We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Crozet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After some research of B&Bs in the Charlottesville area my wife and ended up here for our first year anniversary. We live in the DC and both travel for work, so I was looking for a relaxing escape from the every day grind and this place definitely answered that calling! And, the owners Dick and Hayden were awesome hosts that made us feel really welcome. In summary, an "Excellent B&B around 30 minutes from Charlottesville." It was also easy to get to the downtown Charlottesville mall area, you literally take a right of the driveway and drive straight until you run into the mall area. Breakfast was served on time and is outstanding with lots of healthy and vegetarian options. Other B&B's I have been to didn't provide such options. The property is also situated on a beautiful piece of property with hiking/biking trails close by. There are even a couple swimming holes near by. It is also close to plenty of wineries. Free Wifi service is also provided at this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravisParsons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Went here on a last minute weekend getaway and it was a beautiful place to stay. I am very picky with where I stay and I would definitely go back here. The hosts were wonderful and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Inn at Sugar Hollow is hidden away on a very rural road. Our plan was to use the Inn as a launching point for touring Charlottesville. We never left the Crozet area. We spent two days enjoying the local hiking, the wineries and the local eateries. The Inn, built in the mid 1990’s, specifically as a B & B; has a patio to enjoy the morning coolness and a deck that is out of the evening sun. The décor is a fantastic mix of old pictures of the area as well as pictures of their family and grandchildren. The rooms are very spacious and clean; the bed, after you get up in to it, is very comfortable. Dick and Hayden serve a wonderful breakfast spread, buffet style, with very creative dishes to enjoy. The buffet allows for a leisurely meal using two large tables to seat the guests. The property has several acres to enjoy the dear and wildlife as well as a couple of guest rooms in a separate farmhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B0b_F_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a few days enjoying the many activities that are available in the general area. We were able to enjoy a wide range of activities, all within easy commuting distance of such a tranquil and seemingly isolated location. We were able to take in the city life in downtown Charlottesville on one day (great food as well), and then take in the views and isolation of a hiking on trails along Skyline Drive on another., And of course, no trip to the area would be complete without a few visits to the many wineries and brew pubs in the immediate vicinity. Pace yourself, though. There's quite a few. :-)

On top of all of this, the terrific, friendly, and helpful owners and staff made the stay that much more enjoyable. Oh, yeah - the breakfast part of the B&B was pretty darn good as well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

OK, it is in a quiet hollow a bit out of town (Crozet) but when you get there you are rewarded with a very classy country house in a tranquil location. No noisy traffic, and the rooms are o so comfortable.

Add in the professionalism and warmth of the hosts and all the little extras (I won't tell you so you'll be pleasantly surprised) and this place is pretty close to perfect. We wish we had stayed another night.

And Dick cooks up a mighty fine breakfast, which you share around a big table with the other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel54addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I decided to stay outside of Charlottesville when visiting friends that live there. Although the Inn is quite a bit farther from Charlottesville than we expected, it didn't disappoint. It is actually not in Crozet as suggested on the website, but another 8 or so minutes away. Again, after seeing how gorgeous and pristine the countryside and the mountains were we didn't mind.
We stayed in the Garden Room with our daughter which is located in the farmhouse). This room was beautiful and accommodated her quite well on the extra bed ( a day bed tucked in between 3 walls). She found it cozy and comfortable. Although the room is beautifully furnished, it had too much furniture. It would be much roomier with only one of the two love seats and one less piece of big furniture. Our mattress was also very comfortable. The bathroom is large. We had a lot of privacy and appreciated having the extra room upstairs and coffee via the Krueig machine. We loved the front porch and it provided a nice seating area for us and when our friends visited for an hour in the afternoon. Great hiking in the area and lots of wildlife.

The breakfasts were good and we all especially enjoyed the banana muffins. Hayden even shared her recipe with us.

We look forward to staying here again when we come back into the area in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sugar Hollow was the perfect place to stay, Dick and Hayden were so very warm and welcoming and helped us with all of needs and gave great tips for the area. The Inn was gorgeous, very comfortable and set in the most beautiful garden. The room was great size, bed very comfortable and all the mod cons. Short drive to Crozet wineries and restaurants, with great recommendations from our hosts. Breakfast was delicious and the local freshly ground coffee was a welcome surprise. I would stay at Sugar Hollow again and am recommending it to fellow Aussies that find their way to Virginia!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crozet
14.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,809 reviews
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
781 reviews
10.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
958 reviews
8.2 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#2 of 16 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm

Address: 6051 Sugar Hollow Rd, Crozet, VA 22932-2237
Region: United States > Virginia > Crozet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crozet
Price Range: £144 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm is located on 70 serene acres surrounded by picturesque mountains, majestic hardwood forests and rushing woodland streams. Unwind in your whirlpool tub or in front of the fireplace in one of our nine elegant guestrooms. Whether you choose to explore nearby historic areas, to tour and taste at local wineries, or to hike in the Shenandoah National Park, your stay at the Inn will be both relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sugar Hollow Farm Hotel Crozet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing