We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The number one best hotel this year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The number one best hotel this year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The front desk was supper and very perky. They recognized my club membership and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The had decorated the place with Halloween items and it was not cheesy. Fresh fruit for breakfast and soup for supper which was quite good. This is how all hotels should be. Excellent job ladies.

Room Tip: I believe they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    45
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
43
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you make a reservation at this hotel don't use the web! Call them directly. The hotel outsources their reservation system to Expedia. The website looks like the hotel but the back end is run by Expedia. You get charged in advance and can't make any changes to your reservations without involving Expedia. I was incorrectly booked into a smoking room and was unable to make a change until I reached Expedia on the phone. The phone number provided in my e mail confirmation answers then hangs up. It took over an hour to find a number that worked. The front desk staff refused to do anything to help because they were afraid they would not get paid.

Room Tip: 4th floor is all smoking rooms. Call the hotel directly if you want to book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Stephen R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the issues you encountered with the third party website prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Super nice front desk staff, super clean room, brand new comfy mattresses, lovely clean sheets, fluffy comforters, clean duvet covers, everything Navy-standard spotless and tidy. Great shower pressure, perfect amenities - for a Holiday Inn this couldn't have been better. I was surprised, expecting a motel experience but this is just as nice as expensive hotels. Oh, and refrigerator in every room. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizamaylizamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bethlehem PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

New hotel, comfy beds and very nice staff. The breakfast is good with an automatic pancake maker. We never have had a hotel give us a free snack bag before. Nice touch. Quiet place. Easy to find. Beautiful lobby. Interesting area of civil war history.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coinjock,nc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Its clean and comfortable and the staff is very professional. I can't say much about breakfast or the location, but its what you would expect. I like a friendly and hI would consider staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank was49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Close to Monticello and Montpelier without the tourist crowd! Very clean and new with a friendly staff and of course the free breakfast buffet. Good value - pricey but a huge king suite with plenty of room, walk in shower and sofa bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We used reward points to stay at this Holiday Inn Express and it was a great stay! If you look at my posts you see we travel a lot, and I can say without a doubt this is one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express properties we have visited. Holiday Inn Express is doing a terrific job of renovating existing motels and designing new ones. This is one they should all take a lesson from. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, and the added touches were special. They had nachos and cookies available near the coffee and hot chocolate when we checked in, and there were complimentary bottles of water. There were even bowls of apples and carrots near the exit when we left. The Holiday Inn Express in Culpeper, Virginia, is now on our list of favorites.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifKidRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culpeper
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Culpeper
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
23.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 787 Madison Road, Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Culpeper hotel offers close access to the best of the Piedmont River Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Culpeper, in the quaint horse country of Virginia, is an ideal destination for history buffs, wine connoisseurs and nature lovers.If you re traveling on business, our Culpeper, Virginia hotel offers a great location near many corporate offices. Merillat Industries and Schwan Food Industries are both within three miles of our Culpeper hotel, and the Culpeper Fairgrounds are also just a few minutes away.Our hotel in Culpeper, situated in the Piedmont River Valley, provides close proximity to several of Virginia's most historic sites and attractions. Many important Civil War battlefields are also nearby, including Brandy Station, Cedar Mountain and Kelly's Ford. Famous homes within 30 minutes of our Culpeper hotel include James Madison's Montpelier home and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello home. Additionally, our hotel is near the Gray Ghost, Prince Michel and Unicorn vineyards. Tours and tastings are offered at these Culpeper vineyards daily.When you stay at our hotel in Culpeper, take advantage of the indoor pool and fitness center. Before heading out for the day, you can stop by the hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Reserve your Culpeper hotel reservations today and see the beautiful sites and historic attractions that Virginia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Culpeper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing