We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!”
Review of da Luca Cafe & Wine Bar - CLOSED

da Luca Cafe & Wine Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Bar, Spanish, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in western Albemarle County, just a short drive from Downtown Charlottesville, da Luca restaurant and wine bar is the perfect spot to enjoy a romantic dinner, offering the spectacular Blue Ridge Mountains as a natural backdrop. Our “made from scratch” eclectic Mediterranean style cuisine is comprised of fresh and healthy ingredients. From locally baked bread, to Afton-farmed produce, to Charlottesville hand-made pasta, we strive to offer fresh and local ingredients.Our selected staff has a passion for food and service, which translates into a superb experience for our patrons.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We chose the Sangria over wine. It was excellent! We went late and the restaurant was half full. We were seated immediately We were fortunate to have a very knowledgable waitress who helped guide us through our choices. First out was the shrimp ceviche It was just fabulous This was followed by the spiced Moroccan tuna and roasted Brussel sprouts. Unbelievably good. The risotto was our fourth choice and the most disappointing. After all the flavorful dishes previously, this was a little bland. I am not a huge dessert eater but I find a good bread pudding hard to resist. This was not just good it was the best ever . A subtle hint of almonds and it just melted in your mouth. What a wonderful first time experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindao310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a good dinner spot”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Dinner Sunday eve, had the scallops & hubby had the Mahi. These are our 2 favorite dishes here. A friend went with us this time, she had the fish tacos & thought they were fabulous. This time, the Mahi was a little tough, not quite as good as usual, but still pretty good. We are always pleased with the service and food. Was not crowded so we were able to have a very peaceful dinner & chatting with our friend. Very relaxed & laid back time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect portions and great food!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a party of six and didn't have to wait. We ordered appetizers, wine, and main courses. The best part was we didn't over eat since their portion size was perfect. I had the Potato Gnocchi with Pancetta, Gorgonzola cheese, and Oyster mushrooms. It was fantastic! It's in a cute mountain location too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Took the wife there on our last Blue Ridge trip, and would definitely go back again. Visited on a Friday evening, and did not experience the kind of crowd I expected for a neighborhood haunt. Turns out folks come later, as it was rapidly filling up toward the end of our meal. Service was friendly and knowledgeable, and the food was excellent. My wife and I shared tapas, and really enjoyed everything we ordered, especially the Moroccan Spiced Tuna. The wine list happened to have wines from one of our favorite Virginia vineyards, and they have many other fine selections of wine, beer and spirits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

just go know before they get found out. both my wife and I loved our entrees and felt they could have charged double what they were charging. fun wine menu that describes each wine in detail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed da Luca Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing