We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fries and burgers to go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountainside Grille

Mountainside Grille
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Crozet
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 434-823-7080
Crozet, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fries and burgers to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I ordered 2 cheeseburgers, a BLT and 4 fries to go. When I got home, there was only a single order of fries. When I called them, they offered to make more fries, but I didn't want to head back out. The manager immediately refunded me $10 (fries are merely $2 each) and apologized. Nice cover. I will keep going back. Tasty burger, tasty fries.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Their Way or The Highway? Time to Hit the Road!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I visited this place with my two children on Father's Day back in June. The delay in reviewing is due to me mistaking this place for another on a past review.

Big clue to attitude of cook (trust me, "chef" is not appropriate): the sign hanging by the cash register that says it's their way or nothing. And I wholeheartedly agree; nothing definitely would have been much better than Mountainside Grill's burgers and fries.

This was the second time in about four years that I visited Mountainside (once for lunch and the other for dinner), and both outcomes were the same. Although my daughter and I asked for Swiss cheese-mushroom burgers to be cooked medium, they both came well done, thin and fairly dry. Since we were having a pretty good Fathers' Day up 'til then and didn't want to spoil the mood, we chose to eat our burgers. My son ordered the Philly cheesesteak sandwich and was satisfied. None of the sandwiches comes with fries (pretty pricey at about $7 each), so we ordered a basket of them. At best, they were barely crisp. They were obviously low-grade frozen product.

We had no dessert and drank only water. The tab was $27.05 with tax. After we finished eating, we waited for 10 minutes for our server to leave us a bill. When I finally made eye contact, she pointed out the paper she left hidden between the napkin dispenser and salt and pepper shakers, out of my sight, not in front of me (the only adult/bill payer) at the table. At the register, when our server asked if everything was okay, I said the burgers were well done, instead of medium. Her response was, "Oh, I guess they're just used to making them well done."

Judging from my experience and other people's reviews, stay away from the burgers and fries and maybe come Tuesdays for the $1 tacos (then again, how big are the tacos, and what's in them?).

As a note (and a bit of personal venting), I have a background as a personal chef and server. So I can't understand any positive reviews of this place. You're better off getting back on the road to the local Dairy Queen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapnCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Their Way or The Highway? Time to Hit the Road”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Big clue to attitude of cook (trust me, "chef" is not appropriate): the sign hanging by the cash register that says it's their way or nothing. And I wholeheartedly agree; I nothing would have been much better than Otto's burgers and fries.

This was the second time in about four years that I visited Otto's (once for lunch and the other for dinner), and both outcomes were the same. Although my daughter and I asked for Swiss cheese-mushroom burgers to be cooked medium, they both came well done, thin and fairly dry. Since we were having a pretty good Fathers' Day up 'til then didn't want to spoil the mood, we chose to eat our burgers. My son ordered the Philly cheesesteak sandwich and was satisfied. None of the sandwiches comes with fries (pretty pricey at about $7 each), so we ordered a basket of them. At best, they were barely crisp. They were obviously low-grade frozen product.

We had no dessert and drank only water. The tab was $27.05 with tax. After we finished eating, we waited for 10 minutes for our server to leave us a bill. When I finally made eye contact, she pointed out the paper she left hidden between the napkin dispenser and salt and pepper shakers, out of my sight, not in front of me (the only adult/bill payer) at the table. At the register, when our server asked if everything was okay, I said the burgers were well done, instead of medium. Her response was, "Oh, I guess they're just used to making them well done."

Judging from my experience and other people's reviews, stay away from the burgers and fries and maybe come Tuesdays for the $1 tacos (then again, how big are the tacos, and what's in them?).

As a note (and a bit of personal venting), I have a background as a personal chef and server. So I can't understand any positive reviews of this place. You're better off getting back on the road to the local Dairy Queen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapnCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not nearly as good as before ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our first few trips here, but have been less than satisfied with it last couple of visits. Small nights ago I stopped by for a few appetizers to take home to the family. The crack dip, which had been one of our favorites, had a very different texture, was less cheesy, and didn't have the spicy bite it previously had. The fried pickle chips were completely lacking any flavor. It's too bad.

Also noticed a sign near the cash register... "this isn't Burger King. You get it our way, or you don't get it any d**n way." Even if this was a joke, it just didn't feel appropriate. Not sure we'll be going back...

Helpful?
Thank HILKER09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for Family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Menu for the kids is nice and all around a good value for burgers and fries. Nothing fancy, not a place to take a date and there isn't a real bar area to hang out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountainside Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mountainside Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing