox and enjoy a movie. Also the front desk has some free DVD's that they loan out. Wireless internet is free; they also have 2 computers downstairs for use and a workout area with good cardio equipment and some weight equipment. Downtown Richmond is 20-30 minutes away. Easy access to VA Beach, Yorktown, WIlliamsburg,etc. Fort Lee and Southpark shopping mall are 5 miles away. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the front on the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtopiaSearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I only stayed one night due to being involved in a car accident but it is exceptional. The desk manager was so helpful and considerate with the family's situation -- beyond my expectations. The room and bath was very clean and comfortable. Full size fridge. I would plan to stay here again when traveling.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Clean hotel, stayed here while visiting family for the holidays. Spacious room, full fridge and lots of cable channels. We were on the back side of the hotel, so we did hear trains (twice). Staff was nice and check in/out was a breeze. I don't use feather pillows but the front desk has other options available. As far as the other two hotels nearby (Interstate Inn and an EconoLodge), this is clearly the best option.

Room Tip: We had an odd # room and it was near the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

This hotel was very clean and even smelled brand new, even though the occupancy permit on the wall was from 2009. The train is pretty loud because there is an at-grade crossing right next to the hotel and the train blows its horn as it passes. I am a pretty heavy sleeper but heard at least two trains pass through the night. As posted in other reviews, the hotel does provide earplugs along with a memo stating "Sorry about the train."

Room Tip: The railroad tracks are on the back side of the building, so hopefully a room on the front side woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I only stayed here one night but plan on returning. I was originally concerned because I had read the other reviews regarding the train waking me up in the middle of the night. Yes, this hotel is right in front of very busy train tracks. when checking in I told the clerk my concerns, she said she would put me in the front of the hotel to minimize the noise. I did notice the sound of the train occassionally but not enough to keep me awake or disturb me. Beds were so comfortable. Room was very clean and upgraded, granite coutertops, nice appliances, great LCD tv, etc. I used they gym twice - nice equipment, etc. The laundry facility was a bonus. Lots of machines and front loaders for free! All in all, great stay and nice place. I will still here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallowmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonial Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield - Colonial Heights
Comfort Inn South Chesterfield -...
#4 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - F...
#5 of 8 in Colonial Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort Lee
WoodSpring Suites Richmond Fort ...
#7 of 8 in Colonial Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights

Property: Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
Address: 15820 Woods Edge Rd, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-6059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Colonial Heights Ft. Lee, Virginia Consider Us Home at the Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Colonial Heights - Fort. Lee, Chester, Petersburg, and Richmond, VA. The Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights Fort Lee is a member of the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in extended stays, Candlewood Suites are the perfect choice for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary or corporate housing needs. Our Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at exit 58, off I-95 near I-85 & I-295; minutes from Fort Lee, Chester, Petersburg & Richmond, VA business & real estate districts. Our location offers access to Wathal Industrial Park, Meadowville Technology Park, Honeywell, Dominion Power, Phillip Morris, Dupont, SRMC, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, LMR, Fort Lee and Defense Supply Center. The Candlewood Suites hotel offers apartment-style suites with all the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short-term hotel, real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio or one-bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TVs with DVD players, free high-speed, wired & wireless Internet access. Other features include Candlewood Cupboard, business center, free self-laundry facility, a fitness center & BBQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing